55 Reviews

Was looking through the newest recipes as I wanted a lunch box filler. Loved the sound of this as it was super easy. I used 2 round 9" pans and it took just over 30 minutes. Used a butter icing. Has turned out lovely and moist. Thanks for posting. =)

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 14, 2002

Awesome! Its main features have to be its simplicity in preparation and its extremely moist chocolittyness!! I added 1/2 cup of Nestl├ęs dark chocolate melts ( the big flat ones)to the mixture just for the effect. I was a bit dubious about making it at first as it had no baking powder in it and I was expecting a heavy cake. But no, I made the buttermilk (information gleaned from the link, as I had never heard of buttermilk. I thought buttermilk was something only found in sun-tan lotion), resisted the urge to pour in half a bottle of Tropical Blend tanning oil as a possible substitute, and went ahead. So glad I did!! It is YUM plus!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tigg August 12, 2002

To: Cindy Lynn This cake is absolutely fantastic!!! Big, moist, and just plain tasty! Followed your directions and it turned out super. Very, very easy to put together. Baked it in a 9" x 13" pan and topped it with my favorite chocolate fudge icing. YUMMY! Thanks so much for sharing. Laudee C. Colorado

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee August 06, 2002

I also made these into cupcakes, delicious!! They also froze well, will be keeping this recipe for lots of use in the future. Don't need to change a thing with this recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie December 15, 2002

Good and easy cake to make. Couldn't get any easier and tastier for a chocolate cake. It isn't so rich that all you can eat is one slice and that is it. I did change the recipe a little. I added only 3 tablespoons of cocoa and substituted the other 3 tablespoons with Milo. I like the malt taste in milo. When the mixture was done, i also added half a bag of hershey mini chocolate chips to give it a little of a fudgy taste to it. The cake rose up well and was very moist. Good recipe...will be doing this again for sure.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac October 22, 2002

You're welcome Evie and Laudee, and thanks for the reviews everyone. I have yet to find a frosting that doesn't go well on this cake. I've used 7-minute types, cream cheese varieties, caramel (ooey gooey ones)--you name it, I've probably tried it. Sometimes I sprinkle coconut (toasted or untoasted) on it. Sometimes I throw in a cup of chopped walnuts (English or Black). Kids love it when I put sprinkles on top. I also make cupcakes when I need to use up some buttermilk. I just put the cupcakes on a cookie sheet in the freezer until frozen and then put them in a bag. My kids love to eat them frozen (without even bothering to frost) in the summer. Actually, my husband does too! :-))

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn August 12, 2002

Boy, is this ever good! I'll make this one a lot! Thanks for the recipe!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VirgieZ August 16, 2002

Excellent cake - I'll be making this always now when the guys in my husband's shop request a chocolate cake for their birthday, going away, whatever. Thanks for posting. (by the way I ended up making two - another for my son - when he smelled it cooking).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom April 18, 2003

This was my very first "homemade" cake. I chose it because of the easy 1-2-3 instructions. It was absolutely scrumptious. I plan on trying some of the variations in the other reviews. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tabray January 08, 2003

I made this for my 5 year old's birthday party and it was very good. I thought it was better than the one I bought for my 9 year old's party the week before. Definitely a keeper and my guests thought so too.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Nelson November 13, 2002
Chocolate Cake