Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2011

      We loved this recipe, I did a few things different as I've made this several times and what works best for us is to skip the chipotle chilies in the abodo sauce completely I find that it is too spicy and kills the tastebuds on your tounge and your unable to taste anything else. I love spicy food but I need to taste other flavors too. :-) I also skipped the canned green chilies and used fresh roasted ones, also skipped the salsa verde those seemed to make it too salty for us. Instead of the salsa verde I used a small can of green enchilada sauce and that seemed to work out just fine. And because I was too lazy and in a hurry I didn't trim the fat off I just tossed it in our Rival 8 quart Roaster Oven at 350. It tastes so good! It makes so much flavorful meat I'm able to get a few meals out of it, usually can have tacos one night, enchiladas on another night, burritos on another night, and sandwiches on another. Tonight I'm going to make some burritos up and stick them in the freezer for a quick hassle free meal. Great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Yum! And very easy too. :) I will definitly make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      This is a great recipe! It was quick to put together, easy to cook, and full of flavor. The husband wanted a pork dish for dinner this evening, so I used a 3 pound pork loin but did not change any other ingredients. The pork was full of a wonderful spicy flavor and it was so very tender. I%u2019m planning on cooking this again next week. A friend, who served pork tacos at her restaurant, would use tongs to lightly toast the flour tortillas over an open flame of a gas stove, which added a special flavor to the taco. I have an electric stove top and decided to put a tortilla directly on the burner for a few seconds and it did not taste the same, but it was better than having a plain warmed tortilla. I served this with fresh cilantro, guacamole, fresh green salsa, and tomatoes. A to the person that submitted the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was pretty good! I didn't have a beef roast on hand so I used a venison one instead, and it worked out perfectly! When I went shopping for this meal I couldn't find the chipotle chilies in adobo so I picked up a jar of chipotle salsa instead. Even though the venison roast was smaller then the beef roast, after I shredded it and put it back into the crock pot it was the perfect amount. I would have rated this a 5 star but because I tried it with venison instead of beef I gave it a 4. When I make this again (with the beef roast) I'm sure it will be a 5 in my book. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      the perfect thing to make when hosting a party. after done, just shred the roast and set the crock pot to warm and these sandwiches don't stand a chance! even better when you serve the sandwiches wet (dip the top half of the bun in the gravy). i usually have to triple this to satisfy everybody.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Loved this in tortillas. I cooked the roast then put all the liquid in the blender to mix up. Next time i will reduce the sauce a bit to thicken it. It was very thin and got all over, dripping out of the tortillas. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      We love this recipe!! We've made this at least 4 times now and its always been a hit. Thanks Denise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Like most other reviewers, we loved this easy, spicy roast. Made as directed, and wouldn't change anything. A tasty accompaniment, either as a side dish or dolloped on top of the meat in a flour tortilla, is Cooks4_6's "Simple Homemade Refried Beans" (#202416). Together, these two recipes make a winning combination--thanks Denise for sharing a very versatile meat dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Really great recipe. I didn't have the verde so I subbed one can of tomatoes with jalapenos and used ancho chili powder. I pureed what was left in the crock pot with a stick blender and served over top of the meat. In tortillas or alone this was a family favorite. Made Mexican Rice (#117892) to go as a side also a really great recipe. I will be making these together.
      Thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Love Love Love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Oh my goodness! This was terrific! A definite keeper. I served this on my Easy French Bread (Extra Large) that made into rolls. I used a mixture of equal parts of mayo and sour cream; then spread on the bottom of the roll along with onion slices and banana pepper slices. I topped the meat mixture with a sprinkling of shredded yellow cheese then the top of the roll. An outstanding recipe that I can't wait to serve again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was sooo good! I allowed mine to cook overnight for about 8 hours and it was super tender! When I took it out of the crock pot I shredded it and put in the fridge until dinner. Then I placed the left over cooking liquid in the blender, pureed until smooth and passed it through a small strainer. When it was time to eat I simply placed it in the skillet and reheated with some of the strained sauce. We served this in white corn tortillas and topped it with shredded cheese, sour cream, and Roasted Corn Salsa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Wow, this was so good! Followed the recipe exactly as written and it is perfect...very flavorful and just the right heat. I did it in the crockpot for 5 hours and the meat shredded nicely...thanks so much for posting this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Oh My, but this was good...Followed recipe exactly. Wasnt to hot or spicy for us..Instead of shredding the beef,I ground it and served on tacos. We will not have tacos our old way anymore. From now on when I make this I will double everything and grind up onions and peppers too that are left in the crockpot..and freeze up meals of taco meat. We will have tacos more often now. Thank U so much for this wonderful recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      I toned down this recipe as the ingredients sounded so good but way to hot for me. I halved recipe. I had to cut a roast in half to do that. I used 0 chili powder though I think I should have used some, Cummin asked for, 1 chipotle chile in adobe, 2 ounces of green chilies, 3.5 ounces of salsa verde, 3/4 tsp garlic and the rest of ingredients as called for. It was good but not spicy enough for me. Next time I will add 1/2 tsp chili powder or maybe 1 tsp. It was a nice change of pace from tacos. I ate on a flour tortilla with sour cream, avacado, tomato. Served extra salsa verde on tortilla. I was able to cook 1.5 lb roast in a 1.5 quart slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Made this twice now. First time I put it on buns. Second time I put it in flour taco shells with slices of red pepper, sour cream and avocado. It was much better the second time. This is a great base recipe that you can do tons of things with. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! My DH (very picky eater) could not get enough of it! I made this with basmati rice and stuffed both in flour tortillas; along with the typical fillings. FABULOUS! (I've also used with chicken... again very good! Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      We all loved this! The meat has a really nice flavor and is just spicy enough. Thanks for sharing your recipe! This is my new taco/enchilada/everything meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This turned out very well ~ we ate it as just our main meat for dinner. I can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Roast for Tacos & Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    36%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1007.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites