Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      very yummy!~!!! I used whipping cream instead of milk because I needed to use some up... this really melts in your mouth.. sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      This was just the best homemade frosting!! I did use French Vanilla flavored Coffee-Mate creamer(liquid) instead of the milk because I was out. It just added to the depth of flavor! I frosted a banana cake with this (#53499) and it is so good!!! Thanks ;)~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      This will be frosting my cakes from now on. So smooth and creamy. Even my picky 7 year old loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      An excellent frosting that is tasty and is quick & easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Made exactly as written. Covered 30 cupcakes easily spread by hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      This will get you lots of compliments!! This recipe is identical to the chocolate frosting I've been using for years--got my recipe from a Hershey's book, though it is different from the one on the cocoa. Goes great with the cake recipe on the cocoa can. Perfect for a cake, but I melt the butter and make it a runny frosting for brownies, cookies, or as a glaze on a bundt cake. The Brownies are especially good if you put marshmallows on the brownies and let them puff a little, then pour on the frosting and top with nuts. All soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This recipe is great, got a lot of rave over it. I did however tweak a few things. 2 cups powdered sugar instead and also, I replaced the milk with water and it was the perfect texture - just like a bakery buttercream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      Thank you Sue, this was the best frosting I have had in quite some time and so very easy to make. I used Heavy Cream and it came out great. I was able to fill between 2 layers of cake and the kids ate the rest. I used it to fill the cake and then used Mean Chefs chocolate frosting for the tops and sides, what a wonderful combination.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      I never write reviews, so this should indicate the sheer deliciousness of this recipe. I made one change: Half salted butter/Half shortening. I always find fault in the things I make-this being one scrumptious exception. It is perfect. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      I don't see how everyone's is thick and pretty. I just made this recipe to use for chocolate cupcakes and it is not anywhere near 3 cups of frosting as it was supposed to give. It's kind of flat, has no type of body or volume. It's just a chocolate mess. Tastes great, but a mess. On to the next recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I tried this for the first time today! Why in the world would anyone want to buy canned frosting when this is not only perfect in consistency but so simple to make!! My only changes were that I added the milk a Tblsp. at a time to keep from going too far and I added just under 1/2 tsp of almond extract instead of the vanilla. The combination of almond and chocolate on top of the amazing chocolate cupcakes I made was a real hit! I finely chopped some walnuts and sprinkled them on the frosting. Giving them to a friend who is expecting her first baby and is craving chocolate. I am sure she will be pleased!! BTW I divided this recipe in 1/2 because I only had to frost 12 cupcakes. It made just the perfect amount!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Delicious! I added & dissolved 1/2 teaspoon of instant coffee to the whole milk. Great flavor combo. Topped a chocolate bundt cake. The family loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      As is, the recipe was a bit too sweet and not chocolatey enough for my tastes. I cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups. Then I melted an unsweetened chocolate bakers square and about a .5 ounce of semi-sweet chocolate chips and whipped it into some half and half. Great texture and a richer chocolate taste without being overly sugary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      SO GOOD! !! The only thing is that it took me way longer to mix than 10 minutes. Using an electric mixer too. But so worth it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      I certainly give this recipe 5 Stars. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I added extra cocoa just to give it a more chocolate flavor. I used this on sugar cookies and it was perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I used a cake tip to swirl the icing around cupcakes and it moulded very nicely. It was a bit sweet, so next time I will not use as much sugar. Overall a very good and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I'm so disappointed. I usually opt for something more involved and just wanted a basic, rich chocolate buttercream. My result was a pasty mess that just tasted like sugar. I don't know what everyone else did differently, but I definitely won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Yummy frosting..thank you so much..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Rich and chocolatey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.6
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    32%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 174.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites