Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle's Barbacoa Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle's Barbacoa Copycat Recipe

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2013

      If you like the Chipotle Restaurant Barbacoa, this recipe is fantastic! I never rated anything on the internet until now because this recipe is just so good. My daughter and I both abosolutely love Chipotle Barbacoa. Having a large family, it gets expensive taking the entire family out to eat. I decided to try this recipe. I loved it and my daughter really loved it. She ate it for supper, then breakfast, packed it for school lunch and still ate it later that evening. I had to tell her she had to eat something else for breakfast the next morning. She said it tastes exactly like the restaurant. The recipe makes enough to have left overs later or to freeze it. If you like Chipotle Barbacoa you will love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I've actually made this a few times now. My husband has an allergy to mild bell peppers, so I make this so that he can have Chipotle at home where I can guarantee he won't get sick! We both love it, and everyone who has had this recipe and Chipotle's says that this one is as good if not better! I cheat on the chiles in adobo and use a smoked habanero instead with a little tomato paste and adobo seasoning (powdered). Seems to work out about right. So good and well worth the little bit of prep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      I make a few changes...not a fan of preservatives so I don't use the chilies in adobo sauce. I substitute with 4 or 5 good sized poblano peppers that I broil in the oven, remove the skin and the bulk of the seeds from. The second time I made it I didn't remove the fat until it was ready to fall off the meat I think it added more flavor. Best shredded beef I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      I wasn't sure about this one when I put it in the crockpot. All day I kept thinking that it smelled like choizo and I am not a fan of it. I shredded and tasted. I didn't think that it was great but it was edible. I let it sit in the juice on warm for awhile cuz we weren't ready too eat yet. Tasted again and WOW! Melts in your mouth! Made tortas out of it. Didn't think my daughter was gonna eat it but she did. Tomorrow I will make tostadas out of the left overs. I halfed this recipe cuz I only had a 2 lb roast but I used 3 chipoltes. Next time I will use more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I made this exactly as the recipe explained....it was THE BEST meat I have ever had. Chipotle is good but this is even better! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I registered on that website just to rate this recipe... It's absolutely amazing!!! My husband and I are regular Chipotle customers and we love barbacoa. I was very skeptical about trying out any barbacoa recipes, because I didn't believe I could come any close to what we are used to at Chipotle. I finally gave it a shot... My husband said it was even better than at Chipotle! Everybody is saying that it makes a lot, which is true... but in my house it was gone within 2 days, and I only ate a little bit for lunch, the rest was consumed by my husband! If you love barbacoa, don't hesitate to try that recipe. Five starts! Thank you, Jan, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This recipe is spot on. The only thing I did not have was cloves. Also excellent as a breakfast burrito

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      I've never tried Chipotle's Barbacoa for comparison, but this made a great batch of flavorful shredded beef. I cooked this on low all day while I was at work, so the house smelled lovely when I got home. My original plans were to fill some flautas with this, but DH didn't want to wait that long, so I just made soft tacos with corn tortillas, onions and cilantro instead. I do have some of the meat left over, so I may yet get to try this in flautas. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Spring 2012

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      This is amazballs. I saw a recent one star which perhaps she made the mistake i ALMOST made which was to add 3 cans of chipotles in adobe rather than 3 or 4 actual chipotles? And if it is bay leaves, then the recipe doesn't deserve the one star...but anyway, it's spot on. We had some good cuts of chuck Nader r us and followed the recipe right on except added more cumin and salt per my taste, and it was amazing! Even if it didn't taste similar to chipotle, it still would have been amazing tasting. I saw another recipe, and they clearly took it from the same place basically exact, and it clearly is basically exact to the chipotle recipe. Yum. I'm going to eat the leftovers fr breakfast

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      I feel bad that I have to rate this with one star because I REALLY wanted to find a recipe that tasted like Chipotles Babacoa. I copied this recipe EXACTLY as stated. I'm not sure where I went wrong since I have looked and over looked this again and again to see if there was something I missed and there is nothing. I can tell you one thing for sure that I realized, the Bay Leaves were very over powering. There were a few ingredients that I used for this recipe that I have never used before but I figured why not if it tastes like Barbocoa in the end. I realize now that I don't like Bay Leaves and I could taste it in every bite of the barbacoa. I definitely have never tasted that taste when eating at chipotle. Because of all the 5 stars, I had to rate this as honestly as I felt because I wasted $20 on a 4 1/2 pound roast and had to throw it away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Disclaimer--I made it with chicken. It was fabulous! I've tried to make barbacoa before, and it always seemed something was missing. I think the vinegar was what nailed it! Thanks for sharing your recipe--it is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This is a keeper! Well done! My whole family loved this. Thank you for sharing this. Didn't change a thing and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I can't wait to try this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      My boyfriend made this exact recipe over the weekend and it was amazing! Thank you for the recipe! We will def. be enjoying this time and time again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I love the recipe. One day I was out of apple cider vinnegar and used Balsamic Vinnegar, came out even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      I made this recipe this past weekend and have to give it 5 stars! It is very easy to make and has an authentic barbacoa flavor. I didn't change anything on the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Delicious !!!!!!!!!!! Best shredded beef taco/burrito meat! I followed everything exactly adding in a chopped onion. After the meat was cooked and shredded I drained out the greasy juices and put the meat back in the crock pot. I added chopped fresh cilantro, more lime juice, a can of Rotel original (the meat is delicious with little bits of tomato and green chiles), and a pinch of sugar. Let it cook on low a couple hours to blend flavors. Came out wonderful and will do it this way from now on. Easier than my old recipe too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      Tender and soo good. Served with grilled veggies in a homemade taco bowl and cilantro lime rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Made it last night for dinner. It took about 8 hours total and it was absolutely amazing! Lots of leftovers so will be able to enjoy for a bit. I served it with Target's Market Pantry Cilantro Lime rice and Juanita brand tortilla chips (they have just a hint of lime). Great find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      This recipe is absolutely delicious. Chipotle is a guilty pleasure of mine, and their barbacoa is my favorite. This is even better. This recipe makes A LOT, but you can reheat the meat in any number of ways. I'm curious about how chicken would taste with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle's Barbacoa Copycat Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.2
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    43%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 547.4 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 48.7 g
    97%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites