Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2007

      5 stars isn't enough for me - this is the best! I think my roast was probably around 2 lbs, but I didn't change the seasoning amounts. I'm not sure what salsa verde is so I just used Pace Picante, didn't have the green chiles so threw in an extra chile in adobe, and this turned out perfect for us. Yes it was spicy but we like spicy. I cannot wait to make again. Thanks, Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This has become a staple in our house. I don't chop the chilies so I can scoop them out before shredding the beef. I also add Worcestershire sauce, just a tablespoon or so. After it's cooked (I like to let it cook on low for another couple hours after shredding) I add about a cup of mayo, shredded ch. cheese and a can of cr. of mushroom soup it's fantastic for enchilada filling. I use this for OAMC cooking. Roll up all your tortillas, flash freeze, wrap in plastic wrap and then put them in bags

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I've served this twice to two different groups, and everyone loves it. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      The DH and I loved this. I cut the heat by scraping the seeds and membrane out of the chilies. This provided a nice smokey flavor without mouth searing heat. I also forgot to pick up the beef broth, so I used a cup of V-8 which I had on hand. This makes far more than 6-8 servings. My husband and I had this for two nights and barely put a dent in it. I'm packaging up the meat and sauce into 1.5 cup packages an placing it in the freezer for future taco nights. We'll be making this again as soon as we run out. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      FANTASTIC!! I didn't have chiptle chiles but I had Chipotle Chili powder. Turned out wonderfully! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This was fantastic and easy. I ate it as soft tacos, by itself with a little sour cream, then I experimented and made my empenada dough and put the beef and a few other ingrediants in and made excellent empenadas. (I'll have my dough recipe up soon, or anyone can drop me mail to request it and the filings) Again, this was really great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      So flavorful and spicy! I served it on buns for the first night, and then in beef tacos with the leftovers. Very easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      This was very tasty. I couldn't find green chiles so I didn't bother trying to find a substitute, and I used 4 chipotle chiles instead of 3. it reheated really well this afternoon for lunch, and I definitely plan on making this again! 3/16/07 -- you know, I think my initial rating of this was a little harsh. I've made a few different chipotle roasts since then, and this is definitely the best tasting. when I was eating those other roasts, I would think of this one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This recipe was ok for us. I liked the flavor of the meat, but I didn't like it in soft taco shells or on bread. It's almost as if the bread detracted from the flavor of the beef. I didn't have any hard taco shells maybe that would have been better. Thanks anyway, it was worth trying once. I think we just like our stuff a little spicier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Very good. Everyone talked about how spicy it is, so I only used 2 chipotles and half the salsa verde, but it came out hardly spicy at all, so next time I will definitely pump it up. Very convenient and yummy. Will definitely do again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This was REALLY good, but quite spicy. We had to rinse it and nuke it in more broth so the kids could eat it. BUT we also substituted fresh (seeded) serrano peppers for the chipolte in adobo (what is that? We can't find it anywhere around here). Very yummy! Tom had a sandwich, I had it in a wrap with fixin's... very high yum factor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This was just wonderful. We loved it! I used it all the different ways you stated. I'm sure it could be used many more ways. Great recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      To my husband and I, this was a 3.5 star recipe. We liked it, but didn't love it. The roast was tender but there was a certain taste--not the chipotle chiles-that I am not certain I really liked. It wasn't too spicy. Using the crockpot, made it very easy to prepare and the house smelled wonderful all day while it was cooking. Thanks, Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This is so easy and so good. Great for company. We serve it in soft tacos (corn torillas work wonderfully) and all the yummy extras--sour cream, pico, cheese, guac, beans, and Spanish rice. Thank you for sharing a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      This is one of the BEST crockpot recipes I've ever made - it did not have that usual mushy overcooked crockpot taste. It was moist and flavorful and I was able to quickly shred the meat in about 5 minutes. I served with warmed flour tortillas, sour cream, cheese and fresh cilantro; I also used the leftovers for "taquitos" the next day in everybody's lunch box - absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This was great! I cooked it overnight and let it cool in the broth before shredding and serving in tortillas with cheese & sour cream. The flavor really permeated the meat and I discovered that while the meat wasn't exceptionally spicy, the broth sure was!! I think this will also make an exceptional sandwich on a crusty Mexican bread roll. An extra plus is the wonderfully spicy aroma while cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      The flavor penetrated throughout this meat nicely. I used two chiles. Next time I think I will use one (just because my children enjoy their meat more mild--though they both ate it without a complaint). Very good in tacos. I would like to try it next time on crusty rolls with dipping juice (seeing as there is quite a bit of juice). Thanks Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      This meat was phenomenal. We did use all 3 chipotle chiles and it was hot but we love it that way. Also, once the meat was shreaded I transfered the meat to a skillet and slowly added the juices from the crockpot to let it reduce. It intensified both the spice and the flavor and DH RAVED!! We had lots of leftovers and are looking forward to eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      Soooo good!! I used 2 chipotles, and it was pretty darn hot. (we like spicy!) We ate it on tortillas, and once you added the toppings, the spice was great. It was a bit too spicy for my children though, so next time, we will just try one chipotle. I made this for guests, and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this easy, (YUMMY) recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Sooooo Easy and soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    36%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1007.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites