Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Babka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Babka

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2013

      This recipe (which I'm quite sure is Martha Stewart's), is AMAZING. These 3 babkas are the most beautiful, delicious, and impressive items to ever come out of my kitchen. Time-consuming and labor-intensive, yes, but well worth it. These make wonderful gifts, if you can bear to part with them; people go crazy over the swirly slices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Made it exactly as the recipe instructs and IT. WAS. AMAZING. Time intensive for sure but one of my most requested baked goods. Made even better by the fact it takes so long I only make it for special occasions. <br/><br/>I did not think there was too much chocolate...there can never be too much chocolate. And even though it seems like you're piling it high with flour/confectioner's sugar before baking, use it all. It's perfect. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Outstanding recipe! Tastes and looks just like it came from a bakery... only better :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I am a New Yorker who grew up on some of the best babka that exists. This rivals them all. I have made it several times and everyone who eats it raves. The chocolate can be a bit overpowering so I cut the filling recipe by 1/3 and it is perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      My very first Chocolate Babka and it was awesome and easy to make! I cut the recipe in half and baked at 350 degrees for 40 mins. I also substituted some raw agave for the sugar (dough). For the filling, I used raw organic coco powder with Valhrona 100% coco powder instead of the chocolate pieces, and I decreased some of the sugar by half and mixed in some vanilla bean (scraped from bean). I spread soft butter on the dough and sprinkled the the filling. The streusel topping was also decreased. My husband loved it and said it would be yummier if it had alot of topping. Bottom line: It's a keeper and I'm happy giving this to my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This was my first time eating and making babka. It is very labor intensive, but worth it! I definately agree with the other reviews regarding the chocolate content. I LOVE chocolate and even though I cut it down by a third for this attempt, I would decrease it by half next time. I can't believe I'm saying this but it was just too much. I look forward to getting better at twisting the dough; the pattern it creates in the bread is great! Thanks for sharing the recipe sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I followed the instructions exactly and I found the result to be just OK. The chocolate was actually a bit overwhelming, but the cake texture was great. I have to admit....I grew up with NYC bakery babkas so my babka standards are amazingly high if not impossible! Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: This is much better the next day after it cools. I'll now give it 4 stars rather than 3. I think next time I'll use less chocolate...24 ozs possibly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      As an English lady living in Spain,I'd never heard of babka til a Jewish friend said it was his favourite food, but he wouldn't get any until he was next in NY. So I searched the web and found this. Fantastic! My friend said it was as good as any he'd ever tasted, and couldn't have enough of it. I couldn't fit all the filling in, and have some left for next time. I also find that brown sugar makes the crumble topping just that little bit crunchier. Thankyou, Sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      The wonderful smell while it was baking drove me crazy!! I LOVED how it came out. Just had two slices and am licking off the chocolate on my fingers as I type this. I also halved the filling as suggested by others, and it still was plenty chocolate-y for me. Also reduced the butter in the dough by a quarter, but it was superb. Very nice crumb/crust, and full of possibilities. Can't wait to try with other fillings such as rum raisin & cinnamon. I checked your other recipes and saved more than a dozen already. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      5 stars on the dough it was the easiest dough to work with I will be useing this dough again & again. I didn't have the ing. For the filling so I used a recipe my sister-in-law gave me it is very rich and easy to use 1 cup cocoa, 2 cups sugar, 1/2 cup water, 1 instant chocolate pudding mix, 1 egg & 2 sticks margarine cream all ing. With a hand mixer roll out dough and smear filling all over roll like a jelly roll atach ends and place in a greased round pan then follow recipe from step 11 till end I got 1 bigger and 3 smaller babkas out of this recipe. Thanks sugarpea i've been looking all over for a good babka dough and now thanks to you i've found one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      We loved this! I reduced the chocolate filling by a little more than half and completely omitted the topping. I halved the recipe this time but next time I will make the full recipe and freeze half for later. This took some time to put together but it was well worth the effort! Slices reheat well in the microwave! Will definitely be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This is awesome! 3 loaves sounds like a lot but I guarantee you it will not last long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I made this a while ago and didn't review it because I had some problems, but I've had time to reflect on it. First off, I agree with some of the other reviewers that the chocolate filling could be decreased significantly. I love, love, love chocolate - but this is a lot at once. I had some problem with it overbaking and getting hard and dry around the edges, and I baked it for far less time than listed in the directions, so I guess that's something I really need to watch with my oven. I kept the bread in the freezer (after slicing off the hard edges) and it does freeze well and tastes really good after warming in the microwave. I'm planning on trying the loaves I have frozen in a decadent chocolate bread pudding sometime. I will probably attempt this again sometime. I liked the inclusion of the streusel topping. I may try it on my baking stone next time. Thanks for posting! Update: I pulled this loaf out of the freezer after a few months and it was absolutely delicious! It almost seems that the chocolate overload sensation mellowed over time. It stayed nice and moist, so I had to come back and give it another star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      this is a very nice bread. I reduced the filling by about 1/3 and found it to be just right. I also omitted the strudel topping. We really enjoyed the taste of the cinnamon but I will probably leave it out next time for a change. This recipe made 3 loaves, 1 to enjoy, 1 to freeze and 1 to share! This was the first time I have ever made babka, thank-you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      UPDATE...Just wanted to let everyone know that I froze one of the babka loaves when I initially made the recipe; I took the frozen loaf out yesterday and it tastes just as good as the day it was made. Thank you again for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      I made this recipe today and it was the best, the very best Babka recipe that I've tried yet on the WEB! I've wasted pounds of butter, flour and sugar in the past on recipes that just didn't "cut it!" Your recipe tastes just as good as the Beverlywood Bakery in Los Angeles and Canter's Bakery in the Fairfax area of Los Angeles! Its just wonderful. I not only made two nine inch loaves but one much larger loaf that I formed into a 10 inch circle. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It really is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      There are no words to express how wonderful this bakba is. Everyone I shared a slice with could not stop raving about how wonderful it is. Thank you so so much for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

    • on September 29, 2004

      this is very good, and very chocolaty!! next time i might even cut back on the chocolate, because everyone agreed that it was all filling and no dough. despite being a fairly complicated recipe, the instructions are clear and easy to follow. to make my life easier i bought 3 bags of chocolate chips (12oz), and chopped them up in the food processor, it saves a lot of time. by the way, this makes a ton of babka! guess i'll have something to share with guests for the next couple of months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      Sugarpea, you're my hero! These are still in the oven, but I couldn't wait to review them. They took me forever to make (especially chopping all that chocolate!!) but they were REALLY worth it. The house smells like a bakery--and I can't wait to see what they actually look like when cut into! I think I might freeze one to keep for when my mother comes this weekend--she is the godess of baking, as far as I'm concerned, and these will certainly impress her. Thank you for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Babka

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.2
     
    Calories from Fat 317
    61%
    Total Fat 35.3 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 73.9 mg
    24%
    Sodium 102.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes