182 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked this very much. It was a little thick to pipe onto the cupcakes, so I had to use 2 extra tablespoons. I did use French vanilla creamer, that was the only change I made. I only got enough for 18 cupcakes, but again, I was piping it on. I only needed 18 cupcakes, so that was good, but if I needed 24, I would have to double it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy December 21, 2014

Thanks for the recipe. The frosting has a bitter taste and not the kind of creamy chocolate I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
korea_10017 December 05, 2014

I just used this recipe for my mothers cake. I have used her recipe for 50 years. My family raved about much better this was than the old one. Very very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandfang November 28, 2014

I never write reviews, so this should indicate the sheer deliciousness of this recipe. I made one change: Half salted butter/Half shortening. I always find fault in the things I make-this being one scrumptious exception. It is perfect. Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeDe D. July 28, 2014

I don't see how everyone's is thick and pretty. I just made this recipe to use for chocolate cupcakes and it is not anywhere near 3 cups of frosting as it was supposed to give. It's kind of flat, has no type of body or volume. It's just a chocolate mess. Tastes great, but a mess. On to the next recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellamarvetta18 July 19, 2014

I tried this for the first time today! Why in the world would anyone want to buy canned frosting when this is not only perfect in consistency but so simple to make!! My only changes were that I added the milk a Tblsp. at a time to keep from going too far and I added just under 1/2 tsp of almond extract instead of the vanilla. The combination of almond and chocolate on top of the amazing chocolate cupcakes I made was a real hit! I finely chopped some walnuts and sprinkled them on the frosting. Giving them to a friend who is expecting her first baby and is craving chocolate. I am sure she will be pleased!! BTW I divided this recipe in 1/2 because I only had to frost 12 cupcakes. It made just the perfect amount!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheffyter March 02, 2014

Delicious! I added & dissolved 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee to the whole milk. Great flavor combo. Topped a chocolate bundt cake. The family loved it. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 25, 2014

As is, the recipe was a bit too sweet and not chocolatey enough for my tastes. I cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups. Then I melted an unsweetened chocolate bakers square and about a .5 ounce of semi-sweet chocolate chips and whipped it into some half and half. Great texture and a richer chocolate taste without being overly sugary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chant88 February 24, 2014

SO GOOD! !! The only thing is that it took me way longer to mix than 10 minutes. Using an electric mixer too. But so worth it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachaebby February 15, 2014

I certainly give this recipe 5 Stars. Try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harry S. February 05, 2014
Chocolate Buttercream Frosting