20 Reviews

I was looking for a recipe for Chinese sticky rice. Yes, this is Chinese-style, and it will stick together a bit so you can pick it up with chopsticks. But Chinese people wouldn't call this sticky rice, they would just call it rice. What they call "Sticky Rice" is a savoury concoction of many ingredients including sausage and Chinese mushrooms and made with glutinous rice (which is really, really sticky!) and looks like the first photo that shows up for this recipe (which is clearly NOT the item produced by this recipe.) Happy rice-making, y'all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori H. December 25, 2014

The title should read "Plain white rice." Sticky rice is something much different, made with sweet rice with fried shallot, meat and seasoning. The picture shown looks like sticky rice, but the recipe is that of plain white rice. Very deceiving, I wonderful why only one person picked it up. Please change the title.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frugalyvonne September 17, 2015

This is NOT a recipe for Chinese Sticky Rice. For starters, Chinese Sticky Rice requires using a Short Sweet Glutinous Grained Rice NOT a long grained rice. This recipe tells how to make good old white rice. Anyone attempting to achieve the consistency of Sticky Rice, using these ingredients and this method, will be disappointed. The chemistry is just not there. Recipe needs to be deleted or the title needs to be changed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My D. April 06, 2016

This was easier than I thought it would be and is now my go-to method for cooking rice. The only thing I did differently was to let the rice soak up the extra water for 30 minutes or so after rinsing and before cooking. (Not soaking in water, just the water left clinging to the rice.).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta July 11, 2012

No stars applied at this time, as I used parboiled long-grain rice after discovering that I did not have regular long-grain rice on hand as I had thought. As a result, my rice cooked up nicely, but it was not sticky at all. That is not the fault of the recipe; so it would be unfair to assign stars at this time. I plan to try again once we eat the rice from this batch; at that time I will assign stars. For now, don't try this with Uncle Ben's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 30, 2011

Very good sticky rice! I like white rice this way if I do not cook it with chicken stock or add orzo; just plain rice nicely salted. Will use this recipe often. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH July 27, 2011

Thanks! I used this to make california rolls. and it all held together perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
montbriand June 08, 2010

I was really impressed with this rice! I used Thai Jasmine rice, and it came out just like the stuff I get when eating out. I was a little worried that it might seem too bland to me because I usually make Mexican rice at home, but it was surprisingly good even by itself. Super-simple to make, too. I served this with some Tilapia with Thai sauce, and then I used the leftover rice in some spicy Asian chicken wraps (sticky rice, bok choy, carrots and chicken breast chunks in chili garlic sauce, all wrapped in a whole grain tortilla, kinda like something you can get at Fresh City). Thanks for posting this great basic recipe! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess May 28, 2010

Yum! Really nice sticky rice. I served this with Japanese Grilled Tuna and the sauce from that was very nice on the rice too. Easy and good. Thanks Chef PotPie for a winner. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme May 27, 2010

Sticky Rice 101 . . . PERFECT. Only thing different is I added a little grated ginger. Made for ZWT #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench May 22, 2010
Chinese-Style Sticky Rice