186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have *no* idea what I did wrong, but mind did not turn out! :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous June 13, 2015

Terribly sweet. Otherwise pretty decent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbsasf May 28, 2015

This recipe is a keeper... Very easy to follow.. Also very good as well. I did not change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinabobina74 March 11, 2015

Delicious, people raved about this frosting! I used heavy cream instead of milk since I had that on hand. I used Dutch gourmet chocolate and I did use a electric mixer for all of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pepej1_7187394 January 14, 2015

I liked this very much. It was a little thick to pipe onto the cupcakes, so I had to use 2 extra tablespoons. I did use French vanilla creamer, that was the only change I made. I only got enough for 18 cupcakes, but again, I was piping it on. I only needed 18 cupcakes, so that was good, but if I needed 24, I would have to double it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy December 21, 2014

Thanks for the recipe. The frosting has a bitter taste and not the kind of creamy chocolate I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
korea_10017 December 05, 2014

I just used this recipe for my mothers cake. I have used her recipe for 50 years. My family raved about much better this was than the old one. Very very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandfang November 28, 2014

I never write reviews, so this should indicate the sheer deliciousness of this recipe. I made one change: Half salted butter/Half shortening. I always find fault in the things I make-this being one scrumptious exception. It is perfect. Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeDe D. July 28, 2014

I don't see how everyone's is thick and pretty. I just made this recipe to use for chocolate cupcakes and it is not anywhere near 3 cups of frosting as it was supposed to give. It's kind of flat, has no type of body or volume. It's just a chocolate mess. Tastes great, but a mess. On to the next recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellamarvetta18 July 19, 2014

I tried this for the first time today! Why in the world would anyone want to buy canned frosting when this is not only perfect in consistency but so simple to make!! My only changes were that I added the milk a Tblsp. at a time to keep from going too far and I added just under 1/2 tsp of almond extract instead of the vanilla. The combination of almond and chocolate on top of the amazing chocolate cupcakes I made was a real hit! I finely chopped some walnuts and sprinkled them on the frosting. Giving them to a friend who is expecting her first baby and is craving chocolate. I am sure she will be pleased!! BTW I divided this recipe in 1/2 because I only had to frost 12 cupcakes. It made just the perfect amount!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheffyter March 02, 2014
Chocolate Buttercream Frosting