15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used pork stew meat and a lot of garlic. I added two small chopped potatoes cuz it was kinda looking like chili con carne. I used La Victorias verde salsa in place of tomatillos. It was good but very spicy hot. My poor daughter got through half her burrito and said, " I can't eat anymore " She ate cereal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel February 11, 2015

This was excellent! I did X3, I used trimmed carnita meat, seasoned with granulated garlic and onion and lightly with a cumin blend, but there was so much flavor I doubt that was necessary. I used fresh tomatillas. I wasn't sure how many to use since sizes vary, but ended up putting in just shy of 2 pounds for the tripled recipe. I would not add more chipotles than the recipe calls for, but I did add a little heat when I seasoned the meat. It was excellent the next day too. I do think next time I'll reduce the liquid a little, we had quite a bit of sauce leftover after the meat was gone, even served over rice. I cooked about 21/2 hours covered and then uncovered until it thickened, probably another hour, the meat was very tender but not over cooked. I plan to freeze the leftover sauce and add more meat for another future meal, maybe some chicken pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef January 25, 2014

A wonderful stew with a great combination of flavours! Love those tomatillos and chipotles in adobo sauce. I used chicken instead of pork and doubled the amount of cumin and oregano. Made for a lovely dinner! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee February 24, 2013

This was delicious. I used country style boneless ribs. After I browned it, I put it in the oven for 350 degrees for about 2 hours. So tender! Next time I might add one more phipotle - we like it hot. Otherwise, wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 March 14, 2010

This was great, made it as directed with just a bit more chipolte because I had it left over and the garnished with fresh cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsjudyg February 17, 2009

What I made from this recipe was phenomenal, but since I had to change it up so much, I won't leave stars. I'm guessing that if I had been able to get all of the ingredients to make this as written, it would have been rated about 12 stars, though! I live in a very rural area and access to some ingredients is sometimes hard to come by, so I wasn't able to find canned or fresh tomatillos. I still wanted to try the recipe, though, so I used a jar of Pace Salsa Verde in place of the tomatillos. I just used the whole jar and left out the chicken stock altogether. I also used a very lean roast and just cooked it whole, without browning it first. (I was in a hurry!) The chipotle in this is the vital ingredient, I think. (Yes, I can find chipotle, but no tomatillos!). I have tried many similar recipes, but this is the closest thing I've found to the chile verde that is served at my favorite Mexican restaurant, and I'm sure it's the smokiness of the chipotles that is what puts this recipe far above any others that I've tried. Maybe someday I'll find some tomatillos and can try this as written. Until then, I'll keep using the Pace Salsa Verde, since it produced a very good result. I'm so glad to have found this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen August 05, 2008

This is so yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 24, 2008

This is really good. Extremely good, even. I doubled the recipe for a crowd and we had it on tortillas. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom September 04, 2007

WOWEE!!! Another Ter-ruff-ic recipe from cookiedog! It's a long story but I accidentally used 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of pork. It still turned out FABULOUS! I will be trying it with the pork also in the next few days. I used 3 garlic cloves and 2 cans of green chiles and the 7 fresh tomatillos which I didn't bother to chop. I also used a full can of chicken broth. I cooked it covered for 30 minutes until the tomatillos burst then 1 1/2 hours uncovered to get a thick sauce. I LOVED the TANGY FLAVORFUL sauce! I also liked that it was mild and not hot at all, just flavorful. We enjoyed this as burritos wrapped in flour tortillas with jack cheese, sour cream, sliced olives, chopped avocado and iceberg lettuce. YUM!**I wanted to add that I did make this with boneless pork loin chops as well. It turned out pretty much the same but the pork held up in firmer chunks. Flavorwise I couldn't really tell the difference because the sauce is so strong. This is a keeper recipe either way and I think it will work with any steaky meat you happen to have on hand!**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed June 04, 2007

Delicious!! I made this for my family (including visiting MIL) and EVERYONE raved. Great combination of spices, I used 2 lbs of boneless pork loin chops (cubed) and let it cook for about 2 1/4 hours. I also used the full can of chicken stock (14oz) since I was cooking longer - tender, melt in your mouth pork!!! A+++ we will make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva April 25, 2007
Chipotle Pork Stew