Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Copycat Lime Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Copycat Lime Rice Recipe

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      FINALLY- a good cilantro-lime rice recipe!! I loved it! I used 1 1/2 C water after reading that some had success with one cup and others with 2, it was perfect...not too sticky and not under cooked. I also cut down the butter and used 1/2 tsp , and added the juice of 1 & 1/2 limes, 1/2 while cooking and the rest i added with the cilantro. It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      The secret to fluffy rice is 1 1/2 cups water for ever cup of rice. most recipes call for 2 cups water for every cup of rice but this overcooks it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I was waiting in line one day at Chipotles several years ago, and watched them make the rice. A huge bowl of cooked rice was tossed with a big spoon while a handful of salt, a squeze bottle of fresh lime juice and double handful of chopped cilantro was added. Pretty simple...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly and the rice was pasty. I love Chipotle but I would have just used instant rice and added a little lime juice and cilantro after cooking it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      What really works to keep the grains separate and to prevent stickiness is to soak the rice for a half hour before you cook it. So first you wash it several times, then you soak the rice in 1.5 cups of water per cup of rice. Don't drain, because by the end of the half hour, the rice absorbs a lot of the water, so if you drain and add another 1.5 cups after soaking, the rice gets mushy. Once the water comes to a rapid boil, cover, and turn the heat off and resist ALL temptation to open the lid for the next 15 minutes. Follow all other instructions as per original recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Ok.... after reading the reviews, this us what worked for me.... I used chicken broth in conjunction with water. I also added extra lime juice AND lime zest. Although the green onion isn't "Chipotle", I added a bunch that I diced up. Family loved it and added it to the "make again" list.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      I doubled the recipe to 8 servings and it made only about 2 cups of rice! I used a plain white rice (not basmati). I cooked it on the stove not in a rice cooker. Next time I will more then triple the recipe. The 8 serving rice looked more like a 2 serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I'm hopeless without a rice cooker! I made my usual 1 1/2 cups rice to 2 cups water, but I only had BOTAN RICE! I know, the stickiest. I just rinsed it thoroughly until the water was clear then added water to the rice cooker. Later I added the other ingredients (no, I didn't put them in the rice cooker). I increased the lime by 1 tbsp and the oil by a tsp. More cilantro of course. It wasn't as loose as the restaurant, but perfect for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      All I am going to say is awsome. I am a big Chipotle fan. It was a big hit ! I will use again very soon. Thanks Allen Lee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Great recipe, thanks so much for sharing! I had to make a few adjustments. I didn't have cilantro on hand. Used parsley instead (but will try cilantro next time). In my experience it's best not to overcook basmati rice. I cooked it for about 14 minutes and that was almost too long. Also used about 1/2 tablespoon butter. I made this recipe with Classic Black Beans and Rice (Classic Rice and Beans), with half an avocado on the side. Lovely!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I used the rice/water ratio on the the package of rice and added more lime when I added the cilantro. To me, this was dead on to the rice served at Chipotle. EXCELLENT! Thanks Allan Lee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      This is excellent. Just like Chipotle. Any one that said it was sticky had to overcook it. I wish I could upload a picture because even looks just like Chipotle's rice. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Wonderful! I used 1 1/2 c. chicken stock to 1c. basmati rice; I rinsed the rice first and then let it sit in the chicken stock until the water came to a boil. I gave it a quick stir, reduced the heat to low covered and steamed for about 20 mins. I also increased the cilantro as I love it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I made this to go along with a tamale pie and it was perfect. The slight lime flavor went well with the cilantro. DH said it was really good. I was concerned about no seasonings but they weren't missed. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      I have found my Chipotle recipe! Thank goodness, because it was getting pretty expensive going to Chipotle every week and now I can enjoy my Chipotle rice bowl at home. Thank you so much. If you do follow the recipe on the bag for the rice, it will come out perfect. Also if you use chicken stock instead of water, you will go in business for yourself because it is so good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      This is a good recipe but I tweaked it to perfection! First of all you MUST use basmati rice. Plan ahead. Take the time to get some. Yes it is a little more expensive but it makes ALL the difference in the world. In my household we love basmati rice and its the only kind we buy,

      Here's how I made mine. Ingredients: 2 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons dried cilantro (use fresh if you have it but I am not partial to the flavor of cilantro and find that dried is not strong), 2 cups basmati rice, 1-1/2 cups water, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 to 1/3 cup fresh lime juice. Directions: In 2 quart heavy saucepan heat butter over low heat until melted. Add rice and stir for one minute. Add water and salt and bring to a full boil then cover and simmer over low heat until rice is tender and water is absorbed. NOTE - I have an electric stove and I turned my dial down to 2 and cooked it at that temp for 12 minutes. Do not overcook it. Remove from heat and stir in lime juice and cilantro. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I used 1.25 Cups of water.
      The butter could be cut back to 1/2 tbsp.
      The rice came out really good.
      I've also tried this with jasmin rice instead of basmati and it worked well.
      Btw, I cook my rice in a ricecooker and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Another pasty report here. used 1 1/2 c water and half of the lime juice at the end, and it's a gloppy mess. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      My daughter loves this rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      This recipe is phenomenal!! The 2 C of water worked for me - I tried 1&1/2 C and the rice burnt at the bottom of the pan. Also, my rice seemed to be done cooking closer to 10 minutes. I tried what Tiffany suggested with the the limes and it was perfect!! It was the only thing on the table that was completely devoured!! This recipe is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Copycat Lime Rice Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.1
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    14%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 295.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes