61 Reviews

This Is a good recipe the trick to good chipped beef is use a high grade of smoked dry beef the harder it Is smoked the better you need that salt taste and I find that whole milk will change the taste also yes it Is not the best meal for the heart thats for sure! Its not something you should eat every week . If you are running your dry beef under water before you cook it dont even bother making this recipe this will change the taste. ..Thanks for sharing your great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MZ Piggy August 10, 2012

My mom used to make this all the time when I was little. This recipe turned out just how I remembered it to be! It was excellent. Chad even liked it. Next time though, I will rinse the meat beforehand to get rid of some of the salt. I had meant to this time, but it slipped my mind when I actually went to cook! Thanks for bringing back good memories with an old recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chads Cook August 01, 2010

I have made this basic recipe for years. I serve over mashed potatoes. One trick to reduce the salt content is to thoroughly rinse the chipped beef before beginning recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbiz36 October 08, 2009

Made this this morning, followed the recipe exactly only put this over Grands Biscuits instead of toast. Very easy, very good, really hit the spot. I crave this sometimes, so I'll use this recipe again. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat December 19, 2008

Needs more like 6 ounces of meat, and LOTS of black pepper. And, I added granulated garlic after t cooked because this sauce needed some ooomph! The way the recipe is, IMO, is "OK".... definitely not worth 5 stars. People give out 5 stars way too easily. Quite edible.... 3 stars..... maybe would have gone 3.5 if it was an option.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa Deuce July 26, 2011

Just the way I remembered! Super easy, fast, filling- and no last minute grocery store runs for ingredients! This fed my husband and I- without leftovers. I also took Chef#1378631's advice and rinsed the beef to reduce the salt content. The result was good ol' comfort food fast, and not too salty! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlaP January 02, 2010

This is exactly how I make it and how my Dad made it, only we add a can of Veg-all mixed veggies in after the white sauce is made. Then seve over toast. Yummy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueRidgeMama February 02, 2009

Made it last night for my mother-in-law, she was the only one home. She requested I make this, used your recipe, it was perfect! Just like my Dad makes. I did add 1/8 of smoked paprika to the dish as I cooked it, and served it on hamburger buns we had to eat up. You made a 93 year old woman happy, took Mom back to her childhood.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
markie29588 #2 January 06, 2009

Just like I remember. Comfort food at its best, this one is always a favorite. Thanks for posting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking December 20, 2008

Very simple dish. I used a tad more pepper as a personal preference. I also think next time I will try over homemade biscuits (such as #9494 chedder bay biscuits) as perviously suggested, since the DH is a fan of those. Probably not as healthy, I know, but comfort food for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp November 23, 2008
Chipped Beef on Toast