Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Sesame Limas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Sesame Limas

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2007

      I liked the flavors that this recipe added to the lima beans. I did play with the amounts a bit since my lima bean package was 16 oz instead of 10, and wasn't watching them closely enough at the end so they got a little...overbrowned (just a few of them). Just keep your eyes on the heat once you get to the last step.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      These were outstanding! Like many people, I don't like limas at all, but I trusted the description for this recipe. The unusual blend of salty, sweet and sesame appealed to me, as well as the ease of the recipe. The limas had a creamy "comfort food" rexture, almost like potatoes, and we slightly preferred them hot. For dinner with friends, I prepared 2 recipes ahead, following the recipes exactly, and nibbling all the while:-) The 4 of us started with them as appetizers (on tooth picks tee-hee) and finished them off as a side dish. So, you see, we ate 2 whole recipes - in addition to chicken, rice, vegtable and bread! Everyone wanted to keep eating them, and we all agreed they were fantastic. So, thanks, BarbryT! I will surely make these more at home - because they are sooo easy, and for gatherings - where they will impress people because they are addictively delicious and uncommon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      YUM!! My husband hates lima beans. And, he went back for seconds. I did not see a 10 oz bag of frozen lima beans at my store, so I used 14 oz. I kept all of the other measurements the same, though. These were easy and so very yummy! (And, on the Weight Watchers Points Plus program, the whole recipe was only 8 points.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Different, but they grow on you. If I were to make these again, I would decrease the amount of salt and sugar. I liked the sesame oil! I used baby lima beans by mistake (I have nevery heard of them) so they didn't have that creamy texture but tasted a lot like edamame and would be good on a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I am sorry to give such a low review, but no one here really enjoyed these. To me, the flavor of the sesame was the only flavor that stood out, and I could not finish, despite the fact that other reviewers rated this highly, and I even like lima beans a lot. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I needed a snack & used edamame instead of limas. What a great dish! Fast & easy. My tummy is very happy. I only let dh have a small bite so I don't know how well the kids like it. This is a keeper. Made for the asian Forum's Green Eggs & Ham Tag 3/08. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Very tasty! A nice full of fiber snack, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      I halved the recipe and loved it! I will be eating lima beans more often! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      We loved these lima beans, great flavour! and easy, quick to put together. The sesame oil is wondrful with the beans. I will be making these again , thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I enjoyed the different twist on limas.I think I would have liked a little more sesame oil. I ended up cooking them longer than indicated in order to get that creamy consistency I like. I served them along with Peanut ginger chicken, I liked having a unique Asian inspired meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Sesame Limas

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.0
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    54%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 853.3 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites