9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We went out with friends last night, and I mentioned this recipe. Although I have heard of and tried a Black Russian in the past (and never really cared for them... or any mixed drink for that matter), I had to try this recipe. An adult chocolate shake... Woo-hoo!!! I quadrupled the recipe so our dinner guests (whom we went out with) could enjoy a tasty dessert treat (drink) with us when we got home. Needless to say... I ended up making 2 more quadrupled batches after that. I did add a little extra ice cream on the last to batch to make them more "shake like". I also decided to get a little "fancy" and squeeze some bottled chocolate syrup inside the rim of the glasses. Way to much fun... especially when you're going on drink #3... LOL. Thank you for sharing a fun "adult" dessert cocktail. <br/>(Made for PAC - Spring 2013)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 March 17, 2013

If you don't have ice cream on hand you can use cream or half and half instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover March 29, 2011

Oh my! I wanted more than one.....delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 28, 2011

Oh yum! What's not to like about this if you like chocolate?! Made it as directed and then the next day made another one with raspberry vodka. Another yum. Thanks diner for a great summer keeper. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 06, 2010

I really enjoyed this drink! It is really delicious. Thanks for sharing! Made for Gimme 5 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 17, 2009

oh... DH and I really liked this adult shake. I used vanilla icecream and added some chocolate syrup. Made for 1234 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby December 28, 2008

I rarely drink spirits, extremely rarely actually... but this was delicious. I doubled the quantity and made this for two. I'll keep this recipe in mind for New Year's Eve. Because of the sheer deliciousness in the blend of flavours here, it is, I believe, a drink that would appeal to those who don't much like wine or champagne but who - at the same time - aren't confirmed teetotallers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 19, 2008

LOVE IT ! LOVE IT ! I doubled the recipe , one for me , and one for DS. This is absolutely great ! I am not much of a hard drinker, but after a long day, MMmmm, that hit the spot. Thans for a great tasting drink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker October 22, 2008

Oh my goodness, this is grand but for me I'll trim back on the alcohol next time. The ice cream didn't smooth it as much as I thought it would, lol. I'm the first to admit that I'm a featherweight when it comes to hard drinks. This would be a supreme party or holiday drink as you could make a pitcher full at a time and fill all the glasses at once. I used sugar free ice cream and it worked beautifully. Dines I have just one more thing to say...Wheeeeeeeee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 29, 2008
Chocolate Black Russian