19 Reviews

Excellent. This is how I usually prepare my tofu now. I have made this about a dozen times but from reading other reviews and personal preferences I make the following changes: first, I use only about 1 teaspoon of seasoning salt instead of 2 teaspoons regular salt. I found it doesn't need the cornstarch so just use the peanut oil and use a teflon pan when I fry it so it doesn't stick even a bit. Delicious, I love tofu made this way. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick July 07, 2009

I added less than half the amount of salt it called for and still found it to be too salty. Other than that, it cooked well and had a great consistency. The taste would have been great if not for the abundant salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 October 03, 2009

This was pretty good. Too salty for me (and I added less as instructed after reading some comments below) but it was incredibly easy and quick to make. I served it with some grilled asparagus and rice but we actually preferred grabbing them off the plate and snacking on them the next day, as opposed to using them for a meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain July 21, 2009

I thought that the tofu was too salty for my taste but my bf almost ate the whole thing. i also marinated the tofu in the salt/pepper/garlic for about half an hour. I will use less salt next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdoan82 April 20, 2009

This adds a nice touch to plain tofu! I read other reviews and did reduce the salt portion to half. But, it was still a little too salty for my taste. Next time, I'll probably use only half a teaspoon of salt. Other than that, great flavor and super easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JL3 April 08, 2009

certainly have to agree on it tasting better than plain tofu..but not the best tasting tofu i've ever tasted either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies November 29, 2008

this was okay. i just pan fried it minus the oil to make it as healthy as possible. definitely less salt! thanks...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hidenka mei mei May 15, 2008

I didn't expect this to be SO good, but it is now my favorite tofu! I did things a little differently. I just sliced the tofu, coated both sides with the spices, let it sit 15 mins or so, coated it and dry fried it with no oil. I LOVE IT! And it couldn't be easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 07, 2008

Agree on using less salt. For flair, I added red pepper flakes to the marinade. Diced up some red, green and yellow peppers along with some vidalia onion and served all over rice with soy sauce. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tawickli September 17, 2007
Chinese Salt and Pepper Tofu