Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2013

      I just baked a three-layer moist chocolate cake and used this recipe for the icing. Impressive!!!! Easy to do, delicious, delectable, and awe-inspiring. Can't go better than that, whew!!!! Check out my cake photo with this super delicious icing. Thank you for this amazing recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This is a very nice frosting. I ended up having to add more powdered sugar to get the consistency right for spreading, resulting in a very sweet product. Next time I will tweek the liquid so it isn't as sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Super simple, reminds me of the frosting on the cake my best friends mom would make when where were little. My son had asked for a yellow cake filled with strawberries and with chocolate frosting. This frosting filled the bill perfectly. I did double the recipe and had very little left (8 inch round cake). Other than doubling I made no changes and see no need for any changes. If you are looking for a frosting to make more than just a simple boarder this may not be the best, it is a little soft for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      WOW that's one hell of an amazing frosting. I frosted my vanilla cake with this chocolate frosting and spread a little inside the cake, sprinkled crushed peanuts on top Yummmmm ! My hubby loved it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      This is a wonderful chocolate frosting recipe. Way better taste and consistency than the store bought variety. Used to frost gluten-free chocolate cupcakes. Made using gluten-free cocoa powder and icing sugar to make this recipe gluten-free suitable. Sorry Sue- I forgot to take a photo of the cupcakes before they left home

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I'm really not a fan (at all) of buttercream or any icing besides ganache but I put my worries aside and decided to whip it up to top off my chocolate cupcakes. I reduced the amount of icing sugar to 2 cups since I hate sickly sweet icing and the result?...DELICIOUS! Thank you for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      This frosting is amazing! For an easy dessert for my kids, I spread this on graham crackers with some sprinkles on top. They loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Yummmm! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      One word... AMAZING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      This was very easy and very tasty on our gluten free cupcakes. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      The best chocolate frosting recipe EVER. And it's super simple and tastes professional! I added a little more vanilla and found it tasted better. And if you want it super fluffy add some whip cream! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      yum thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Creamy chocolatey goodness! Didn't need to make any adjustments. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      AMAZING! EASY! YUMMY! Plus, recipe makes perfect amount of frosting for double layer cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      creamy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

    • on April 15, 2012

      Perfectly delicious. Thank you for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      I just saw this recipe today and made the frosting just now for cupcakes. I've always made cream cheese frosting and this was my very first time making chocolate frosting...and it tastes soooooo good! I exactly followed the recipe and it was a little too sweet for me, though. So I tweaked the recipe by adding extra cocoa powder. I also added extra milk since I like my frosting on a little more creamy side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Delicious. Rave reviews from all guests - even a very critical granddad! Used 1.5 times the recipe for a decadently thick layer on a 9 x 13 sheet cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Love love love this frosting! Not overly sweet like many buttercream frostings and a great flavor with the cocoa. I did sift the powdered sugar and cocoa before mixing as I find that just helps give a smooth frosting. Absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing. Tagged and made for All You Can Cook Buffet special event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.6
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    32%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 174.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites