32 Reviews

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so skeptical at first even with all fo the great reviews. This is going in my regular recipe binder and on rotation. I attempted to broil, only to remember I forgot to soak the bamboo skewers, so I took them off and simply placed them in the oven on 425 for about 15 mins- it was great. I know it would be extra special grilled or broiled, but I made a boo-boo. Next time I am going to back off a little on the lime juice. I used fresh garlic where it says garlic powder. I am also thinking of using yogurt the next time instead of mayo or even sour cream possibly. There is no need for the mayo. I will eliminate it totally. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alaskajamaica January 27, 2009

We loved this! I used it for OAMC - just cut up the chicken and tossed all ingredients in to coat (not the dipping sauce). I thawed it in the fridge and cooked it all together on the stove for chicken tacos - will use for OAMC again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CharityAnn August 27, 2009

This recipe is really good. I served it with cilantro lime rice Cilantro Lime Rice. To that rice I added a little bit more cilantro and it really does go well with this chicken dish. For the chicken, I followed the directions other than I did add alot more chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, more like 5 chiles because we like it more on the spicy side. I chopped them up(which adds more heat). I also added more than 2 teaspoons of adobo sauce, I actually added more like 3 or even 4 teaspoons of the adobo sauce from the can. I did that because the sauce/marinade for the chicken was not enough to cover or marinate the 2 lbs of chicken it called for. I made sure that all the chicken was coated in the sauce and I also spread it on the chicken when it was cooking. The leftover chilis and adobe sauce I froze in a small baggie for next time. The sauce I followed to the directions, I let it sit out of the refrigerator for about 3 hours. After tasting it I did add more lime juice, more salt and about 1/4 tsp. of cayenne. Try it with the rice. It is a restaurant worthy meal..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover April 17, 2009

This is absolutely fabulous! It has a sweet, spicy, smoky thing going that is soooo yummy! And the dipping sauce adds a cool twist. I broiled mine, but cooking them on the grill would beat having to clean the broiler pan. I will be making these again soon! I might double the marinade recipe. I only used two chicken breast halves, but didn't feel like I had any too much of the marinade. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 05, 2009

AWESOME! Every once in a while, a recipe comes along that just makes you say, WOW! This was one of those for me. DH and I both agreed this was an easy five stars. Easy to make, spicy without overpowering flavor, healthy and you can even make the day before! Leftovers were just as tasty as the first night. I chose not to use skewers since this wasn't for company and I'll will likely do it that way again since it eliminated that cumbersome step. I also plan to try the sauce using plain yogurt in place of the sour cream to make it a bit healthier. This was served with another keeper - Corn Muffins in Poblano Cups; the two combined made for an exceptional meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 September 29, 2008

Shockingly good, indeed! But I was also unhappy with this recipe. I made this for a dinner party with my in-laws, 7 people total around the table. I was meticulous in following the recipe. I weighed the boneless chicken breasts on an accurate kitchen scale, for a total of 2 pounds, and therein lay a dilemma. The recipe states that it "serves 10." I was counting on that yield, but I also knew upon looking at 2 lbs. of chicken breast on the scale that there was no way it would serve 10 people. Furthermore, it states that I should have had 30 skewers of chicken. Honestly, how is that possible? Step 1 (slicing the chicken) was maddeningly vague - across the grain? I ended up deciding to use nearly 3 lbs. of boneless chicken breasts, and I cut them into neat 1/2" width strips; I came up with 21 skewers MAX. There was enough at the table, but just barely. No way would this amount serve 10 people! I was careful to only take 1 skewer myself so that the rest of the table would have enough, so I got just a tad. That was way disappointing! No hostess needs to worry about the amount of food at her table, especially when the recipe has said it would serve 10 people. As far as the dipping sauce goes, I took the advice of most reviewers and cut the lime juice to 2 T. It was very delicious made thus, but there was too much... the chicken long gone. I saved the sauce to use on rice or something (?) later in the week. Overall, an impressive dinner party dish but misleading and vague in instructions!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr March 10, 2010

Delicious! The spicy chicken went so well with the creamy, cooling sauce. I used bottled lime juice and found it to add just the right amount of lime flavor for us. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 09, 2010

LOVE the flavor of the chicken! The sweet and spicy combo was great and I love any recipe that calls for chipotles in adobo. What a great flavor. Chicken would be great in a taco or chopped up for nachos. Sauce was great and added a nice coolness to balance the spice! This recipes combines many of our favorite flavors.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiKi77 January 29, 2010

Big hit at my GNO get together. Marinated chicken for 48 hours and ended up very flavorful. I felt that the Cilantro Dipping Sauce was a touch too limey. I may experiment with reducing the lime juice next time. Otherwise loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowpack December 16, 2009

This was VERY good. I grilled the skewers instead of broiling and they tasted great! Thanks so much for the delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifertess August 29, 2009
Chipotle Chicken Skewers With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce