Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Chicken Salad Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Chicken Salad Tacos

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2011

      We had this for dinner tonight and it was delish! Wonderful flavors. Thank you for sharing, my family and I enjoyed it very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I've made these a good many times. Talk about yummy! I use the leftover's from the Roast "Sticky" Chicken found on this site (can't seem to locate the recipe number), which adds a fabulous flavor to the chicken. I also grate the carrots rather than cut them into small pieces (at the request of my denture-wearing neighbor pal who eats here often). Truly great tacos! So glad to have bumped into this recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      great with fresh green or purple cabbage too. I also added lime juice to spike it up a bit and 2 more chipotles ... yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      My friend requested we leave the carrots out in this, so I was worried it might turn out tasting odd, but my dad said this was the best chicken salad he'd ever had! I don't eat chicken salad often, but this is good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Oh. My. Gosh. This was so delicious! I don't write a lot of reviews, but I felt compelled to tell everyone to try this recipe! It was a bit labor intensive for me - all the shredding, slicing and chopping. I think next time I'll use my mandolin to help out instead of slicing and chopping with a knife. I bought a rotisserie chicken and pulled the meat off and shredded it so that took some time, but boy did it make the salad tasty! We skipped the tortillas and ate this as an entree salad. Every bite is a mouthful of burstful flavor! I can't wait to have my leftovers! Good thing is - the longer it sits, the better it tastes! Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Fantastic, different tacos. I would have never thought to have used napa cabbage and carrots, but it definitely worked. I roasted a whole bone in/skin on breast the night before which made this really quick to put together. I realized too late that I only had a few drops of balsamic vinegar left so I used red wine vinegar and 1/4 c of olive oil. I also had to use parmesan coarsely grated bc lack of Mexican cheeses in my market. I will definitely be making these again and I hope to make my own tortillas to showcase the full fresh flavor on these. DH loved these and loved the fresh taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Colorfully gorgeous, healthy and perfectly delicious. Didn't and won't change a thing. Well, I guess we did have some mango salsa on hand and it added to the specialness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      SOOOO GOOD!!!!! I actually changed it a bit though, to our tastes and what we liked. I didn't use the carrot, cabbage or avocado (my husband doesn't like avocado). I cooked some chicken in the microwave, shredded it by using two forks. With the chicken I mixed balsamic vinegar, ONE chipotle chili, olive oil, salt, red onion, fresh cilantro and I added lemon juice and diced tomatoes. I let it marinate for about two hours. Then I heated up a pan, threw the mixture in and heated it up. We used soft flour tortilla and I also tried it like a lettuce wrap. We added some cheese and sour cream on top and it was excellent!!! AWESOME TACOS!!!! Our new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I made exactly per the instructions--very tasty but I think next time I'll use red wine vinegar and another chile. Thanks for something different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Definitely OUTSTANDING! I did a few things different but got an amazing outcome, nonetheless. I browned and drained 1 lb of ground turkey and let it cool slightly before mixing in the dressing and vegetables. Also, I probably at least doubled the dressing (with a bit less oil) because I had way more than 1 1/2 cups of meat. And I grated the carrot instead of dicing it. I forgot to get some hard cheese as suggested, so I just served it with some sharp cheddar. Ok, whew, now that I've listed all my changes, let me tell you how yummy they were! At first I was afraid that they were a little spicy (Oh! I used about 2 chipotles + about 1 Tblsp of the adobo sauce) but when combined with the veggies and nestled into a warm corn tortilla with the avocado....oh, they were yummy smoky heaven. My DH and FIL said they were definitely 5 stars and that they should be on my mythical restaurant menu. I won't even tell you how many I actually ate, but suffice it to say, I COULDN'T STOP EATING THEM. Ok, I eventually did, but I ate way more than usual! Needless to say, I will be making these again and again. What a delicious change from the usual boring taco dinner! Thanks Kirsten for a really delicious dinner. Updated 8/26/07: The 2nd time I made these I added in a couple Tblsp of tomato paste with the vinegar, oil & chipotles and that just rounded out the flavor and took it to a whole new level. (I doubled the other ingredients, except for the chipotles.) What was an incredible recipe to begin with is now akin to gastronomic nirvana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I made this for a girls night in and TOTALLY screwed it up! I misunderstood the directions and used TWO CANS of chipotle chiles (including the seeds) instead of two chiles. OH MY GOSH, they were so hot we could hardly eat them, but we loaded up on the marguritas and managed to eat them anyway. Well, I got many phone calls the next day with annoyed friends who were having...lets just say: stomache issues. Never one to give up I made them again tonight using the correct ingredients and they were AMAZING.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      WOW! DH and I loved this dish. I used a bit less olive oil because I ran out, but it didn't seem to make a difference. *However* this recipe is a masterpiece and I would not omit or substitute a single ingredient!! Even if y'all think you don't like napa cabbage or carrots in a taco, give it a shot. It's crazy how good this is. THANK YOU, KRISTIN! UPDATE: We made it a second time with the correct amount of olive oil and both decided that it was too much! Next time I will cut the amount by half and I think that will be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      The other reviewers are dead on with this recipe. It is one scrumptious taco recipe. It has a variety of flavors, yet is not too hard to make. There is some chopping, but if you use a food processor it goes by quickly. Also, I used the crockpot chicken taco meat from Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat. I am really glad I found this recipe and intend on making it again. Kristin, thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This has become a weekly meal in my house! My hubby and I find ourselves craving these tacos every Friday night! Very easy to make and totally satisfies my mexican food addiction. Defiantly one of the BEST recipes on Zarr. Thank you Kirstin a thousand times for posting this YUMMY dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Excellent taco's and a great use for left over chicken. We added hot sauce for additional heat but everything else as written. I especially enjoyed the cabbage. It provided wonderful texture. This is a recipe I would serve to others and know it would be received with joy! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      This recipe was fantastic; all the ingredients really complemented each other. I used a rotisserie chicken, store bought shredded carrots and Queso Seco (this cheese is a little salty, so I did not add salt to the dressing). I am going on a girl's weekend and I'm bringing this dish to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Very very good. DH loved them. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      YUM! Was this ever good stuff! The flavors and textures blended perfectly with the chipotle and avocado; then the crunch of the cabbage and onion. I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery, which made the recipe even easier and faster. The grocery had only one wilted Napa cabbage the size of a hamster, so I substituted a package of pre-shredded angel hair cabbage for cole slaw. I chose Manchego cheese, which worked perfectly. This recipe will definitely go in my favorites folder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Yum! The entire family inhaled these tacos and my husband could not stop talking about them. The filling, sprinkled with avocado pieces and cheese, could esily stand alone as a salad for a BBQ or potluck. I have to agree with FLYing4Me, you never lead me astray! Great recipe; keep them coming!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Mean Chef, you did not lead me astray! These were fabulous! The only thing I did different was I cut up the raw chicken first and sauteed in a frying pan. Can't wait to try it with grilled chicken! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Chicken Salad Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.7
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    55%
    Total Fat 32.4 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 39.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 91.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    napa cabbage

    queso anejo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes