Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2010

      Delicious. Added a pinch of salt to really make it perfect. Also, the longer you beat this the lighter it gets (in texture and colour) - even if you use the max amount of cocoa. So - if you want a really dark frosting only mix to combine and no more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      This is an excellent frosting recipe! I made it for my vanilla sheet cake for breakfast this morning (I know, I know, but I'm trying to avoid donuts). I used Dagoba cocoa, and didn't worry about the different flavors of cocoa and it came out delicious!

      However! If you just want just enough frosting to cover 1 9x13 sheet cake, CUT THE RECIPE IN 1/2!!!! And I did end up using another couple of splashes of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I halved the butter and used 1 cup sugar with 1/3 cup unsweetened Dutch cocoa, and no vanilla. The relative high volume of cocoa did mean the full 1/3 cup milk was needed. It was perfect and enough for a think layer of frosting to sandwich two cakes together. The whole amount of butter and another cup of sugar (plus more milk and cocoa) would have been needed to frost the cake as well. This is now my standard frosting recipe. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I made the medium version of this and it was great. I don't usually make homemade chocolate frosting, I'm not sure why, but I think from now on this will be my go to recipe. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      This is an excellent frosting! The flavors blend well. I made mine using 1/2 C. of Hershey's Special Dark cocoa. I took the cupcakes I frosted to work and have had nothing but compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I made half a recipe but used 1/4 c. each of reg. cocoa and dark cocoa. I did use almond milk and It was perfect over my chocolate birthday cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Yummmmmmmm! I made it with Hersey's Special Dark Chocolate cocoa powder, but plan on ordering some really good cocoa powder through King Arthur Flour and making this again!! I also added a bit of instant espresso powder to the milk to give it a kick.
      It frosted one double layer cake and about 8 cupcakes- so I wouldn't cut the recipe in half unless you were just frosting a sheet cake. Super rich!!!!
      I made for Marg (CaymanDesigns)'s Dark Chocolate Cake Dark Chocolate Cake and they were perfect together!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Thank You !! Thank You !! I Have lost this recipe after moving, This is The BEST Recipe For Frosting Cupcake For Kids , The Only Frosting My Kids Will eat !! I Am On My Way To The Kitchen Now !! Thank You Again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Very creamy and delicious! I made the dark version of this recipe and it was the perfect finish to our dark chocolate cake. This was for my son's birthday. He gave it the final stamp of approval. :) I found that it was just the right amount to ice a 2-layer cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I love buttercream frosting and decided to try this one on a vanilla cake I was making. It was an excellent choice to frost my cake with, and I will be using this from now on because I had such good results with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I won't be using any other now that I have found this recipe! It really is the best!!! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This is our favorite chocolate butter cream frosting. I have been using it for many years and it is a never fail, great tasing frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Great Frosting! I used the darkest recipe, and yet my frosting was a very light brown, not sure what I did wrong. But the taste was wonderful. I baked two 8 inch rounds and frosted the top of the first and then dusted it with chopped pecans. Then added the second layer, frosting completely and then dusting with remaining nuts until the entire top was pretty well covered. This was a wonderful frosting, and so easy to make. I was a bit worried that I might not have enough after reading other reviews, but I had plenty, and even had some left over. It's too good to throw out, I'll have to come up with something to use it on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Mimi, this frosting is FANTASTIC ! Seriously the best chocolate frosting I've found in 30 years of baking. Thank you so much for sharing it ! I doubled it and used it on Margs Dark Chocolate Cake (which is the worlds best chocolate cake recipe) and my family wiped the cake out in one day. Amazing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

    • on January 07, 2009

      Very easy to make and my dh LOVED it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      super, fudgy texture, delicious. I made 4x the amount for an enormous birthday cake and everyone went mad for it. It also looked so goood! Thanks, it's easy and great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This is really great frosting! Not sickening sweet. Thanks for this keeper,Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      awesome.Made this to go onto the choc cake recipe of your(yummy) for my mum's baday cake.Sooo gd and easy.Everyone had 2 pieces of cake!!Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      WONDERFUL frosting. So easy to make and soooooo tasty. Will be using this from now on. Loved how smooth it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1213.2
     
    Calories from Fat 381
    31%
    Total Fat 42.3 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 97.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 327.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 199.8 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 156.8 g
    627%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites