34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor of these brownies is excellent. Haven't ever had brownies with almond extract as one of the flavors and wasn't sure how I would like it - but I did. I had way more batter than I needed for twelve cupcakes - put some in a small pan that I use for making hamburger buns and what I did put in the cupcake liners rose up and over the edges - think this makes more like 18-24 cupcakes - will try this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft April 07, 2013

This recipe was wonderful. It was simple to beat the sugar with the melted butter (without the need to dirty anything electrical) and the taste of the batter was the most delicious thing I have ever had. I had to force myself to actually bake this into cupcakes as I just wanted to spread the lovely fudgy batter onto bread and eat it! I cut back the almond essence a little and increased the vanilla a little as a personal preference. Also because I made it in smaller muffin tins I reduced the cooking time to about 15minutes and it worked perfectly and wasn't dry at all with a light and moist texture. I did whisk it rather firmly though in the early stages and lightly folded in the chocolate chips at the end. I tend to follow recommended baking times very loosely as every oven varies and I test to see if the cupcakes are cooked a bit earlier and then adjust the remaining time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook March 17, 2013

I wasn't really impressed by the dryness of the cupcake only hours after coming out of the oven... Otherwise, I had no complaints when they were still nice and toasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeGuru August 03, 2012

I didnt have chocolate chips, so they turned out more dry than they should have.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila March 28, 2012

This is probably the easiest yet delicious chocolate cupcake recipe i've tried yet! :D I will definitely use this recipe in the future. Thank you Redsie :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizsara March 09, 2012

WOW! These were awesome! I made them for my son's Christmas sale at school, they were gone in a flash. Definitely making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorka December 13, 2010

Cupcakes completely fell and I followed the directions to a T.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogmaxine August 14, 2010

If you are a chocolate lover - leave the almond extract OUT! It adds an overpowering nutty flavor (think hazelnut, amaretto) that we didn't enjoy. Otherwise, the texture was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiianBaker July 04, 2010

We just tried these while they're still warm out of the oven - Yummy! These will defintely fit the bill, if you're needing a chocolate fix. I used 1 tsp. vanilla, and omitted the almond extract. I also added chopped walnuts to the batter, personal preference. I got 15 cupcakes, and I agree with some of the others saying these don't need any frosting. I will be making these again. Thank you, Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. June 27, 2010

Wow, these are like chocolate bombs and went over pretty well. It made 12 cupcakes that were a decent size. I frosted half with chocolate frosting and coconut and half with mocha frosting. The mocha version went over better. Straight out of the oven, these cupcakes are so good. After they cool they are still good, but pretty densse.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy May 03, 2010
Chocolate Brownie Cupcakes