Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Simmer Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Simmer Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2013

      This was one of the better recipes i've gotten in a while. I made it a one pot meal. The only thing I changed was to use a nice Pinot Grigio instead of sherry. I started the rice cooker first, and doubled the sauce for my bone-in split chicken breast. Then when the chicken was done and removed, I put the sauce to a fast boil, and added a bag of fresh broccoli for about 4 minutes, we like it crisp. Then I threw in a handful of mushrooms that were in the 'use it or lose it' zone. Once the mushrooms were done I added a little bit of starch to thicken the sauce. This sauce was good on everything. My girls (2 & 6) ate everything on their plates. Thank you for a really easy, full meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      (I still can't tell if this was meant to be made with boneless chicken. I used bone-in breasts and had to simmer them for about an hour. We really prefer the boneless, so I would probably use those next time. I covered the chicken, but that would probably not be necessary with boneless chicken. The sauce was really good. I didn't add any sesame seeds because I didn't feel like toasting them. Used sherry and 1/2 tsp. pepper flakes. I served this with Baked Orzo and Parmesan Cheese. December 10, 2009) On this second attempt, I used boneless chicken. I cooked it for 45 minutes, which was too long. I should have stopped at 30 minutes. I also made 6 breasts and multiplied the other ingredients by 1.5, using 3/4 tsp. of pepper flakes. I forgot to buy cornstarch (one of those things I never thought I'd run out of) so I tried to boil the sauce down some. This didn't work well and made it too spicy. I did use the sesame seeds this time. I have attempted this recipe twice and had trouble both times. I will probably not make it again because of that. Sorry. I seldom rate anything as high as 4* and I don't remember why I thought it was that good the first time I made it. I will, however, allow that star rating to stand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      My family loved this recipe. For us it uses everything we have in our place. Great recipe to make during the busy week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      We didn't like the flavor of this dish at all, the sauce was too sweet and oddly tasted like steak sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      It was a hit!! I actually used "pork for stir-fry"- cut in bite size pieces. Served over rice and everybody ate it!! Thanks for a great, easy recipe. I used sherry, and think that a substitute wouldn't have the same, rich flavor. 6/09-- well, I was right. I didn't have any sherry (hiccup!) so used apple juice. It definitley has a better, richer, flavor when using the sherry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This sauce is amazing, very authentic taste! I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes and that was just enough spice for me. I used chicken strips but next time I will use more chicken as there was plenty of sauce. I would also throw in some broccoli next time. Served over white rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Very good! I tried out this recipe last night for dinner, and it came out so much tastier than I thought it would! I didn't really know if the chicken was supposed to be chopped or not, as the recipe didn't say, but I did anyway. I also realized I didn't have any sherry or apple juice, but actually used some v8 Splash from the fridge! LOL! It includes pineapple/apple juice, so why not? :) Will be making this again, tasted very good over white rice. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      We loved this chicken. My only change was to add 1 teaspoon of a hot chili paste. We really liked this. Thank you very much for sharing this lovely recipe. It's going into our favorites! We served with rice - the sauce is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was good... served it over rice. Used chicken legs as well, and it turned out really tasty. I agree with another review, a little salty. Maybe more apple juice and less soy sauce next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I liked the spicy bite of the red pepper flakes, but it turned out way to salty for my tastes. If I make this again, I will use less soy sauce (I used lower-sodium) & maybe pineapple juice, not sure. Thanks for the recipe anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Really good. I omitted the water and cornstarch as it was not really necessary as the sauce had already thickened enough with the cooking. However, the sauce was so yummy I do believe I will double it next time as the chicken absorbed most of it. We all loved it, including my finicky children! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This was great, and so easy! The only change I made was that I used white wine instead of sherry or apple juice because that's what I had on hand. I will be making this many more times - quick to put together and did not involve anything difficult or time consuming...not to mention it tasted yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      My very first recipe from Zaar this is what kept me coming back. I used cayenne pepper istead of the chilies and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic cloves. I have made this a couple of times and I've noticed that if you turn up the heat to high for a few minutes after the sauce is simmering it thickens very fast and you do not have to simmer it as long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      YUMMY !! My family loved this dish. Even my 18 month old grandson ate it and cried when it was all gone !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      my family loved this recipe. My 8 yr old wanted to know if there was extra pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Amazing! When I saw the cooking method I knew that cheaper cuts of chicken would be OK so I used chicken thighs instead of breasts and it was just great. I served over couscous but the sauce would be fantastic over rice as well. For anyone on a budget I'd say go for this recipe with a cheap cut of chicken and you can have a 5-star meal at a budget price.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

    • on October 18, 2006

      This chicken is really good and tastey! My family all but licked the skillet, LOL! Will definitely be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Simmer Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.9
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    34%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1484.9 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.6 g
    78%
    Protein 33.0 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites