Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Stir-Fry over Crunchy Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Stir-Fry over Crunchy Slaw

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2009

      WOW! This is my new favorite stir-fry! I just loved all the "crunch." Usually, I prefer sweeter stir-fries, but the sweetness of the cilantro mixed with the peanuts fooled me into thinking it was sweet! I also think the chili garlic sauce adds a sweet flavor. What a terrific way to eat broccoli slaw (I had 3 helpings!). I did not need the rice at all! Thanks Rifffaff, for posting- Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      WOW! What a quick and delicious meal. Definitely add the cilantro and peanuts. They add so much to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Nice stir-fry! This was quick and easy to prepare and had a great flavor. We enjoyed it over the slaw. I saved some green tops of the green onions to sprinkle over the top with the cilantro and peanuts. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Since my husband is a rice lover and not a slaw lover, I was surprised when he said he would try the slaw (I offered to make rice for him). He really liked the added crunch. I agree that the cilantro and peanuts are a must, and I added 4 onions - will try sprinkling some fresh on top next time as suggested. We also thought it was too salty, and I used low sodium soy sauce - I've never noticed it being too salty in other recipes. I wondered if it could have had to do with that much crushed red pepper or a combination of flavors just making it seem salty. I will definitely try again - I may opt for the chili-garlic sauce and see if that makes a difference. I went for the flakes since I had them on hand. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      This stir-fry looks so beautiful plated. I enjoyed the combination of textures: the crunch of the broccoli slaw and peanuts were a nice contrast. We thought it was a bit too salty. I did use low-sodium soy sauce. Maybe I'll cut down on the amt. of soy sauce next time. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. It was a little too strong on the soy sauce flavor for the hubby, but I was perfectly fine with it. I decided I wanted to add extra veggies to it, so in went some mushrooms, biased cut celery and big chucnks of a leftover yellow inion I had. I also used four green onions. No peanuts, so some garlic flavored almond slices were sprinkled over the top. I honestly did not miss the rice at all! I thought I could just throw almost any Chinese take out over broccoli slaw now! LOL! Please do not leave out the cilantro, it gives the dish a lovely fresh flavor that should not be missed. Since my new dr ordered life style is lower carb, I think this will be prepared often in my future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This recipe was absolutely awesome. I've always wanted to find a way to incorporate broccoli slaw into a meal and for it to be tasty because it's a healthier option than rice and this is it! Not only is this recipe five stars but it's convinced me to try more stir-frys over slaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      made this last night for dinner and it was really good! i made a few changes, using what i had on hand. the major one is that i used elk steaks cut into strips instead of chicken. totally different i know but it worked great. also used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas and forgot to put in the green onion. can't find chili-garlic sauce around here so i used the pepper flakes. i'm used to using a sweeter sauce, but this was a very nice change and i'll be making it again. loved the slaw instead of rice and the peanuts are a must. those and the cilantro just made the dish. this dish is very versatile and i can see using all sorts of different veggie and meat combos. thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      The broccoli slaw instead of rice is a nice twist on traditional stir-fry. My husband wasn't sold on the idea, but I think that the added flavor and texture of the slaw was really good in combination with the sauce and ingredients of the stir fry. I think this recipes rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Great dish! I loved all the fresh vegetables and feel like you could add just about anything to this and it would be good. The broccoli slaw mix is a great idea in place of rice. Fresh, light and healthy - perfect for a summer evening. DH loves chili-garlic sauce so this was a huge winner with him. Very happy we tried this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      What a great new twist on stir fry, and one so easy to put together. Excellent flavour, and the cook times were right on. I marinated the chicken for about 2 hours, and also used a lot more cilantro. I took the chef's advise and added 1 1/2 bunches of green onion, and thinly sliced the remaing 1/2 bunch for another side to sprinkle on top. Thanks for a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Great twist and a healthy alternative to most traditional stir frys. I made this just as written, except I left out the nuts...personal choice. And I used more cilantro, 'cause I love the stuff. I love the contrast of the crunchy cold veggies with the heated veggies. Marinade was right on, and I prepped everything so this was easy to just throw together. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Stir-Fry over Crunchy Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 423.8
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    55%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 4166.0 mg
    173%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili-garlic sauce

    broccoli coleslaw mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites