20 Reviews

I am a New Yorker who grew up on some of the best babka that exists. This rivals them all. I have made it several times and everyone who eats it raves. The chocolate can be a bit overpowering so I cut the filling recipe by 1/3 and it is perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmelnick30 January 06, 2010

This recipe (which I'm quite sure is Martha Stewart's), is AMAZING. These 3 babkas are the most beautiful, delicious, and impressive items to ever come out of my kitchen. Time-consuming and labor-intensive, yes, but well worth it. These make wonderful gifts, if you can bear to part with them; people go crazy over the swirly slices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
singthepoems May 07, 2013

Made it exactly as the recipe instructs and IT. WAS. AMAZING. Time intensive for sure but one of my most requested baked goods. Made even better by the fact it takes so long I only make it for special occasions. <br/><br/>I did not think there was too much chocolate...there can never be too much chocolate. And even though it seems like you're piling it high with flour/confectioner's sugar before baking, use it all. It's perfect. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krodasada May 06, 2013

Outstanding recipe! Tastes and looks just like it came from a bakery... only better :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie5868 August 29, 2011

My very first Chocolate Babka and it was awesome and easy to make! I cut the recipe in half and baked at 350 degrees for 40 mins. I also substituted some raw agave for the sugar (dough). For the filling, I used raw organic coco powder with Valhrona 100% coco powder instead of the chocolate pieces, and I decreased some of the sugar by half and mixed in some vanilla bean (scraped from bean). I spread soft butter on the dough and sprinkled the the filling. The streusel topping was also decreased. My husband loved it and said it would be yummier if it had alot of topping. Bottom line: It's a keeper and I'm happy giving this to my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
izzysvvc September 08, 2011

This was my first time eating and making babka. It is very labor intensive, but worth it! I definately agree with the other reviews regarding the chocolate content. I LOVE chocolate and even though I cut it down by a third for this attempt, I would decrease it by half next time. I can't believe I'm saying this but it was just too much. I look forward to getting better at twisting the dough; the pattern it creates in the bread is great! Thanks for sharing the recipe sugarpea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papaya1703 September 13, 2010

I followed the instructions exactly and I found the result to be just OK. The chocolate was actually a bit overwhelming, but the cake texture was great. I have to admit....I grew up with NYC bakery babkas so my babka standards are amazingly high if not impossible! Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: This is much better the next day after it cools. I'll now give it 4 stars rather than 3. I think next time I'll use less chocolate...24 ozs possibly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 27, 2009

As an English lady living in Spain,I'd never heard of babka til a Jewish friend said it was his favourite food, but he wouldn't get any until he was next in NY. So I searched the web and found this. Fantastic! My friend said it was as good as any he'd ever tasted, and couldn't have enough of it. I couldn't fit all the filling in, and have some left for next time. I also find that brown sugar makes the crumble topping just that little bit crunchier. Thankyou, Sugarpea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
840551 May 15, 2008

The wonderful smell while it was baking drove me crazy!! I LOVED how it came out. Just had two slices and am licking off the chocolate on my fingers as I type this. I also halved the filling as suggested by others, and it still was plenty chocolate-y for me. Also reduced the butter in the dough by a quarter, but it was superb. Very nice crumb/crust, and full of possibilities. Can't wait to try with other fillings such as rum raisin & cinnamon. I checked your other recipes and saved more than a dozen already. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJMF December 30, 2007

5 stars on the dough it was the easiest dough to work with I will be useing this dough again & again. I didn't have the ing. For the filling so I used a recipe my sister-in-law gave me it is very rich and easy to use 1 cup cocoa, 2 cups sugar, 1/2 cup water, 1 instant chocolate pudding mix, 1 egg & 2 sticks margarine cream all ing. With a hand mixer roll out dough and smear filling all over roll like a jelly roll atach ends and place in a greased round pan then follow recipe from step 11 till end I got 1 bigger and 3 smaller babkas out of this recipe. Thanks sugarpea i've been looking all over for a good babka dough and now thanks to you i've found one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BEST COOK IN TOWN September 24, 2007
Chocolate Babka