8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious dish, and a wonderful complement to grilled steak seasoned simply with salt, pepper, and extra virgin olive oil. I reduced the oil by half without ill effect, and would suggest adding a little bit of sugar to cut the acidity (but not enough to turn this into a sweet dish, for heaven's sake). It occurs to me that one could prepare a yummy stir-fry with any leftover mushrooms and some thinly-sliced steak. If only there were enough left over! Darn, I'll have to prepare these again. :) Thanks for posting, MEAN CHEF.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. September 04, 2004

Surperb! I followed the recipe exactly....and it doesn't get any better than this. It was wonderful. The best mushrooms I have had in ages. Thanks Mean!! I did find that it seemed to get better the longer it marinated, so I would reccommend overnight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaR May 17, 2004

What a great salad! I reduced the recipe by half & then decided to add additional veggies. I loved the result & have already made it again. I added small cauliflower florets, sliced red pepper, julienned carrots, purple onion, and used cilantro instead of parsley. I also added 1 packet of splenda. It turned out colorful & sooooo good! The flavor is tart, spicy without being too hot, and the veggies aren't dripping in dressing. The second time I made this I paired with mexican food & the favors worked well. This would be a terrific dish for a pot luck too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D September 25, 2010

Wow! This has to be made with cilantro rather than parsley, though. Really refreshing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 13, 2008

Great combo of flavors and a nice change from the regular marinated mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH December 10, 2007

Lime juice, olive oil, chipotles... Mushroom Ceviche! So I just HAD to go with cilantro instead of parsley. I also added a pinch of sugar, and a splash of rice win vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UTcooks January 23, 2005

This has got to be the best blend of flavors. Tart from the lime,a soft bite from the chipotle,and the fragrant parsley,IT'S PERFECT.I had large mushrooms so I did cut them in half,and I just opened up a can of chipotle in adobe and took 2 Tablespoons from the already pureed sauce mixture.The mushrooms soak up the marinade so they are not really floating in anything,nor are they oily,which pleasantly suprised me.I am serving these tonite as a side with your stuffed pablano peppers,if they last that long,because I had to have a bowl as soon as I made them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen September 02, 2004

Made this for a get-together about a month ago (sorry for the late review!!) These are wonderful for an appetizer at a barbeque or cookout. My friends were very impressed--and yes, to agree with the above reviewer, they get much better as they marinate, so overnight would be best, but I only had a few hours and they were still superb. Loved the adobo flavoring with the citrus and garlic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock August 24, 2004
Chipotle & Lime Marinated Mushrooms