Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Blackout Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Blackout Cake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2013

      My cakes came out about 1 inch high. I compared this recipe against the ATK version and they suggest 8 inch pans. My baking powder and soda are fresh, so I'm going to chalk it up to pan size. I tasted the batter and pudding and they taste delicious separately, so I'm excited to put it all together, although I'm kind of an uncoordinated doofus so cutting the cakes in half might be daunting. But if the finished product tastes as good as its separate parts, I don't care how ugly it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      I have made this cake SO many times since it was first published! Today I just made the pudding & am going to serve it with whipped cream & roasted almonds. ALWAYS a hit in our house or any other home I bring it to! Love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      My husband is a chocolate fiend. Ever since I first baked this recipe, he has requested any time I am going to bake him a cake. It is divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This is the most delicious cake I've ever made. I have made 4 of them in the last two weeks. When I brought one to work it disappeard quickly and everyone wanted the recipe. Just read and follow the directions you and your loved ones will be happy you made this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Worst baking disaster I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This is one of the best chocolate cakes you will ever eat. I DO NOT recommend cutting the fat - it changes the viscosity and texture. Also, make sure you use the unsweetened chocolate - it gives a richer flavor. The first time I made this cake i used semi-sweet Choc and it lacked some of the richness. Thanks DrGaellon for a wonderful choc cake recipe and a KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I adored this cake (from Ebinger's) as a child. We lived in NJ but all our relatives lived in Brooklyn and would bring this as a gift. I hope get ambitious enough to attempt this one day! Great memories...I even remember the box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I made this for my daughter and grandson's birthdays and it was a real hit. I cut the fat a little by using fat free half & half and 2%milk and the filling turned out fine. I baked the cake in 9"pans and had no problem cutting them in half; the cake was easily handled. The family loved it and I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Blackout Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.5
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    38%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 69.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 377.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.2 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 57.7 g
    230%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes