Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Angel Food Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Angel Food Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      This cake was delicious! My first time at making angel food cake. Thanks for making it a good experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      This cake was very moist. More so than the regular angel food cakes. My husband wanted a chocolate angel food cake for his birthday and before his birthday I decided to give it a trial run. My husband is a chocaholic and I knew it would be a real test if I make it in the future. When I made it he helped me and for the color of the cake being very light brown we weren't to sure about the flavor. Don't let the color of the cake interfer with your decision as it was very chocolately and a hit with my husband. I didn't ice the cake but we tried taking some chocolate syrup used on ice cream and drizzled it over individual slices of cake. Now that made it even better. I am making that cake for my husband's birthday on Feb 9th. It was an excellent cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Excellent angel food. A nice, light taste of chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Very good, tender and flavorful. I think next time I will make a marble cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      It took me two tries to get this right, but it was worth it. The first time I greased the pan and 5 minutes after I set in on the bottle it toppled out of the pan, onto the floor and left me with a huge mess to clean up. So don't grease the pan. :) The second time I read instructions better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I do not have a proper AFC pan so I made 2 dozen 'cupcakes' in a regular muffin tin with cupcake papers and cooked for 12-14 minutes, then I put a cooling rack over the pan and flipped it leaving the cakes upside down. They turned out perfectly, just make sure to rotate them periodically if you don't want lines I also skipped the sifting (I don't have a sifter) and pressed my spatula against the side of the bowl of dry ingredients to break up any clumps. Make sure you add the dry ingredients slowly and in small quantities or the weight will collapse the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This recipe was real challenge for me, but it turned out GREAT!! I prepared it for 15 of my coworkers for a birthday cake and they all loved it. I did have some Cool Whip and dry Hersey's Cocoa on the side for garnishment. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I don't know what happened, but my cake turned out quite bad. At first it was foamy liuke mirangue should be... but when I added the sugar the egg whites started to deflate. The cake turne out to be half the size as an angel food cake should be and it was very dense. I don't know if I did something wrong, but it didn't turn out like it was supposed to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I made this for my daugther's third birthday last March. It was very nice. I filled it with sliced strawberries and frosted it with chocolate whipped cream icing. (I used 92g flour, 29g cocoa and 300g sugar and cooked it at 190C.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Excellent cake! Texture and rise perfect - really seemed to melt in your mouth. Take the time to sift as directed and you'll be very pleased. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I've made a Chocolate Angel Food Cake similar to this before, however I could not seem to come up with my recipe so I used this one. Aside from the fact that I forgot to use the lowest setting for the oven rack, which by the way wasn't mentioned in the instructions, and slightly burnt the top it was perfect. I will definitely be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Made this for 2 co-workers - one wanted angel food, the other anything chocolate - this turned out high, light and chocolatey! I topped with melted chips and butter - ganache like - also, I put the sugar in the blender to make it superfine, and it blends in much easier. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      My first angel food cake and it's EXCELLENT! I was looking for a new dessert that fits in with Weight Watchers and this is perfect! I will bring it to a family gathering next week with a variety of toppings (fresh fruit, hot fudge sauce, whipped cream, peanut butter chips) and let folks dress up their cake however they want! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Excellent, delicious, moist, light; what else can I say?! I brought this as a morning tea, I live in Australia so not many had tried Angel Food cake. I got rave reviews (and requests to bring it in again) with this recipe, thanks. Just a note to watch oven time, mine only needed 30 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This cake is wonderful! the only change I made was I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons. We will enjoy this cake over the holiday weekend! thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Angel Food Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    70%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 152.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites