Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Salt and Pepper Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Salt and Pepper Tofu

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2009

      Excellent. This is how I usually prepare my tofu now. I have made this about a dozen times but from reading other reviews and personal preferences I make the following changes: first, I use only about 1 teaspoon of seasoning salt instead of 2 teaspoons regular salt. I found it doesn't need the cornstarch so just use the peanut oil and use a teflon pan when I fry it so it doesn't stick even a bit. Delicious, I love tofu made this way. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I added less than half the amount of salt it called for and still found it to be too salty. Other than that, it cooked well and had a great consistency. The taste would have been great if not for the abundant salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This was pretty good. Too salty for me (and I added less as instructed after reading some comments below) but it was incredibly easy and quick to make. I served it with some grilled asparagus and rice but we actually preferred grabbing them off the plate and snacking on them the next day, as opposed to using them for a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I thought that the tofu was too salty for my taste but my bf almost ate the whole thing. i also marinated the tofu in the salt/pepper/garlic for about half an hour. I will use less salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This adds a nice touch to plain tofu! I read other reviews and did reduce the salt portion to half. But, it was still a little too salty for my taste. Next time, I'll probably use only half a teaspoon of salt. Other than that, great flavor and super easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      certainly have to agree on it tasting better than plain tofu..but not the best tasting tofu i've ever tasted either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      this was okay. i just pan fried it minus the oil to make it as healthy as possible. definitely less salt! thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I didn't expect this to be SO good, but it is now my favorite tofu! I did things a little differently. I just sliced the tofu, coated both sides with the spices, let it sit 15 mins or so, coated it and dry fried it with no oil. I LOVE IT! And it couldn't be easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

    • on September 17, 2007

      Agree on using less salt. For flair, I added red pepper flakes to the marinade. Diced up some red, green and yellow peppers along with some vidalia onion and served all over rice with soy sauce. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Very nice dish. I went a little too heavy handed with the salt though, must remember that tofu readily absorbs flavorings, so will be more careful next time. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This was delicious! I'm always trying to find ways to make tofu more appetizing to anti-tofu-ers. This did the trick! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe. It's easy to make, and the ingredients are always handy. A friend who swore he *never* likes tofu had to admit that this was really good. We had it with veggie Singapore noodles (yummy curry flavor) and mixed fresh vegetables. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      So yummy! I cut the tofu into fat sticks instead of cubes, and the salt and pepper flavor reminded me of french fries. I was worried that they might need a dipping sauce but they were great on their own as a side to the rest of our meal (peanut noodles and spinach sauteed with garlic).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      I tried this with firm silken style tofu as my regular cotton wrapped tofu had decided to sleep with the fishes. It actually came out really well i cooked the triangle shapes untill they were almost black on the ouside and was rewarded with a crispy outside coating a gooey creamy inside. I loved it the bigger half thought it was ok (but admitted he dosent really like tofu) so i ate his too. cant wait to try it with cotton tofu too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      YUM! So easy to make and tastes just like it does in restraurants. I served it with jasmine rice and stirfried veges with cashews (as a side). Be careful- very addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      Easy to make and very delicious. I would definitely make this dish again. Thank you for the recipe :) Served with coconut rice. Yummy and quick to prepare !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Salt and Pepper Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.4
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    67%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1177.4 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes