14 Reviews

Good! I've made these twice so far. I think that using ground beef makes it really easy. The first time I used ground bison meat. Once I used bamboo shoots instead of the water chestnuts because that's what I had on hand. I agree with another reviewer who said these really need the dipping sauce to make them fabulous. I made my dipping sauce similar to the one listed by using hoisin sauce, sriracha, lime juice, a touch of sugar and enough water to thin. A keeper, Valerie in Florida, thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick July 05, 2009

Made this tonight for a Chinese Dinner Party. Easy and Delicious! I didn't make the dipping sauce suggested, although I served the lettuce wraps with a boughten chili teriyaki sauce, yummy. We got great reviews, this recipe is a keeper, loved it!! Thanks for sharing..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serendipity Foodie August 31, 2015

Very very good! I have made lettuce wraps with ground chicken but never with ground beef...DH loved them. I did add some ginger and some snow peas that I wanted to use up but otherwise followed the directions. Will be making these again. Thank you! Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 22, 2010

This was yummy and easy to put together - there was several levels of flavor and texture and this was a hit in my house. Wrapped this in iceberg lettuce with shredded carrot and red pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos March 07, 2010

I love beef lettuce wraps and had lost my recipe, so thank you for posting Valerie! I like to add more veggies to mine so I did. It was great with about 2 cups of bean sprouts and 2 cups of snow peas stirred in for the last couple of minutes cooking. I also pair it with some steamed rice and pot stickers for a nice easy Asian dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan February 21, 2010

These were great and easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 February 05, 2010

These were very good. My store does not have bibb or butter lettuce. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u January 22, 2010

Excellent the only thing I did was add rice vinegar instead of sherry wine. I also added a little hoesen sauce about 1 Tbs. Great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
docmarie January 10, 2009

This made for a nice lunch for DH and I. I thought the flavor was good, but definitely needs the Sweet Soy Dipping Sauce to make it four stars. We added more chili paste to taste, otherwise followed the directions as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 12, 2008

My family loved these (my four year old ate six)! I wasn't as impressed, the meat reminded me a lot of taco meat, though good taco meat. I didn't try the dipping sauce, though I will next time and see how it changes the flavor. I gave it five stars because everyone but me thought they were amazing...so what do I know? Thanks Valerie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy April 02, 2007
Chinese Spicy Beef Lettuce Wraps