Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Chicken Skewers With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Chicken Skewers With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so skeptical at first even with all fo the great reviews. This is going in my regular recipe binder and on rotation. I attempted to broil, only to remember I forgot to soak the bamboo skewers, so I took them off and simply placed them in the oven on 425 for about 15 mins- it was great. I know it would be extra special grilled or broiled, but I made a boo-boo. Next time I am going to back off a little on the lime juice. I used fresh garlic where it says garlic powder. I am also thinking of using yogurt the next time instead of mayo or even sour cream possibly. There is no need for the mayo. I will eliminate it totally. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      We loved this! I used it for OAMC - just cut up the chicken and tossed all ingredients in to coat (not the dipping sauce). I thawed it in the fridge and cooked it all together on the stove for chicken tacos - will use for OAMC again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This recipe is really good. I served it with cilantro lime rice Cilantro Lime Rice. To that rice I added a little bit more cilantro and it really does go well with this chicken dish. For the chicken, I followed the directions other than I did add alot more chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, more like 5 chiles because we like it more on the spicy side. I chopped them up(which adds more heat). I also added more than 2 teaspoons of adobo sauce, I actually added more like 3 or even 4 teaspoons of the adobo sauce from the can. I did that because the sauce/marinade for the chicken was not enough to cover or marinate the 2 lbs of chicken it called for. I made sure that all the chicken was coated in the sauce and I also spread it on the chicken when it was cooking. The leftover chilis and adobe sauce I froze in a small baggie for next time. The sauce I followed to the directions, I let it sit out of the refrigerator for about 3 hours. After tasting it I did add more lime juice, more salt and about 1/4 tsp. of cayenne. Try it with the rice. It is a restaurant worthy meal..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This is absolutely fabulous! It has a sweet, spicy, smoky thing going that is soooo yummy! And the dipping sauce adds a cool twist. I broiled mine, but cooking them on the grill would beat having to clean the broiler pan. I will be making these again soon! I might double the marinade recipe. I only used two chicken breast halves, but didn't feel like I had any too much of the marinade. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      AWESOME! Every once in a while, a recipe comes along that just makes you say, WOW! This was one of those for me. DH and I both agreed this was an easy five stars. Easy to make, spicy without overpowering flavor, healthy and you can even make the day before! Leftovers were just as tasty as the first night. I chose not to use skewers since this wasn't for company and I'll will likely do it that way again since it eliminated that cumbersome step. I also plan to try the sauce using plain yogurt in place of the sour cream to make it a bit healthier. This was served with another keeper - Corn Muffins in Poblano Cups; the two combined made for an exceptional meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Shockingly good, indeed! But I was also unhappy with this recipe. I made this for a dinner party with my in-laws, 7 people total around the table. I was meticulous in following the recipe. I weighed the boneless chicken breasts on an accurate kitchen scale, for a total of 2 pounds, and therein lay a dilemma. The recipe states that it "serves 10." I was counting on that yield, but I also knew upon looking at 2 lbs. of chicken breast on the scale that there was no way it would serve 10 people. Furthermore, it states that I should have had 30 skewers of chicken. Honestly, how is that possible? Step 1 (slicing the chicken) was maddeningly vague - across the grain? I ended up deciding to use nearly 3 lbs. of boneless chicken breasts, and I cut them into neat 1/2" width strips; I came up with 21 skewers MAX. There was enough at the table, but just barely. No way would this amount serve 10 people! I was careful to only take 1 skewer myself so that the rest of the table would have enough, so I got just a tad. That was way disappointing! No hostess needs to worry about the amount of food at her table, especially when the recipe has said it would serve 10 people. As far as the dipping sauce goes, I took the advice of most reviewers and cut the lime juice to 2 T. It was very delicious made thus, but there was too much... the chicken long gone. I saved the sauce to use on rice or something (?) later in the week. Overall, an impressive dinner party dish but misleading and vague in instructions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Delicious! The spicy chicken went so well with the creamy, cooling sauce. I used bottled lime juice and found it to add just the right amount of lime flavor for us. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      LOVE the flavor of the chicken! The sweet and spicy combo was great and I love any recipe that calls for chipotles in adobo. What a great flavor. Chicken would be great in a taco or chopped up for nachos. Sauce was great and added a nice coolness to balance the spice! This recipes combines many of our favorite flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Big hit at my GNO get together. Marinated chicken for 48 hours and ended up very flavorful. I felt that the Cilantro Dipping Sauce was a touch too limey. I may experiment with reducing the lime juice next time. Otherwise loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was VERY good. I grilled the skewers instead of broiling and they tasted great! Thanks so much for the delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Made it as a full meal and the family loved it. I used hot chili powder, next time I think I will tone down the heat. Loved the sweet, spice and smoky combo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      One word...AMAZING. My whole family loves it. I usually make a extra sauce by adding some olive oil to the mix so I can baste as I grill them. It does make it spicier so don't do everyones like that. I also think they taste much better grilled rather than broiled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I've made this several times and love it! The dipping sauce is our favorite and we've found other uses for it since it's so great. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Love this recipe! Made it for an appetizer on one day, it was so good I maridated more for a full meal. Used leftover chicken and leftover dipping sauce in a tortilla for a wrap! Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. I love that I usually have all of these ingredients on hand. Delicious and nutricious! This definitely goes in our monthly rotation. Plus, I can prep a day ahead and throw these on the grill when I don't have time. We grilled up some veggies and put the dipping sauce on them as well. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Oops, forgot to review this one! Ioved this. It has all the flavors I love and it's low in fat! I made 2 changes - I used all low fat sour cream, no mayo - and I threaded on skewers and grilled them. Will definitely be making this one again, thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Holy Moly is this good!!! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      delicious! i absolutely loved it. though i do agree that the lime in the dipping sauce was a bit overpowering, so next time i'll put less than 1/4 cup. thanks for sharing such a delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      These were great! The chicken had a very nice flavor and the sauce went great with it. The only thing that I changed was to cut the lime juice in half...it just made it a little runnier and was too strong of a lime taste for me with all the lime juice. Half the amount was just perfect! We put these in our rotisserie instead of the broiler. And these would be great grilled! Cant wait to grill them when it starts to warm up. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      This was an awesome recipe!!! Flavors,colours and textures were amazing. You have heat meets sweet w/in the chicken marinade and then a refreshing touch found w/in the dipping sauce. I was unable to grill the chicken outdoors, so I threw the chicken bite sizes into the oven at 475 for 10 mins. The dipping sauce definitely needs some time to sit. I left it for an hour since it had sour cream and mayo, so all the flavors could mix and play nice :) Thank you Melissa for a simple, colourful and tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Chicken Skewers With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.1
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    34%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 67.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 631.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes