Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Banana Cake

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      Delicious!! I only had about 1 cup of mashed banana, but this cake still turned out beautifully. Didn't put frosting on cake, ( a personal choice) as it was moist and tasty enough. Just had some next day for morning tea, stays really moist and fresh. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Really quite a lovely recipe. We made cupcakes instead of cake and baked them for 20 minutes at 350. My only other change was to use 1 cup buttermilk instead of 3/4 C. sour milk. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      DIVINE! I have made this a couple of times now and it is soooo good. I make a slab using a 9x13 and i don't ice it, just eat it as is (it's like a cakey brownie). Served this evening with some vanilla ice cream and fresh strawberries, ohhh so heavenly! Thanks so much for posting this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Delicious and moist and fudgey! I used white whole wheat flour since It is what I had on hand, and substituted buttermilk for the sour milk. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Wonderful. Iced with the Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting by "WaterMelon". Nice Combo. Very moist, (perhaps Smaz overbaked?). Dense, but still cake-y. It was done in only about 33 minutes, as I used 9" rounds. Very banana-y, too, as I also used 3 large bananas, which came out to just over 1 1/2 cups. My son wanted banana cake for his birthday and when I served this he panted with happiness and exclaimed, "This is just what I wanted!". You could probably replace much of the butter (or margarine) with applesauce or some other fat replacement without noticing a difference. I'll probably try that, next time, as I do with my banana bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Went to make this cake again and realized I have not rated it yet - SORRY!!! This cake is excellent and another great way to use up all those bananas! I make it in a bundt pan and never frost it as it is perfect just the way it is!! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Loved this cake! I used butter instead of margarine and Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All-Purpose Baking Flour plus a 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum instead of the flour. You wouldn't even know it was a gluten free cake it turned out sooooo good! I served it with coconut milk ice cream and fresh fruit. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Everyone loved this! :) I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/4 cup cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar and 3 mashed bananas. I also baked it for 50 minutes in a single 9" round cake pan. Obviously I'm not one who follows instructions a lot.. but this cake turned out moist and definitely very well accepted! I sliced it into half, frosted with Chocolate Ganache [Ganache--217404] and more banana slices. Thank you so much! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is one of the best cake recipes I have ever made! I made it for my sister's birthday in a springform pan so I could easily ice the sides (baked at 350 for 50-55min) I also cut back the sugar to 1.5 cups and didn't measure the banana's (used 3 large). I didn't have skim milk for the sour milk so I used 2%. I will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      OMG absolute heaven, moist banana background flavor with an iceable cake not like most breadish consistencies from the bananas, I made it in a 13X9 pan since it would stay fresher after cut that way, at least in our family it lasts better, i iced it with kittencals choc buttercream (using only 1/3 cup cocoa powder) perfect light choclate icing for this moist cake! I am not a great baker and this one came out perfect, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This is a fantastic recipe! I made it with peanut butter chocolate icing... tasted like Snickers chocolates! YUM! My friends raved about it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This cake is absolutely Delicious. Moist and fudgy, I just love it! Taste awesome with Chocolate Ganache!! I make it at least once a week. The best Chocolate Banana Cake ever!!!! Thank You so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      So, I have a friend that is a New Zealander. His birthday was coming up and I was in charge of the cake. His wife told me that his favorite childhood cake was Chocolate Banana! Where o where was I gona find the recipe? Well, much to my surprise there were several on here but yours stood out. I made it and it was an enormous hit!! Thanks for getting me out of a pickle! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Used egg substitute, 3 bananas, buttermilk for the sour milk and added some peanut butter chips. This was absolutely wonderful and it was perfect for my monkey shaped cake. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This is a great recipe, I used spelt flour instead of plain flour amd soymilk instead of sour milk and it turned out very moist with a fantastic flavour thanks Debbb

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      AH-MA-ZING! It didnt hv a very obvious banana taste just the way i like it. and it does taste better on the second day!it took me lttle longer to bake it all the way though. i had some overly riped banana and i needed to get rid of it and im so glad i picked this recipe! i didnt have much time so on my hands and this didnt take me very long. i baked it right before my ballet lesson(im 15) and didnt get a chance to try it yet. And the whole 3 hours i was in class, i couldnt wait to get home to taste it! THANK YOU DEBB!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      This was really yummy, however I did find that the baking time was too long. I set the timer for 35 minutes and it was done at that time. Next time I'll set it for 30 and check it then.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This is a delicious cake. I used 6oz butter and just two bananas without measuring them and it turned out super delicious. It even filled up my ridiculously large flower patterned tin which usually requires a double batch of cake mix, it makes a lot of batter. This cake was very well received at my office morning tea today.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      YUMMY!!!!!!! Very good and simple cake. I skipped making an icing, melted peanut butter in the microwave, threw in some powdered sugar and milk and drizzles a little glazed all over. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan and it was perfect. A definite keeper!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      Very Good! I frosted with the chocolate peanut butter frosting I found on this site as well Made for a very yummy combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Banana Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.5
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    34%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 32.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 447.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 31.9 g
    127%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes