10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked the flavors that this recipe added to the lima beans. I did play with the amounts a bit since my lima bean package was 16 oz instead of 10, and wasn't watching them closely enough at the end so they got a little...overbrowned (just a few of them). Just keep your eyes on the heat once you get to the last step.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 September 18, 2007

These were outstanding! Like many people, I don't like limas at all, but I trusted the description for this recipe. The unusual blend of salty, sweet and sesame appealed to me, as well as the ease of the recipe. The limas had a creamy "comfort food" rexture, almost like potatoes, and we slightly preferred them hot. For dinner with friends, I prepared 2 recipes ahead, following the recipes exactly, and nibbling all the while:-) The 4 of us started with them as appetizers (on tooth picks tee-hee) and finished them off as a side dish. So, you see, we ate 2 whole recipes - in addition to chicken, rice, vegtable and bread! Everyone wanted to keep eating them, and we all agreed they were fantastic. So, thanks, BarbryT! I will surely make these more at home - because they are sooo easy, and for gatherings - where they will impress people because they are addictively delicious and uncommon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori February 18, 2007

YUM!! My husband hates lima beans. And, he went back for seconds. I did not see a 10 oz bag of frozen lima beans at my store, so I used 14 oz. I kept all of the other measurements the same, though. These were easy and so very yummy! (And, on the Weight Watchers Points Plus program, the whole recipe was only 8 points.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC December 13, 2011

Different, but they grow on you. If I were to make these again, I would decrease the amount of salt and sugar. I liked the sesame oil! I used baby lima beans by mistake (I have nevery heard of them) so they didn't have that creamy texture but tasted a lot like edamame and would be good on a salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride July 13, 2008

I am sorry to give such a low review, but no one here really enjoyed these. To me, the flavor of the sesame was the only flavor that stood out, and I could not finish, despite the fact that other reviewers rated this highly, and I even like lima beans a lot. ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

I needed a snack & used edamame instead of limas. What a great dish! Fast & easy. My tummy is very happy. I only let dh have a small bite so I don't know how well the kids like it. This is a keeper. Made for the asian Forum's Green Eggs & Ham Tag 3/08. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 21, 2008

Very tasty! A nice full of fiber snack, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge March 06, 2008

I halved the recipe and loved it! I will be eating lima beans more often! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 05, 2008

We loved these lima beans, great flavour! and easy, quick to put together. The sesame oil is wondrful with the beans. I will be making these again , thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 23, 2007

I enjoyed the different twist on limas.I think I would have liked a little more sesame oil. I ended up cooking them longer than indicated in order to get that creamy consistency I like. I served them along with Peanut ginger chicken, I liked having a unique Asian inspired meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee March 20, 2007
Chinese Sesame Limas