9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was moist but more cake than brownie. I loved the coffee but used normal flour. They were greatly enjoyed and cut and kept well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew December 09, 2010

These are pretty good for being low-fat and low sugar. Very moist, but I think next time I will use all-purpose flour rather than wholemeal (which I assume is the same as whole wheat?) Didn't care for the texture of the whole wheat. I liked the coffee flavor and may increase the amount next time. I skipped the "dusting" step because I used these as a base for some no sugar added/low-fat ice cream. Thank you, btw, for the cup measurements in parentheses :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 28, 2009

I too would reduce the coffee in this... but the Scout leaders for whom this was a gift are true Dutch and love their coffee, so know your recipients LOL. I took the photo at home so didn't dust it with icing sugar/coffee until after I had transported it (and then realised I'd forgotten to bring the camera for the extra photo). Chocolate chips are very hard to find here so I blitzed some dark chocolate in the food processor into pieces and it went well. Please see my Rating System: 4 excellent stars for an easy to make recipe that will disappear fast. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 10, 2009

Loved It!! DH gave it one star, but what does he know? :) This is a terrific replacement for the 'real thing'. I was a little worried when I took it out of the pan, because I didn't expect it to be that thin. However, the flavour and texture is wonderful. The only thing different I did was to add some sliced almonds, and use milk chocolate chips. I'll make this again for sure. Thanks Chef Potts! It's a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 20, 2007

Okay...I have to admit, I did make a few changes/subtitutions. I doubled the recipe and used Egg Beaters, Splenda brown sugar, and Ideal powdered sugar substitute. I also added some chopped pecans that I wanted to use up. Instead of mixing the chocolate chips into the batter, I sprinkled mini semi-sweet chocolate chips on top of the batter. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, let it cool, cut into squares and sprinkled the Ideal powdered sugar substitute on top. Took a platter to work and had six pieces to keep for me. The brownies were moist, cakey and yummy. They were gone in no time and no one could believe that they were pratically sugar free. Made for Aus/NZ Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 December 02, 2011

These taste lovely with the chocolate and coffee combo. As Mikekey and I have similar tastes in such things I took his suggestions and increased the coffee by almost a half and used white self-rising flour. I don't know if I did something wrong but my brownies are only about 1/2 an inch high tops (I baked them in an 8x8 pan). I just sprinkled Splenda onto them when cut using no cocoa as they were very chocolaty already, I used double dark Dutch cocoa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 02, 2009

this was very good but tasted much more coffee like than chocolate probably because the amount of cocoa for the brownies themselves is missing from the ingredient list. I guessed and i think i guessed wrong :D. However they were good brownies, and will be better when i can add the right amt of cocoa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba October 20, 2007

I really enjoyed this recipe and will try it again in the future. I originally thought the olive oil was a little odd in the beginning but it worked well in the end.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef April 22, 2007

OK..so I took my first bite of these brownies and thought..."oh no". They were really dry. Went back to look over the recipe and that's when I realized that I'd left the butter in microwave. I hate it when I do stuff like that. I can tell you that the flavor seemed pretty good. The dark chocolate with the coffee was very nice. I bet with butter, they are just delicious, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing April 04, 2007
Chocolate Brownie (Diabetic)