Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-158 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2004

      I must confess that I made this a day early for dinner tomorrow, but I can't stop grabbing tastes! This is so awesome Denise! I love it! The smell while cooking was to die for. But the TASTE, OMG, the taste is incredible! I only used one can of chipotle chiles so my son would be able to eat it, and being a spicy whimp, that is enough for me too. I can see that I have more than enough for a taco dinner for tomorrow and burritos for the freezer. I am floored at how incredible this tastes, even better than the machaca at our local mexican restaurant. Just awesome. Thanks so much Denise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      I used a pork loin roast, and didn't add the chipotles because I wanted to make it mild this time. We served it on tortillas with cilantro and sour cream. It was delicious - very moist, tender and well seasoned. I will try it with chipotles next time for a spicier version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      Perfection! I saw this in the new picture section and thought it sounded good. I went to the market and was astounded to see what AGRA-BUSINESS was doing to us by way of beef prices. Scratch one Chuck Roast! In the Bargain Bin I found a couple of packets of Turkey Thighs. 4 thighs cost than chuck roast did per pound. I skinned and de-fated the thighs. I used Black Pepper Corns, Cumin Seeds, and whole New Mexico Chili Powder which I ground fresh just before use. The only other change was to use Chichen Stock and cut the cooking time to 4 hours. I removed the thighs to a rack to cool to handling temperature then de-boned and shredded them back into the sauce. I bagged it in individual servings and froze them. I've got to get a bigger freezer! Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      This is one good recipe! It, however, wasnt as hot as we were anticipating, but we also eat a TON of hot things in our home. This is a very tasty recipe and I followed the recipe to a T and it is perfect! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Wonderful! The aroma had everyone salivating long before dinner was ready. We tried the crusty rolls and dipping sauce, and next time I'm going to use it for soft tacos. This is a cookbook keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      I made this the other night for the family and it was eaten very fast! I liked the salsa verde and chipotles, it was a nice blend. This is a definite repeat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      Delicious Denise!!! I left out the onion and put way too many chipotle chilies in adobo (I thought the can said 3 chilies, but it said 3 chilies are in a serving - 6 servings!!) So, after I shredded the meat, I removed all the chilies while I let it simmer a little while longer, and the spiciness was definitely toned down. Still spicy enough to where I had to make grilled chesse for the kids, though, lmbo! DH and I devoured this - put it inside tortillas. Thanks so much for posting, D!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      Very simple recipe,almost no work invovled and when its done it taste like a explosion in your mouth!!Fire and flavor,just the way I like it.I ate mine plain but the rest had it with tortillas,sour cream and cheese,although next time I am gonna serve it on tostados.Just a hint,if the recipe seems too spicy for some,leave out the chipoltle peppers in adobe sauce,that one little can is packed with fire,good but hot to some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Very easy to prepare and extremely tasty!!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      these were really good. we made burritos and put cheese and rice and avacado in them. they were even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      My family loved this. I used round steak and did not have verde sauce. The meat was very tender and flavorful. I broke up the meat and served it in flour tortillas with cheese and sour cream. I am going to mix the leftovers with rice tonight. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      This really excellent. I actually cooked this roast on low over night and shredded the beef in the morning. Before reheating I added just a touch more broth to keep it moist. We all loved it and it makes quite a bit so there were left overs for burritos. I have a little left over in my freezer now and can not wait for another mexican menu at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Now that there's a great roast...I don't care who you are ;-) Denise - this was amazing!!!!!! House smelled great all day, and the taste was just beyond!!! Had leftovers today wrapped up in flour tortillas! Brian loved it too :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      I made this exactly as written and it was wonderful! The aroma that filled the house was fantastic and we could hardly wait for it to be finished. This will become a regular in our house. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      This was a great recipe. Easy to prepare and the whole house smelledgreat while it was cooking. I found this recipe while looking for ways to use the chipotle chilis in adobo sauce that I purchased while on a trip to the States. My husband loves spicy things and this was a real treat for him. We made tacos with all the fixings! I will make this again after I replenish my stock of those chipotle peppers! My husband thanks you for sharing this great recipe. The leftovers froze very well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      I had some lamb roasts in the freezer and decided to try this recipe using that instead of beef. The meat was flavorful and tender. It was great to come home to the spicy aromas in the kitchen. This will become a staple for us for our tacos and enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      Excellent flavor, and very tender. I only used 2 chipotles. I was asked for the recipe after someone smelled, not tasted, but smelled the leftovers I took for lunch. I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I made this last night because my husband loves mexican food. I served it with warm tortillas, sour cream and guacomole. We loved it. I watch my carbs, so I ate it with the sour cream and guacomole mixed it. Fantatic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    36%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1007.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes