Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese-Style Sticky Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese-Style Sticky Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2012

      This was easier than I thought it would be and is now my go-to method for cooking rice. The only thing I did differently was to let the rice soak up the extra water for 30 minutes or so after rinsing and before cooking. (Not soaking in water, just the water left clinging to the rice.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      No stars applied at this time, as I used parboiled long-grain rice after discovering that I did not have regular long-grain rice on hand as I had thought. As a result, my rice cooked up nicely, but it was not sticky at all. That is not the fault of the recipe; so it would be unfair to assign stars at this time. I plan to try again once we eat the rice from this batch; at that time I will assign stars. For now, don't try this with Uncle Ben's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Very good sticky rice! I like white rice this way if I do not cook it with chicken stock or add orzo; just plain rice nicely salted. Will use this recipe often. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Thanks! I used this to make california rolls. and it all held together perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I was really impressed with this rice! I used Thai Jasmine rice, and it came out just like the stuff I get when eating out. I was a little worried that it might seem too bland to me because I usually make Mexican rice at home, but it was surprisingly good even by itself. Super-simple to make, too. I served this with some Tilapia with Thai sauce, and then I used the leftover rice in some spicy Asian chicken wraps (sticky rice, bok choy, carrots and chicken breast chunks in chili garlic sauce, all wrapped in a whole grain tortilla, kinda like something you can get at Fresh City). Thanks for posting this great basic recipe! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Yum! Really nice sticky rice. I served this with Japanese Grilled Tuna and the sauce from that was very nice on the rice too. Easy and good. Thanks Chef PotPie for a winner. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Sticky Rice 101 . . . PERFECT. Only thing different is I added a little grated ginger. Made for ZWT #6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Yep! Worked like a charm! I had plain and then with Nuoc Cham and it was great both ways. Thanks! Made by a fellow Looney Spoon for Zaar World Tour#6! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Excellent sticky rice, which is one of my favorites. The method worked great. Served this with Spicy Thai-Style Chicken and it was perfect. Thanks Made for ZWT #6 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      simple and great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      The rice came out perfect. I can't believe it was so easy to make. I gave up washing the rice about the 5th time around and it still turned out good. I certainly will be using this recipe whenever I need sticky rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Perfection! I loved the ease of this recipe and that there wasn't any butter or oil used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Wow! This is the first time I have ever been able to make sticky rice! It took me about 10 minutes to rinse 1 cup of rice (I halved the recipe as I was only serving 2 people). Directions were very easy to follow, and the results were great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      OH yes ma leetle Potty Pie! This is IT! This is rice I can make OUT of my rice cooker - with ease! Great recipe - so simple and it ACTUALLY WORKS! I made this to go with a curry - an Asian style curry - it was just brilliant. I love recipes like this, a real classic and simple rice - a keeper for me! Made for ZWT 4 - and my teammate! Thanks! Edited to add: I DO have photos, but my camera is packed for my trip back to England in 24 hours - so I will post them later! FT :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      It was sticky! I could pick it up with chopsticks! Yay! Thank you for a recipe I'll use time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Perfect sticky rice! I don't know if the trick is in the rinsing, or in the uncovered method until the water falls below the rice level, or what. I don't care, because it works! I have always been able to make American-style fluffy rice, but never really was able to pull off sticky rice. Well, ChefPotPie, you've helped me chaange that. Thank you! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This is ABSOLUTELY IT! I used Jasmine rice, and thought I'd be rinsing FOREVER...but it was worth it because it worked perfectly! Our Chinese buffet holds their rice in a crock pot, so I did the rice first and put it in a small slow cooker on low. It held BEAUTIFULLY! And it was a TON of rice too! The 4 of us had it with orange chicken, and almost 1/2 of it is still left...so I'm going to try using it in a casserole later in the week! Thanks for posting a FOOLPROOF recipe with no butter or oil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese-Style Sticky Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    62%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 300.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites