Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2010

      This has to be one of THE best dishes I've EVER made in a crock pot! My husband was a cook at a Mexican restaurant for 4 yrs as a kid and he loved it as well. I had to make some substitutions because I didn't have certain things at home. Still turned out wonderfully, but probably just a bit hotter than this dish was intended to be. Instead of chipotle chiles, i used some dried red chilis i happened to have. I also used a can of jalapenos instead of green chilies. it was SO awesome!!! I highly recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      My family LOVES this recipe! It is quickly becoming one of our top favorites. I make it with no chipotle peppers. I'm sure it is wonderful with them, but with small children, I leave them out and it is still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I made this for my partner and he thought it was ok. He didn't care too much for the chipotle peppers. I think its all a matter of preference. If you don't care for chipotle peppers either use very little or none.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      EXCELLENT!!! I used an almost 4lb roast so i added more Chipotles about 5 large ones in the adobo sauce, (I tried the hotness before I added them and they were med-mildish) PERFECT for the spice lovers!!! Yummmy will defiantly make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Absolutely AMAZING! I added about a cup of medium salsa, a few dashes of Worcestershire and another half cup or so of beef broth. The flavor was incredible. Like some others, I was concerned about the heat when I first tasted the juice, but once the meat was shredded and absorbed the juice, it was perfect! I made shredded beef quesadillas with this, and it was better than what I get from any restaurant! My kids each gave it two thumbs... and two big toes up, lol. They said it was too good for just two thumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Excellent. I made 2 roasts in a large crock. Instead of the salsa verde, I used drained canned diced tomatoes, and added extra of all the seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Fabulous! I added 4 chipotles instead for extra heat. I added a little cilantro, chipotle powder, and oregano also. Was even better the next day. Wrap it in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream and you will be in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I have been meaning to review this for some time. My guys just love this! They think it is better than french dip! It is so easy and versatile. I've used dry onion soup mix and a cup of water as a substitute for the beef broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I loved this! I changed it up a little bit (of course!) . I did not use canned green chiles, I just used a variety of dried chies I had on hand. I think they were adobe, chile de arbol, and guajillo? I can't remember, but the point is, this recipe is very versatile to change the chiles or spices up a little bit. I like things on the spicier side, so I added more heat! AFter shredding them and eating as sandwiches the first night, the next day for lunch I reheated the shredded beef in a skillet for tacos - that worked great! Tasted better the second day actually! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I don't know how people are saying that this is too spicy. My DH didn't think this was spicy at all. I tried a taste and didn't get any heat. The flavor was good though, but not a "WOW" like I was hoping for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      My husband and I loved this recipe. The meat was sooooo tender and juicy. It had great flavor. I did add a lot more cumin only because we love cumin. But other than that, I did stick to the recipe as it was stated. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I've made this several times with beef (fantastic by the way) but this time I used a pork roast and chicken broth. It turned out just as well. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Great recipe - really tender and flavorful. To tone down the spice of the chipotles but retain the great flavor (my boyfriend cannot eat very spicy foods), just remove the seeds from the chiles. For Phunny Pharmer - I also had difficulty finding chipotles in adobo - but I managed to find them in the international foods section at the "super" version of a local grocery store. Goya is typically the brand you will find in the NE. We used the roast for sandwiches and leftovers for taco salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I used the whole can of chipotle chiles and we thought it was not spicy at all. My boyfriend loved the sauce that this made! After using all the meat for tacos, I saved the sauce and used it to serve with cheese quesidillas with onions and it was delicious! I can't wait to make this again. So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This was just OK. There wasn't a lot of flavor to this. I'm guessing that the salsa verde I used may have something to do with; I tasted the salsa alone and it was pretty bland. Upstate NY is not really known for Mexican. Chipotles in adobo are not be found either. The availability of decent ingredients may be the culprit. I won't try this again until I can find better salsa and chipotles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Yum, Yum, Yum!!! This is soo easy and delicious. Cant wait to share with friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wowser! This turned out fabulous with a ton of heat. I used half moose roast and half pork roast, homemade salsa verde which had its own heat and half a can of chipolte in adobe sauce. Everyone loves it. This was so hot that I had to call the fire dept, well actually that was for another kind of smoke and heat but all turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I would give this ten stars if I could! My whole family loved this-I did omit chipoltes for the kiddos and used regular salsa. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Wow, I have to say that this meat is by far hands down the best!!! and I mean BEST that I have tried for tacos. I had a little get together today with friends and family and everyone absolutely went crazy for it!!! With the chipotle chiles it wasn't too spicy, just a nice warm burn. Almost addictive. Way to go. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My kids were not crazy about our Christmas prime rib. So I used the leftovers in this recipe and I omitted the chipotles so it wasn't spicy. The canned green chilies always add a really nice flavor we really enjoy. We ate it on sandwiches and all of it was gone way to fast. We'll definitely will make it again using a different meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    36%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1007.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites