16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a 5 star sauce.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseChef May 19, 2002

Great sauce and easy to make. Thumbs up from all my family members.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex September 26, 2002

I thought the plum sauce was a bit too vinegary, next time I will use less. Other then that the final result was good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifercooks83 September 26, 2008

Use half the amount of vinegar, and half the amount of cayenne pepper, but double the amount of sugar. This is excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aml May 07, 2008

Delicious sauce.......added half vinegar and 1.5 times sugar amount.....needs plenty reducing, but this really is fantastic. great way to use up a plum glut!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caroline d. September 08, 2014

Really good and beats store bought by a mile. I didn't realise how ordinary a lot of bought sauces taste in comparison until now! Halved vinegar ( as per other reviews advice) and ended up doubling sugar as it needed more to my taste, Also added 2 red chillies chopped up. 1/2 quantity made 2 jars. Everyone really liked it with Pork Loin chops.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fruii February 15, 2010

Easy to make and very good. Will have to get more plums while it is in season and make more. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lina61044 August 12, 2005

As written this was HORRIBLE. So sour we could not eat it, opened all fully canned jars to re can and add tripple the amount of sugar. I am wondering if the typeof plums used made any difference, The only thing i can think of is the skins on the plums maybe made the sauce more sour. The plums here in nova scotia are quite sour at times. they were so ripe however they fell apart in my hands when pitting them. EXCLUDE the vinegar, and add double the sugar. Base the sugar and vinegar amounts on the sourness/sweetness of the first plum mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda M. September 09, 2014

Wow, that was fun to make. I boiled the fruit and then picked out the pips while pressing it through a sieve. It was easy as I had small fruit but lots of it. I kept the vinegar the same and no problem. I also used just chilli as I didn't have cayenne pepper. I cannot wait to have it with Japanese cabbage/veg pancakes with cupie mayonnaise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enna80 February 01, 2013

Made a 1 1/2 batch this morning. I used 1/2 cup cider vinegar but 1 1/2 cups of sugar so is not too sweet but not too vinegary. Less cinnamon could be used and to thicken at the end, try 1 Tbsp of corn starch or tapioca starch dissolved in a little water. A chopped up chili added at the beginning with the garlic, ginger and onion would give it a little pzazz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saltkid September 10, 2012
Chinese Plum Sauce