Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2009

      Perfect, perfect, perfect! I used to frost my dad's 70th birthday cake. I quadrupled the recipe for a large 1/2 sheet cake. It spread easily and piped easily. I was able to dust the cake with gold luster dust without the edges melting. All the guests commented on the great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Made this to go with a much asked for cake for DH. I thought it would be too runny with the whole 1/3 cup of milk, but it turned out great! I am not usually a fan of icing because it's too sweet, but this was much better than usual! I can't wait to try it with raspberry extract like another reviewer suggested

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Delicious tasting, but I had the same results with it being too runny. Also, used a whisk instead of electric mixer and would not recommend that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Super good. There was enough to frost the outside of a 2 layer 4.5" circle cake and decorate. I whipped it very high, it is PERFECT and YUMMY! Dangerous to have around the house! I made it to top "The only chocolate cake" recipe. Mmmmm! I had only 2c of sugar so I just adjusted ingredients, alternating. Not overpoweringly sweet, great compliment for cake, and easy to decorate with. Oh yeah I added raspberry extract to this instead of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Very good, but very runny. Have it chilling in the fridge in hopes that it will thicken up some. Actually ended up using less milk than called for. Taste is great tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Amazing. Utterly amazing! I don't even like chocolate and I loved this! My daughter made it for a yellow cake she made for boyfriend (she is 13) for a Valentines gift. Her, her boyfriend, my husband & I, and his parents all couldn't get enough! PERFECTION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Yum! Delicious and easy to make (but messy)! I used the exact amounts and it turned out perfectly. I added the ingredients alternately with the milk as well and used my hand mixer to incorporate everything. This recipe iced a 9x13 with some leftover. Thanks so much; glad I tried this! Oh, and I used skim milk without any problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Fabulous I doubled the recipe for a 3 layer cake. This is my fav.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I substituted almond extract for the vanilla with excellent result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This was so quick, easy and taste great. The recipe also yields the right amount of frosting to frost 24 cupcakes. Thank you Sue L for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This came out perfect. I veganized it by using a vegan margarine and soy milk, still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Wow! Very Tasty! Smooth as silk! I used just a tad more butter, otherwise followed exactly. I will use often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Oh so good! I actually use this for the Eclaire Dessert recipe, on this site, and what a hit! It is a little extra work, vs. just having a container of store bought, but SO worth it! Everyone loves it! I had a little left over, and put it in a tupperware container in the fridge. The next day the container was empty and my husband said it was some of the best fudge he'd ever had! Ha! He didnt' know! lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      This was very nice on some chocolate cupcakes I did for a Halloween gathering last night. I liked that it was sweet without feeling like me teeth were rotting. The frosting has also held up well overnight one the few left over cupcakes. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Only advice is to sift your ingredients before you add them to the recipe! This one is a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      WOW... this was everything i could ask for in an icing and more. Normally i really dont like frosting (gritty, tastes like icing sugar, runny, etc.), but i ate almost half of this before i iced my cupcakes! It was rich, creamy, fudgey.... mmmm... thank you so much for what will be my only chocolate frosting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I couldn't have asked for a better frosting: it was easy, spread beautifully, and had a creamy chocolate flavor! I used it to top Quick Yellow Cake . Thanks Sue (and nice to have you back!). Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Delicious chocolate buttercream frosting! Everything was right on for the amounts. I usually find myself adding more milk but 1/3 cup was just perfect. This frosting was not too sweet, either. There was just the right amount of frosting to cover a 9-inch double-layer cake. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      What a wonderful buttercream frosting Sue. It had just the perfect ratio of sugar, fat and chocolate. I loved this and will be making it often. Thank you so much for sharing this tasty treat that was perfect, smooth, creamy and not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      WOW! SO easy. WOW. SO delicious. I used it as a filling for "Sue B's Chocolate Cake" #31804. I'm in choco-heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.6
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    32%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 174.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes