Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttermilk Cake (Fat Free or Low Fat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttermilk Cake (Fat Free or Low Fat)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2014

      Both the cake and the frosting seemed odd. Not bad, just different. DD didn't like the frosting at all. Everyone else ate it, but just don't think this cake is for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This wasn't a good cake, sorry. I had hoped for the best but I think that we all missed the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      my sister made this for my birtthday. she substituted wholemilk vanilla yogurt for the nonfat in making the frosting. i found the frosting yummy but the cake a tad dry,
      i myself mightve added some pudding or homemade non high fructose corn syrup
      jam.replaced the eggs with applesauce, and milk with hempmilk, and the oil with jam. tho yu might try putting pudding on side or in middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I thought the cake was quite good for being so low fat. The frosting was a little weird - tangy and strange tasting. My 4 year old scraped it off before she would eat the cake, but the adults all ate it. I think next time I would just use fat free cool whip to top it, or I'd sift powdered sugar over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Made this recipe as mini muffins, my daughter and I loved them, they were moist, light, chocolaty and rich. I must say I made small changes still keep the recipe's integrity: I used whole wheat flour intead of regular (I only use whole wheat)and oat flour, and fructose instead of sugar, regular cocoa and nonfat yogurt instead of buttermilk, I also indulged adding 2 tbsp of chocolate chips, but did not make frosting. Great recipe, my second favorite when it comes to chocolate muffins and it's low fat low calory too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I made this cake with regular all purpose flour and whole wheat flour. I also used the oil, as well as cocoa for the frosting. For a chocoholic like me, this cake had a nice flavor, it didn't taste like a low fat recipe at all. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      I hate giving low ratings, but my family was not crazy about this cake. The frosting was a little too tangy and not sweet enough for us. I used the 1 Tbsp oil, but even after the frosting had a decent amount of time to soak into the cake it still seemed pretty dry. I did use soy "buttermilk" and yogurt, but those are substitutions I make frequently and they usually work out fine. It's certainly nice that this is so healthy, but unfortunately it's not one I'd make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      I'm rating this with no stars because I only made the cake, not the frosting. (I attempted the frosting but tried to sub. fat free plain yogurt with some sugar and vanilla added and it did not work well at all. So I would not recommend trying that. I gave up and made a frosting that was not at all healthy because I needed this asap to take to an event.) The cake was dense but very nice. I did add the 1 tbsp. oil. Nice chocolate flavor. Definitely needs a frosting of some sort though. When I try it with the regular frosting (soon I'm sure) I'll rerate with stars. Thanks toni, you have great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttermilk Cake (Fat Free or Low Fat)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.4
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    12%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 161.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free buttermilk

    non-fat vanilla yogurt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes