19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this last night. Was super simple and even my boys ate some. I was craving chinese, but didn't want the expense of ordering out, yet needed a recipe that used what we had on hand. This fit the bill perfectly. I used the apple juice instead of the sherry. Next time I might throw in some green or red peppers for more variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Tinkerbell January 03, 2015

This was one of the better recipes i've gotten in a while. I made it a one pot meal. The only thing I changed was to use a nice Pinot Grigio instead of sherry. I started the rice cooker first, and doubled the sauce for my bone-in split chicken breast. Then when the chicken was done and removed, I put the sauce to a fast boil, and added a bag of fresh broccoli for about 4 minutes, we like it crisp. Then I threw in a handful of mushrooms that were in the 'use it or lose it' zone. Once the mushrooms were done I added a little bit of starch to thicken the sauce. This sauce was good on everything. My girls (2 & 6) ate everything on their plates. Thank you for a really easy, full meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes June 11, 2013

(I still can't tell if this was meant to be made with boneless chicken. I used bone-in breasts and had to simmer them for about an hour. We really prefer the boneless, so I would probably use those next time. I covered the chicken, but that would probably not be necessary with boneless chicken. The sauce was really good. I didn't add any sesame seeds because I didn't feel like toasting them. Used sherry and 1/2 tsp. pepper flakes. I served this with Baked Orzo and Parmesan Cheese. December 10, 2009) On this second attempt, I used boneless chicken. I cooked it for 45 minutes, which was too long. I should have stopped at 30 minutes. I also made 6 breasts and multiplied the other ingredients by 1.5, using 3/4 tsp. of pepper flakes. I forgot to buy cornstarch (one of those things I never thought I'd run out of) so I tried to boil the sauce down some. This didn't work well and made it too spicy. I did use the sesame seeds this time. I have attempted this recipe twice and had trouble both times. I will probably not make it again because of that. Sorry. I seldom rate anything as high as 4* and I don't remember why I thought it was that good the first time I made it. I will, however, allow that star rating to stand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 22, 2010

My family loved this recipe. For us it uses everything we have in our place. Great recipe to make during the busy week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE December 09, 2009

We didn't like the flavor of this dish at all, the sauce was too sweet and oddly tasted like steak sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy August 25, 2009

It was a hit!! I actually used "pork for stir-fry"- cut in bite size pieces. Served over rice and everybody ate it!! Thanks for a great, easy recipe. I used sherry, and think that a substitute wouldn't have the same, rich flavor. 6/09-- well, I was right. I didn't have any sherry (hiccup!) so used apple juice. It definitley has a better, richer, flavor when using the sherry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb June 30, 2009

This sauce is amazing, very authentic taste! I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes and that was just enough spice for me. I used chicken strips but next time I will use more chicken as there was plenty of sauce. I would also throw in some broccoli next time. Served over white rice. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skylar June 24, 2009

Very good! I tried out this recipe last night for dinner, and it came out so much tastier than I thought it would! I didn't really know if the chicken was supposed to be chopped or not, as the recipe didn't say, but I did anyway. I also realized I didn't have any sherry or apple juice, but actually used some v8 Splash from the fridge! LOL! It includes pineapple/apple juice, so why not? :) Will be making this again, tasted very good over white rice. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Chef August 21, 2008

We loved this chicken. My only change was to add 1 teaspoon of a hot chili paste. We really liked this. Thank you very much for sharing this lovely recipe. It's going into our favorites! We served with rice - the sauce is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej March 02, 2008

This was good... served it over rice. Used chicken legs as well, and it turned out really tasty. I agree with another review, a little salty. Maybe more apple juice and less soy sauce next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish November 01, 2007
Chinese Simmer Chicken