Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Angel Food Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2012

      I am rating 4 stars because I changed a bit. I used cream of tartar beaten with the egg whites and baking soda with the flour. I did not spray the pan. They stuck a bit but came out ok. I just mixed the cocoa with the flour and folded it all in together. They were very tasty and I will be making them for my boy's 3rd birthday. Thanks for helping me stick to the diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Quite tasty. I used ww pastry flour and regular unsweetened cocoa. And I doubled the recipe. Sure glad I did...they went very fast. Mine didn't fall. We topped them with a light vanilla frosting. It did increase the calories a bit but still each treat ended up being under 100 calories! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      These cupcakes are great, especially for the low calories per serving (about 50 cals - I used a really great resource called Recipe Analyzer at http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/recipe_analysis.php)!! I also used unsweetened cocoa powder and found that ey tasted sweet enough even when eaten plain. I didn't have baking powder, so I googled "baking powder substitute" and found one that involved baking soda and cream of tartar. I also didn't use the blender to blend in the rest of the ingredients beyond the first step after I formed the stiff egg white peaks the first time, but they turned out great anyway. I couldn't believe how light and fluffy they were, nor that a recipe with such simple ingredients came out at such a low cal count! The cupcakes did deflate a little bit as the other reviewers mentioned, but not very much. Also, I microwaved half of the batter in the plastic container that I used to mix the ingredients - it came out great that way, too! It actually resulted in a mini-cake with easier cleanup. I'll definitely be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Hi, I'm not going to rate this yet, because, erm...I haven't made them. But I did notice a lot of people said they were falling, and if I'm not mistaken, when you make angel food cake, you do not spray the pan; it needs to "climb" the pan. So, that may be what the problem is. I am definitely going to try this, though, it sounds great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      I had REALLY high hopes for this. Maybe I under baked them and I am certainly willing to try again, but they did not have the texture of angel food cake. They were soggy, not springy. I'm willing to give it a second go tho as they were simple to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      What a great low calorie snack! I sprinkled some powdered sugar on top, but would recommend serving with a little light cool whip-tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I made these because I had a lot of egg whites to use up and am always looking for low fat low calorie snacks. I used little muffin pans figuring that they'd be around 10 calories a piece. Maybe it was the tiny pan, but they fell almost completely flat and were like tough little skins after they cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      These are great. I love chocolate but I am sooo not into frosting, not to mention, I don't do sugar if I can help it. I subbed some unsweetened cocoa mixed with splenda for the sweetened cocoa powder (since that was all I had). Also, because a couple of people mentioned their falling, I baked mine just a tad longer. They came out just fine and make a great snack cake to bring in lunches to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      The unsweetened cocoa powder in this recipe is actually a product made by Ghirardelli, called Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa. It adds about 15 or so calories to each cupcake, but they're still a dieting(or not)chocolate-lover's dream! Delicious and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      These were very good. They didn't come out much like angel food cake - they were more brownie-like - but we really enjoyed them anyway! Also, they might have fallen just a tad, but before I even took them out of the oven, not anymore afterwards. The best part though? How light they are! By the way, I only had unsweetened cocoa, so I mixed 2 tbsp. sugar into the cocoa and water mixture before adding it to the egg whites, and that seemed perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Just made these and my too fell, but I loved the taste and perfect for my low carb diet I must stay on for my blood sugar. OK, I know they have a tad of sugar but I do not think it will be enough to cause my meter to go over 150. After I test I will decide if I will make again but if they are meter friendly they will be a regular in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      I'm not sure exactly what happened here. I followed the recipe, adding a bit more sugar to compensate for the unsweetened cocoa that I had. The batter tasted alright (had to see) :) Into the oven they went, out they came 15 min later looking like a normal cupcake. But withing twenty min they had shurnk! Looks like they partly collapsed in on themselves. Didn't taste too bad though, interesting combo of chocolate, thick cake, and fluffy ness- needs milk with it lol. Some strange striation in there as well but overall not that bad. I think I'll try them agian, perhaps with baking soda or something different. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Thanks so much for posting this recipe! These wonderful chocolate treats fit perfectly into my low fat lifestyle. The cupcakes fell after I took them out of the oven and they were a bit funny-looking, but they tasted very good. They really are just like chocolate angel food cake - wow! I will definitely be making these again. UPDATE: I did not know what was meant by "sweetened cocoa powder" so I just used regular unsweetened cocoa. As I said, they turned out great. I have since found out that it was supposed to be Quik or something similar. I thought they were sweet enough for my taste, so I will continue to use unsweetened cocoa in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Angel Food Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (515 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    58%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 91.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweetened cocoa powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites