Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2012

      Delicious. Rave reviews from all guests - even a very critical granddad! Used 1.5 times the recipe for a decadently thick layer on a 9 x 13 sheet cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Love love love this frosting! Not overly sweet like many buttercream frostings and a great flavor with the cocoa. I did sift the powdered sugar and cocoa before mixing as I find that just helps give a smooth frosting. Absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing. Tagged and made for All You Can Cook Buffet special event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Amazing! I threw in a chunk of cream cheese for good measure, and ended up eating way too much of the leftover with graham cracker sticks. I highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Smelled really great and tastes real yummy! Best to pair it with a cake that is not too sweet :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      This is the best buttercream frosting ever!!! My husband requests it often. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      WOW!!! The best icing I have ever had in my entire life! DH hates icing, but I begged him to taste this one. He ended up licking the whole beater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Delicious! and amazingly quick and simple! I will make this every time I need chocolate icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This was delicious. I didn't change a thing--it came out wonderfully. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This frosting is super yummy, I normally do not make icing with powdered sugar, but needed something quick for a pan of brownies, and didn't feel like making my creamy cooked icing. The only change I made was to use 2 cups of powdered sugar instead of 2 3/4. The consistency was like mousse, not overly sweet, just perfect. Definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Easy & yummy! I had no problems getting the correct consistency. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Really good. I used margarine because I was out of butter and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      YUUUUMMMMMM!
      I usually don't like frosting....butter cream especially. But I wanted to do an easy frosting for my son's birthday cake. This was just so good! It's a cross between fudge and pudding. My husband took a taste and his eyes lit up. Can't wait for other people to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      This icing turned out perfectly. Perfect thickness, perfect texture, perfect sweetness. Followed recipe as is. Used it to top my son's birthday cupcakes. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      I seem to be the voice of dissent on this recipe, but I could NOT get it to thicken with the volumes listed on this recipe. It was way, way too runny at first go. I eventually got it to be spreadable by adding more powdered sugar, but it ended up way, way too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I was pressed for time so I dumped all the ingredients in a bowl at one time and mixed. I had previously softened the butter in the microwave. The frosting turned out beautifully. We loved the taste and texture. I will use this again and again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I have been needing a good Chocolate frosting recipe and my search has now ended! This is the frosting recipe that i will now use. Thank you so much for posting! * * * * *

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I used this to top ricotta cookies. Very nice though VERY thick. I probably needed more milk. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      PERFECT pair with Rich & Moist Dark Chocolate Cake by BlondieItaliana (also suburb)!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      A delicious milk-chocolate-like frosting. I used cream in place of the milk and used it to frost Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting. I whisked the cocoa and confectioner's sugar together before adding them to the butter. We think this frosting tastes even better cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.6
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    32%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 174.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes