Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipped Beef on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipped Beef on Toast

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2010

      My mom used to make this all the time when I was little. This recipe turned out just how I remembered it to be! It was excellent. Chad even liked it. Next time though, I will rinse the meat beforehand to get rid of some of the salt. I had meant to this time, but it slipped my mind when I actually went to cook! Thanks for bringing back good memories with an old recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I have made this basic recipe for years. I serve over mashed potatoes. One trick to reduce the salt content is to thoroughly rinse the chipped beef before beginning recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Made this this morning, followed the recipe exactly only put this over Grands Biscuits instead of toast. Very easy, very good, really hit the spot. I crave this sometimes, so I'll use this recipe again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      This Is a good recipe the trick to good chipped beef is use a high grade of smoked dry beef the harder it Is smoked the better you need that salt taste and I find that whole milk will change the taste also yes it Is not the best meal for the heart thats for sure! Its not something you should eat every week . If you are running your dry beef under water before you cook it dont even bother making this recipe this will change the taste. ..Thanks for sharing your great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Needs more like 6 ounces of meat, and LOTS of black pepper. And, I added granulated garlic after t cooked because this sauce needed some ooomph! The way the recipe is, IMO, is "OK".... definitely not worth 5 stars. People give out 5 stars way too easily. Quite edible.... 3 stars..... maybe would have gone 3.5 if it was an option.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Just the way I remembered! Super easy, fast, filling- and no last minute grocery store runs for ingredients! This fed my husband and I- without leftovers. I also took Chef#1378631's advice and rinsed the beef to reduce the salt content. The result was good ol' comfort food fast, and not too salty! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This is exactly how I make it and how my Dad made it, only we add a can of Veg-all mixed veggies in after the white sauce is made. Then seve over toast. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Made it last night for my mother-in-law, she was the only one home. She requested I make this, used your recipe, it was perfect! Just like my Dad makes. I did add 1/8 of smoked paprika to the dish as I cooked it, and served it on hamburger buns we had to eat up. You made a 93 year old woman happy, took Mom back to her childhood.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Just like I remember. Comfort food at its best, this one is always a favorite. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Very simple dish. I used a tad more pepper as a personal preference. I also think next time I will try over homemade biscuits (such as #9494 chedder bay biscuits) as perviously suggested, since the DH is a fan of those. Probably not as healthy, I know, but comfort food for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I remember this being made quite often during the post WWII days of my childhood. My mother used to add diced hard boiled eggs to the recipe...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      Made this tonight and it was very good. I added a little bit of cayenne pepper just to give it a little bite. Next time I think I will add some chopped onion to it and/or frozen peas. I will definitely make it again. My husband use to make this when our boys were young, so we had not made it in a few years. They are now in their twenties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      OMG! It took me back to those lazy Saturday afternoons, Mon would make creamed beef w/toastand dad made homemade popovers. We helped with the great memories. Thank you for this..just like moms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      MMMMMMM - Just like I remember!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Just like I had been taught how to make it many years ago. Satisfying. Thank-you for posting this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I made this last night for dinner. My kids have not ever had this and they loved it. DH suggested this, (i forgot about it) and am so glad he did. We will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      You just cannot beat this old favorite. Me and DH fight over the last picece. 4 servings? not for this family - maybe 2 - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      I just got done making this. I didnt have enough milk so I used cream instead. WHOA!! Way to rich for my taste. I'm sure if I had, had the milk it would have been much better, so I gave it four stars with that in mind. I noticed that someone said that they added another 2 oz. of meat in with the gravy. I would not recommend that it would have made it to salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This was good but was too floury for us. Next time I would cut back on the flour. My family also thought that it needed more pepper. We also thought 2 ounces of meat was not enough. I ended up adding another 2 ounces of meat. Easy to make and good with changes made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipped Beef on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    63%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 58.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 556.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites