Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chipotle Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chipotle Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2014

      Chipotle gets my money like a dope man! 3 times a week adds up so finding a SERIOUS replacement was crucial. I'm a barbacoa girl, the carnitas was for my sweetie. I had to tweek this a little because he doesn't like spicy food. I had no experience with chipotle peppers but a drop of the sauce set my mouth on fire! I rinsed them off and only put in 1 1/2. In the preparation instructions it didn't specifically mention the adobo sauce so I didn't put it in and I'm glad I didn't. He said it had a little bit of a kick and that would've been too much. He loved it, kept talking about it, said it was more than an adequate substitute. Instead of cumin seeds I used 1/2 tsp ground cumin. Instead of 2 whole cloves I used about 2 shakes of ground, cloves are potent and instead of whole garlic cloves I used 1 tsp. minced. Everything else was to the letter and it was great. For anyone who has doubts just try it. If you spend money at Chipotles every month like you do on your cable bill this will be a real welcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I made this a little while ago and am about to make it again. I used canned chipotle pepers in adobo sauce. The can comes with about 6 peppers. I used 3-4 and it added a little kick. Cooked in the slow cooker on LOW for 8-9 hours. Was absolutely delicious. Of course it's not just like Chipotle but when added with cilantro lime rice, white cheddar, pico de gallo, and sour cream, this was BETTER than any Chipotle I've eaten and it felt even better to eat because I made it myself. I removed a lot of fat from the roast before I made it and I regret doing that. I think this time I'll leave all the fat and try to remove it after cooking. <br/><br/>Overall, I love this recipe and will make it often. Something easy that you can prepair in about 15 min and let it sit while you are at work. Come home for dinner, rip it apart and finish up. I made about 8 large burritos with this recipe (ate 6 myself over a few days).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      Fantastic!! Very flavorful and tender. Rave reviews!!! Set oven to 325. Baked in Dutch oven for 2 1/2 hrs. perfection!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Not impressed. I followed the recipe, and it does not taste like Chipotle. The flavor is only so-so, but I have to agree that the pork was super tender. I cooked it over night at 225 so that it would be ready for a lunch time party. I will try other recipes for carnitas in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      I cooked this today. It was great! I did the early steps in a wok-style skillet, then did the time consuming part in a crock pot. I was out of bay leaves, but the recipe tasted great anyway. My 9 year old child loved it too. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Definitely had my kitchen smelling yummy. I did not put the diced tomatoes in which I think might have been a mistake. Instead I put a mexican tomato base in that I found at Walmart. Also used a small can of the chipotles in adobo sauce which I cut up finely. I put mine in the oven. Overall, I think it turned out well. To really make it taste like chipotle's, make and add the mild salsa to it and crisp chopped lettuce. The cheese they use is a white cheddar. Next time, I would cut back on the spicy part of this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      It's funny how ALL the recipes on the web for Chipotle's Carnitas only use 1 ingredient that's listed as the ingredients on Chipotles web site. Bay leaves are usually in there, but Juniper Berries and Thyme are never listed. I found a recipe years ago Ive been using and it is identical to the Chipotle taste. Just 5 ingredients total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      I'll be trying this recipe this weekend, but in the meanwhile I wanted to point out that this recipe calls for braising, which is defined as a slow cooking process, primarily in fat, in a CLOSED pot or Dutch oven. (The recipe doesn't specifically state that a lid is required - although I figgered it out since it's also a slow-cooker recipe. I'm smrt like that.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Great recipe! This was our first time trying to make a carnitas recipe and everything went smoothly. The kitchen smelled delicious all day, we made amazing copycat Chipotle burritos, and now we have plenty of leftovers to do it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I made tried this recipe this weekend and it was fantastic! Even my usually stoic husband and my picky daughter were raving about this meat. We used it to make burritos! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chipotle Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.9
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    67%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 96.6 mg
    32%
    Sodium 92.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 23.9 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh oregano

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites