12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent! i omitted the ham as i was serving with sesame chicken. i used 4 c rice, a whole onion and a whole small red pepper. i also added 1/8 c more soy later and increased the chili sauce to almost a tablespoon. this is very good. the next time i made i cut back on the oil to 1/2 tablespoon to start and 1 1/2 tablespoons to coook the onions, and it was much better. reheats well. great recipe. thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deborah1 June 10, 2002

This recipe looks good and I will definitely try it. I was looking for an "unusual" spice or something that makes restaurant-style Chinese fried rice taste very different than home cooked. Any idea what creates that flavor? I've tried different cooking sauces and oyster sauce and it still misses that distinct "fried rice" flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gita June 12, 2002

I have a recipe I use that is very close to this one, except for the chili-garlic sauce. Found it at my local grocery store, so tried the recipe and both hubby and I enjoyed it. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Souchef August 12, 2002

Yum! The secret is definitely refrigerating the rice the night before so it doesn't stick together. This dish was so tasty. Not quite the same as takeout, but close. I wish I had doubled the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Joy August 31, 2009

This wasn't good at all. The concept and ingredients used were good, but the finished product was so disgusting. My husband and I think it was too much rice or something, 'cause to incorporate/coat all the rice, it just kept getting pastier and clumpier. Normally, my husband can choke down stuff he doesn't like too well, but tonight, instead of Chinese, we ordered pizza instead. E for effort I guess, but otherwise, never again. I'm in search once again for an outstanding, take-out quality fried rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
siegeliz December 28, 2007

This is the best recipe for fried rice I have ever made! (Sometimes I "cheat" and substitute a small order of boneless spare ribs for the ham) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl December 18, 2007

This was delicious. The only changes I made were to use sesame oil, leave out the red pepper, used a yellow onion, no peas, and I didn't have chili garlic sauce. But even with these changes it was terrific!! I also added a shredded carrot for some more veggies!! Served it with the Sticken Chicken recipe on here. What a great meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 01, 2007

I just made this recipe and it came out really good, very tasty but not like chinese take out rice. I added bean sprouts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marie92313 September 03, 2007

This was very good. I did cut back on the oil to 1 tsp and used egg substitute with good success. To compensate I added 1 tsp of toasted sesame oil, for flavor, and stirred it in with the egg. This recipe was even better the second day. Thank you Secret for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ November 07, 2005

I cut the oil by 1 Tbs. & used some chili-garlic paste I had on hand (don't know whether this is the same as chili-garlic SAUCE)--it worked fine. I also scrambled the eggs as they cooked. Very good, very easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo July 14, 2005
Chinese Take-out Fried Rice