Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      This went great with the chicken bites I made tonight! Just the right sweet with sour. My daughter loves s&s sauce, so we will be making this often! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Although I am used to and love the restaurant-style/pineapple type of sweet sauce, this has made a convert of me! Made this to go with homemade fried rice and chow mein, and it is spectacular! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Good consistency, color and balance of sweet and sour. Vinegar flavor comes through too strongly, however. May try lemon juice instead of red wine vinegar next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I used this for the sweet and sour pork dish I made and it was quite nice! I battered the pork pieces with Aroostook's "Batter for Sweet and Sour Shrimp" Batter for Sweet and Sour Shrimp, then fried those, then stir-fried them with green peppers, onions, and carrots and the sweet and sour sauce to finish the dish. I will definitely make this again, perhaps with other sweet and sour dishes, and even as a dipping sauce for dim sum. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      This is quite good and very easy to prepare. Made sweet and sour chicken with it and thoroughly enjoyed it. My DD thought it was a little too strong with the orange flavor, so next time we will try it with pineapple juice to see how that turns out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      I made this as the recipe read for dinner tonight with chicken balls and rice. It was very good. My kidlets loved it! Thanks very much Beachgirl!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Made this sauce with a sweet and sour pork dinner... Definitely tasty, if a little heavy on the vinegar taste... Added a little more orange juice and sugar to make it sweeter. Will make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      This was my first venture in trying sweet and sour sauce recipes, and I enjoyed it with some shrimp gyoza today for lunch. Nice blend, and the orange flavor is a tasty standout.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      DD made this for us tonight as we were out. We liked this with our eggrolls. I did sub pineapple juice for the o.j. since I had some in the fridge. I will make this again to get us out of a pinch. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      This recipe was more sour than sweet, with way to much vinegar taste. I even tried it using the suggestions listed in other reviews and still could not overcome the vinegar taste. Sorry, this is not a rcipe I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      it was really good but i would say that it needed lemon juice instead of red-wine vinegar, pineapple juice instead of oj and corn syrup. Vinegar taste was definitely too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    26%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 359.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 27.1 g
    108%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes