Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Style Egg Custard Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Style Egg Custard Tarts

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2013

      I have made Chinese egg custard tarts before using a recipe from a Chinese cookbook but decided to try this recipe. Like other reviewers I ended up with much, too much filling. I also raised the temp to 375. I used the left over filling as a base custard for an improvised bread pudding. I was disappointed with the waste of ingredients and time. Especially since the tarts were for my in-laws.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      That oven temperature is way too hot! I turned mine down to about 350-375 F. It takes a longer cooking time, but turns out great. The consistency is a little different than the ones I've had a dim sum places, but my husband is very happy with them. I also ended up with way more filling than dough. This recipe makes more than 21 custard cups plus leftover filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This came out way too watery and I had loads of leftover filling. I think the amount of water added should be lowered dramatically.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      we love these and they're so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      compared to the ones sold at bakeries, the filling is way too runny. I added some powder to thicken the mixture and it turned out much better, also i don't know why but i always have to bake it for 30-40 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This recipe is great! It came out perfect the very first time! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      im chinese and i always buy these thank you!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      This recipe is cool..the tarts taste gd...however i think a lower oven temp like 180 degree (c) baking for 35mins would be gd...cause i tried 230 for 15mins and the tarts got badly burnt..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      This recipe was great!! My first egg tart..and it came out great!! Thanks! The only problem was the amount of calories it contains! But hey! it's good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      You have made my day. I used to stop at a little shop when I lived in Seattle for these. Been wanting the recipe. These are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Style Egg Custard Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.2
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    46%
    Total Fat 25.2 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 241.3 mg
    80%
    Sodium 260.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    90%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites