Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2002

      Was looking through the newest recipes as I wanted a lunch box filler. Loved the sound of this as it was super easy. I used 2 round 9" pans and it took just over 30 minutes. Used a butter icing. Has turned out lovely and moist. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      Awesome! Its main features have to be its simplicity in preparation and its extremely moist chocolittyness!! I added 1/2 cup of Nestlés dark chocolate melts ( the big flat ones)to the mixture just for the effect. I was a bit dubious about making it at first as it had no baking powder in it and I was expecting a heavy cake. But no, I made the buttermilk (information gleaned from the link, as I had never heard of buttermilk. I thought buttermilk was something only found in sun-tan lotion), resisted the urge to pour in half a bottle of Tropical Blend tanning oil as a possible substitute, and went ahead. So glad I did!! It is YUM plus!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      To: Cindy Lynn This cake is absolutely fantastic!!! Big, moist, and just plain tasty! Followed your directions and it turned out super. Very, very easy to put together. Baked it in a 9" x 13" pan and topped it with my favorite chocolate fudge icing. YUMMY! Thanks so much for sharing. Laudee C. Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      I also made these into cupcakes, delicious!! They also froze well, will be keeping this recipe for lots of use in the future. Don't need to change a thing with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      Good and easy cake to make. Couldn't get any easier and tastier for a chocolate cake. It isn't so rich that all you can eat is one slice and that is it. I did change the recipe a little. I added only 3 tablespoons of cocoa and substituted the other 3 tablespoons with Milo. I like the malt taste in milo. When the mixture was done, i also added half a bag of hershey mini chocolate chips to give it a little of a fudgy taste to it. The cake rose up well and was very moist. Good recipe...will be doing this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      You're welcome Evie and Laudee, and thanks for the reviews everyone. I have yet to find a frosting that doesn't go well on this cake. I've used 7-minute types, cream cheese varieties, caramel (ooey gooey ones)--you name it, I've probably tried it. Sometimes I sprinkle coconut (toasted or untoasted) on it. Sometimes I throw in a cup of chopped walnuts (English or Black). Kids love it when I put sprinkles on top. I also make cupcakes when I need to use up some buttermilk. I just put the cupcakes on a cookie sheet in the freezer until frozen and then put them in a bag. My kids love to eat them frozen (without even bothering to frost) in the summer. Actually, my husband does too! :-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Boy, is this ever good! I'll make this one a lot! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Excellent cake - I'll be making this always now when the guys in my husband's shop request a chocolate cake for their birthday, going away, whatever. Thanks for posting. (by the way I ended up making two - another for my son - when he smelled it cooking).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      This was my very first "homemade" cake. I chose it because of the easy 1-2-3 instructions. It was absolutely scrumptious. I plan on trying some of the variations in the other reviews. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      I made this for my 5 year old's birthday party and it was very good. I thought it was better than the one I bought for my 9 year old's party the week before. Definitely a keeper and my guests thought so too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      My O my! this is so simple and tasty too..Thanks for posting:)My cooking mood in full swing now..;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      sooo easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Yum. This cake is amazing because it changes texture as time goes on. Day one it's very dense, almost too heavy, day two it's perfect in my opinion, moist and still quite dense, day three it becomes light, day four even lighter, but didn't taste stale at all (that was the last piece so don't know about day five!). Made 2/3rds the recipe and baked for 25mins in two 7.5 inch round tins. Will definately be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Excellent, easy, one bowl recipe. I just used a hand whisk and it worked fine (I also added extra cocoa after reading other reviews).

      I'm vegan so i used egg replacer powder instead of eggs (and soy milk mixed with one teaspoon of cider vinegar - stood for 5mins - in place of buttermilk).

      For other vegans/dairy or egg free folk this worked brilliantly and i can confirm this is the best choc cake recipe i've ever come across!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      it is extremely tasty, though I have to say similar to a previous user that the cake tastes better on the second day in the fridge than on the first day, strangely enough. also extremely easy to make. I made a few changes: used brown sugar instead of white, no baking soda, so just used baking powder, no buttermilk, so I used this recipe I found on ehow
      http://www.ehow.com/how_4828612_buttermilk-vinegar.html

      which worked fine. also I added more vanilla cuz I love vanilla

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Realmente DELICIOSO, es una receta muy facil y rapida de preparar. En el cumpleanos de mi hija le hice este ponque de chocolate, y todos los invitados quedaron facinados , mi hija quiere que le prepare otro igual para llevar al trabajo y compartirlo con todos los ninos, con seguridad que todos querran repetir. Muchas gracias por esta receta

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Made awesome cupcakes! Baked for 20 minutes. Followed the suggestion in other review and topped with Recipe 89207 chocolate frosting which was great and just the right amount of frosting for the cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Sorry, this cake just did not cut it. It was very dense and chewy, the coffee overwhelmed the chocolate. I followed the recipe and was highly disappointed. Will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Best. Chocolate. Cake. EVER!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Incredibly easy and VERY moist. Normally, I am not a fan of chocolate cake (I made this for a birthday party), but I will definitely be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Super easy, super moist and just simply fantastic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    24%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 426.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 27.5 g
    110%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites