Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2009

      I made this yesterday for lunch with a friend and really enjoyed it. I did add a little Mexican oregano, pickled jalapeno juice and garnished with fresh chopped cilantro leaves. I used bacon because that is what I had on hand. I think this would be great with black beans also. The leftover beans are cooking in my crockpot right now in a batch of chili. Thanks for a easy tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Excellant flavor, goes great with Barbeque, and the whole family loved them. I used the leftovers to make burritos with, just mashed and rolled in tortillas with a little cheese and they were great too. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      This made a very nice pot of mildly spicy beans. I love to use chipolte for the smoky flavor they add. I subbed canned tomatoes and near the end threw in some smoked sausage (no ham hock on hand). Thanks for sharing your recipe Valeria!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I made these as written,but left the chipotle pepper in the whole time, and they were delicious. We like spicy food. To Callahan9119, if you had read the instructions carefully, Valeria does state to cook the beans until tender. That took me about 1 1/2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      I don't know what planet you live on where dried pinto cook in less than an hour. Even if you soaked them for 24 hours it is impossible....you must like crunchy beans.

      Anyway, the ingredients in the recipe are good. I added more garlic and spice and kept the pepper in the whole time, otherwise you couldn't even taste it. I had a ham hock in there, but honestly it didn't add much. Next time I'll just add some "better than bouillon" beef base or something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Very tasty! I didn't have any ham on hand, so I added some beef bouillon granules and it worked just fine. Thanks Valeria, for helping me finish a bag of pintos from my pantry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      These are very good. A nice slightly spice side dish with mexican food. I did mine in the crockpot. I first soaked the beans overnight, then drained and put everything except the tomatoes in the crockpot. When the beans were tender, I stirred in the tomatoes. Cooled everything and placed in the freezer. These thawed and reheated beautifully. thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Love hot beans! I just chopped up my chipotle and left it in. I did oversalt a little at the end, so I mixed it with a little rice when I served it and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I am so bummed. I couldn't find the can of chipotles after I started making this recipe so I had to make it without the chipotle pepper. Regardless, the beans were full of flavor and very tasty. My 18 month old son especially liked them and he is a very picky eater. I liked the idea of the hamhock. It added an overall meaty flavor to the beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      Being inexperienced in using chipotle peppers I tried it anyway - cautiously. It was delicious! Everyone commented on the wonderful flavor. I served it with Mexican Cornbread, recipe 22323. Since the can of chipotle I used with the beans had about eight 2-1/2" peppers in it and I wanted to utilize them before they spoiled, I decided to substitute them for the jalapenos in the cornbread -- just minced a couple and added to the batter and that went very well, also. All in all, we had an excellent one-pot meal - different and enjoyable. This will be seen frequently on our table. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    43%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes