Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2008

      Excellent. After slow cooking, I separated meat from sauce, degreased the sauce, placed sauce in pot and reduced by about a quarter (10-15 mins. of gentle boil), thickened with 2 tsp of cornstarch slurry, and finally recombined meat and sauce for final simmering. The idea was to make the excellent sauce better stick to the shredded meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      One of our favorites. I typically use one large chopped onion and dump in the whole can of chipotle chiles in adobo to up the heat a bit. We eat this on tortillas with creamy coleslaw and it is a staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Made this just as posted, used 4 chipotles--just enough heat for our family. Will make this recipe often! Thanks to you for a good alternative to the regular ground beef w/taco seasoning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Absolutely THE best recipe for beef in Mexican dishes. I have made this countless times now and everyone loves it! I add 5-6 chipolte chiles in adobo, but my family is into the "spicy" stuff! Thanks for a wonderful recipe. (Oh! And DH uses the leftovers over pasta with a can of drained corn - yummy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This roast is SO good! Wow...super yummy. I made exactly as directed. I didn't think it was too spicy. After shredding I rolled the beef on flour tortillas with a little cheese and sour cream. Will make these again...and again. Thanks for sharing. Update: The leftover beef & juices make excellent soup! I added some water, frozen veggies, and a can of pinto beans. Crushed tortillas in bowl, pour on the soup and topped with sour cream...super yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Fantastic!!!! We used flour and corn tortillas, pinto and black beans, cheese, shredded cabbage, onions and hot sauce to make killer tacos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      thank you so much for this recipe this was great! I followed the recipe to the T but cut back on the Chipotle's due to my family are whimps. I put it in the crock on Saturday planning to have it for dinner that night. Something came up so I put it in the refer. and on Sunday morning and let it cook all day again and by the time we ate Sunday night it was GREAT>!!! I served it on tortilas with a little cheese and this will be a roast i make often. I can say that when mother tells you something is good trust her! thanks mom (bobbie#3)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      What a wonderful recipe. It can be used for so many things. I used the beef chuck roast -- but I can see that a pork butt (shoulder) would be great -- and chicken as well. My roast was 5 pounds, so I did 1 1/2 the amounts of the recipe. After it was all said and done, I think I could have just stuck to the original recipe. I had plenty of "juice" -- enough that I was able to put a couple cups of it in the freezer for the next time I make this. We had tacos last night and they were wonderful. I can see where it would make great burritos and fajitas -- and sandwiches. I also cut back on the chilies in the adobo -- mainly because we're having this tomorrow for our two small grandchildren. The broth was pretty spicy, but once I shredded the meat, it was very mild. I appreciate having this recipe -- and I can see that many others do as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Really, REALLY good. The meat stayed moist and was so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Delicious and so easy to make! Great flavor and very similar to Chipotle's barbacoa. We put it in tortillas with sour cream and cheese. Next time, I plan on trying it for sandwiches. I put 5 chiles and extra salsa verde, because we like spicy food. Still wasn't too spicy, because my 1 year old daughter ate it. Mmmm....just perfect! Making this again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      just unbelievable! We ate this one for days....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      This was awesome! I did not have the salsa verde, but added everything else. I am going to try it next with a pork roast. A MUST TRY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      This is excellent. It tasted even better the next day. I couldn't find chipotle chiles in my grocery store, so I omitted it, but it was plenty spicy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I made this for enchiladias and we loved it. I could smell it from the start and was practically drooling by the end of the day...lol. I will make this again, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This was the most amazing mexican meat I've ever had!! Lived in tx for 2 years... and nothing compares! Making it again today trying with chicken this time. Amazing thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      this was really good & not too spicey but boy did it gave me heart burn!! nothing that a couple'a tums couldn't handle...lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was great. I made this 3 times already. Flavors are great and the meat just falls apart. I did not change a thing. Served in flour tortilla. I made a sauce with equal servings of mayo and sour cream with a little lemon juice and a teaspoon of taco seasoning. It was great as a topping for this dish! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was so delicious and really easy. I have some in the house who can't handle too much spice so I only used 1 Chipotle chile and added about a teaspoon of the adobo sauce. I did use a pork roast because they were on sale and we made burritos and tacos from the meat. I served green chile on the side to smother the burritos in and everyone loved the meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This was so easy and delicious. I used a pork roast. I tried to make it a little more mild for the kids. We served it on homemade tostadas(fried corn tortillas) with the traditional taco ingredients + gaucamole, cilantro and crumble mexican queso cheese. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was very delicious! My hubby used the meat for tacos, and i just plopped mine on a bun and had a very tasty sandwich. I used some of the juices to dip, kind of like a french dip. I had leftovers so I took a can of refrigerated buttermilk biscuits, flattened them out, and put the meat in the middle. Sprinkled with shredded chipotle cheddar cheese, and sealed them up like little hot pockets. Those were great too! I will definitely make this often! It's very versatile, and you can use it so many different ways! Thanks for the great new addition to my recipe collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    36%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1007.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites