15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fantastic! The kids loved it. I used ground turkey and one chipotle (threw the chile, salsa, and turkey into food processor to blend). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingalong May 14, 2009

Fantastic Burgers, packed with flavors and very easy to prepare. As with the other reviewers, I was worried that the patties would fall apart during cooking due to the salsa, but that didn't happen. The burgers cooked marvelously. Served it with a side of fries topped with cheese and a spicy mayo dip. Will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omar H. September 21, 2008

These burgers were fabulous! They were very moist and tasty. I really thought they would fall apart on the grill, but they stayed together wonderfully. I am on a chipotle kick recently and loved these. I didn't grill the onion like in the instructions, I served topped with onions I had sliced and put in a pouch with some chipotle butter I had made with a dash of worchestershire sauce added. I did topped with the monterey jack cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 June 30, 2008

Wonderful burgers, Rita! I had 1-1/2 lbs of meat and I just used 1 chile and then upped the salsa some for the meat. I put Cheddar on the burgers instead of Monterey Jack, but that was the only change. Great for Cinco de Mayo! :D THanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady May 05, 2008

My friends and I made these burgers for a small dinner party and everyone loved them! We didn't even cook them on the grill (due to a bad heating element) but they were great in the oven as well! The grilled onions, chipotle and the kaiser roll all just go perfectly together for a great flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitneyharold November 18, 2007

Very simple to make. Thank you! Prepared exactly as posted. One pound made 4 thin pattys. 1/2 inch pattys would not have been very big around. Next time I'll either get 1.5 pounds or make only 3 pattys. Also, I like 'em HOT so I'll probably use 4-5 chipotles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wisslbritches September 14, 2007

These burgers are incredibly delicious and flavorful. I've been searching for recipes to use up some chipotle peppers and I'm so glad that I found your burger recipe. The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of ground beef. The grilled onions on top were a great addition. I served these with Chipotle Dip and tortilla chips. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 05, 2007

Ever since Rita sent me chipotles, I have been cooking with them nearly every day! We had this burger for lunch - with some of her orange & chipotle dip on the side, to go with salad and crackers!! I only made two burgers - and I halved all the ingredients.....a SUPER SMOKY burger and lunch-time snack!! Thanks Rita! Sassy Kas! P.S. I used Emmenthal cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart June 28, 2007

DH ate this for dinner last night!! With a MOUTH full he held up both hands indicating 10 stars (he'll never get it right :)) I used a new chipotle cheddar cheese we found at the market this week. I am anxious, to try these with ground poultry as Toni suggested!! Thank you Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP July 12, 2006
Chipotle Burger Topped With Grilled Onions and Cheese