Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Shrimp and Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Shrimp and Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2011

      Another yum! I followed the recipe as directed with 2 small changes. I used russet potatoes as that is what I had on hand, and only added 1 chipotle chili because I was serving it to some people that don't like spicy. Go figure, lol! But they loved it! This was really good and simple. When I make it next time for myself, I will add more chipotle as I love the smoky spice. Thanks MamaJ for a real treat. Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Fantastic Soup! The only changes I made were to use 1 can of corn and I only had russet potatoes on hand, but this chowder is so satisfying on a cold day! It is sweet and smoky and great with rustic bread and butter. I used 2 whole chipotle chiles (about 2 Tbsp), since we normally love spicy food, but it was almost too much, so I will probably back off next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Wow! The smokey flavor from the bacon and chipotle is so tasty and there is the little kick from the chipotles too. I used one whole chipotles pepper with about 1 tsp extra of adobo sauce. I used 1 1/2 cups of light cream in place of the heavy cream and used one can of corn instead of frozen. I also had to sub vermouth for the sherry as I was out. It worked well but I really think sherry would be the better choice. Thanks MamaJ for a wonderful chowder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This was easy and quick to make! Loved the smokey heat! I used 3 chipotle peppers and added some adobo sauce. I did use more sherry o deglaze. I would deglaze before adding the flour. I also used low fat milk for all milk and cream called for in the recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was so delicious! My husband loved it and a friend that came over for dinner took some home. It is definitely better the next day, it had a chance to thicken up the first day it was more like soup. I also cut back on the chipolte chiles and put them on the table for people to add what they liked. I will definetly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Four eaters agree -- five stars are not enough! I followed instructions with only two deviations: I couldn't find any dry sherry and so used white wine--I know the sherry would have been even better; I used a minimal amount of chipotles in adobo and that was plenty hot for us. Everyone loved it--I've already been told that this soup MUST be made again...and again...Thanks, MamaJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Very tasty, but a bit too spicy for us--next time I will only use 1 tbs. of chipotle. I also added about 2 tsp. of salt and it really gave the flavor a boost. We're looking forward to having it again this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This was excellant MamaJ. My dh & I really enjoyed this tasty soup. I used large jumbo shrimp...mmm. I love all the different flavors and textures in the soup, you could really taste all the seperate flavors. The addition of the sherry and hot peppers takes this to a new taste level. Thank you so much for sharing. We will be enjoying this often. Kudos...BK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Love, Love, Love This Soup!!! Spectacular! It is a bit spicy and I love it that way. This is so easy and tastes like a million bucks. It's amazing how all the flavors marry after the 20 minute cooking time. I'll be making this one all winter long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Wow, from one WV girl to another! (born and raised in Charleston) We LOVED your chowder recipe. I had some really nice jumbo shrimp that I cut into thirds to put in the soup. The smoky, spicy blend was just right for our palates. I'm going to follow your lead next time and triple this. BTW, no changes were made to your recipe, it was followed to a T. Thanks so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Shrimp and Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.1
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    35%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 760.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes