13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am rating 4 stars because I changed a bit. I used cream of tartar beaten with the egg whites and baking soda with the flour. I did not spray the pan. They stuck a bit but came out ok. I just mixed the cocoa with the flour and folded it all in together. They were very tasty and I will be making them for my boy's 3rd birthday. Thanks for helping me stick to the diet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annas_Mom_Erin May 27, 2012

Quite tasty. I used ww pastry flour and regular unsweetened cocoa. And I doubled the recipe. Sure glad I did...they went very fast. Mine didn't fall. We topped them with a light vanilla frosting. It did increase the calories a bit but still each treat ended up being under 100 calories! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belabean March 25, 2010

These cupcakes are great, especially for the low calories per serving (about 50 cals - I used a really great resource called Recipe Analyzer at http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/recipe_analysis.php)!! I also used unsweetened cocoa powder and found that ey tasted sweet enough even when eaten plain. I didn't have baking powder, so I googled "baking powder substitute" and found one that involved baking soda and cream of tartar. I also didn't use the blender to blend in the rest of the ingredients beyond the first step after I formed the stiff egg white peaks the first time, but they turned out great anyway. I couldn't believe how light and fluffy they were, nor that a recipe with such simple ingredients came out at such a low cal count! The cupcakes did deflate a little bit as the other reviewers mentioned, but not very much. Also, I microwaved half of the batter in the plastic container that I used to mix the ingredients - it came out great that way, too! It actually resulted in a mini-cake with easier cleanup. I'll definitely be making these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*buttercup* June 14, 2009

Hi, I'm not going to rate this yet, because, erm...I haven't made them. But I did notice a lot of people said they were falling, and if I'm not mistaken, when you make angel food cake, you do not spray the pan; it needs to "climb" the pan. So, that may be what the problem is. I am definitely going to try this, though, it sounds great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique December 10, 2008

I had REALLY high hopes for this. Maybe I under baked them and I am certainly willing to try again, but they did not have the texture of angel food cake. They were soggy, not springy. I'm willing to give it a second go tho as they were simple to prepare!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ABN September 07, 2007

What a great low calorie snack! I sprinkled some powdered sugar on top, but would recommend serving with a little light cool whip-tastes delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenKelly June 29, 2007

I made these because I had a lot of egg whites to use up and am always looking for low fat low calorie snacks. I used little muffin pans figuring that they'd be around 10 calories a piece. Maybe it was the tiny pan, but they fell almost completely flat and were like tough little skins after they cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 April 10, 2007

These are great. I love chocolate but I am sooo not into frosting, not to mention, I don't do sugar if I can help it. I subbed some unsweetened cocoa mixed with splenda for the sweetened cocoa powder (since that was all I had). Also, because a couple of people mentioned their falling, I baked mine just a tad longer. They came out just fine and make a great snack cake to bring in lunches to work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 31, 2006

The unsweetened cocoa powder in this recipe is actually a product made by Ghirardelli, called Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa. It adds about 15 or so calories to each cupcake, but they're still a dieting(or not)chocolate-lover's dream! Delicious and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRL724 October 16, 2006

These were very good. They didn't come out much like angel food cake - they were more brownie-like - but we really enjoyed them anyway! Also, they might have fallen just a tad, but before I even took them out of the oven, not anymore afterwards. The best part though? How light they are! By the way, I only had unsweetened cocoa, so I mixed 2 tbsp. sugar into the cocoa and water mixture before adding it to the egg whites, and that seemed perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream May 09, 2006
Chocolate Angel Food Cupcakes