11 Reviews

My sauce turned out well, but as written, I would think this would be too sweet. I did not de-seed the chipotles and I left out the ketchup. I also added some granulated garlic. Since I was making these to bottle and give to friends, I used dried onion and made in the crock pot. I quadrupled the recipe, and this made enough to fill 2 old jelly jars and 1 old chili sauce bottle. Thanks for a good base recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation December 11, 2008

Great sauce! I forgot to de-seed the chipoltes so it had alot of heat. We used it as a dipping sauce for a roast chicken and it was very enjoyable. Will bbq a boneless pork with it next. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koriander June 13, 2008

What a delicious sauce!! I made up quite a bit of this to give as gifts and wasn't sure what to expect, but it's so good!! Once the chopping is done, it cooks up quickly! I look forward to grilling with it instead of just nabbing tastes!! A really fun sauce!! Thanks, Sharon, I'm so glad I decided to try it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami January 17, 2008

This was delicious. I made this for recipe 153163(Monterey BBQ Chicken Bake)this weekend for a dinner party. I had 2 diabetic folks, so I used low sugar preserves and reduced sugar ketsup. I can't wait to try it on some bbq chicken on the grill...Thanks for a great bbq sauce. I will get a lot of use out of this one..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG October 01, 2007

I only had about 1/2 cup of the cherry preserves for this recipe so I used 1/4 cup apricot for the rest and this worked out great, I could eat this sauce with a spoon, it is *so* good, thank you for sharing this great recipe hon!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 10, 2007

Wow, Sharon, this is good stuff! This is one of those that I wish I could give more than 5 stars. It was a perfect blend of sweet, savory, and hot, with that wonderful chipotle smokiness. I used this for dinner tonight on some broiled chicken, but next time, I want to use it in one of those crockpot shredded barbecue chicken recipes--makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Thanks for a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC November 08, 2006

This is one great sauce! I used the 1/4 cup of chipotles, homemade cherry preserves and sub the butter with olive oil. I put it on chicken but I can see and taste this on EVERYthing!! Thank you Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP July 12, 2006

I have lots of homemade blueberry jam on hand so that's what I used. I don't think the fruit flavor matters a whole lot because the chipotle, ketchup and vinegar rather overwhelms it. I used olive oil rather than butter. The sauce was great with pulled pork sandwiches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea March 07, 2006

With this Sharon has officially become this chile head's recipe goddess. Several years ago on a trip to Albuquerque I bought some raspberry chipoltle BBQ sauce which I just looved. So much so I began hoarding it as the end of the sauce neared. This has a little more of a glazed look, but captures the same sweet-spicy-tangy combination that makes my tastebuds zing. This is great as a sauce for meats but is also a great condiment for roasted potatoes or baked fries. I've also served it as a dipping sauce with chicken tidbits. You can also make a nice appetizer by spreading a layer of the sauce over some cream cheese and serving it with crackers. Can't wait to try this raspberry preserves or peach preserves. Should mention that I replaced the butter with 2 teaspoons of olive oil and a tablespoon of vegetable broth. All broth would have worked just as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni February 20, 2006

Another reviewer (JustCallMeToni) pointed out the glazy-ness of this sauce. If this was in reference to it being a bit thinner than the bottled version tried before, you could instead substitute this recipe's call for ketchup with tomato paste, simple sugar syrup (or corn syrup) & seasonings usually found in Ketchup - So, you would be adding all the ingredients to make ketchup except for the water. This would thicken it up but keep all the flavor of the original recipe. Making Ketchup is really easy & fast, so it wouldn't take much at all to add this step.<br/>Hope this helps! =>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hismusicnme June 29, 2013
Chipotle Cherry Barbecue Sauce