Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Plum Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Plum Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      This is a 5 star sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      Great sauce and easy to make. Thumbs up from all my family members.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I thought the plum sauce was a bit too vinegary, next time I will use less. Other then that the final result was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Use half the amount of vinegar, and half the amount of cayenne pepper, but double the amount of sugar. This is excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Really good and beats store bought by a mile. I didn't realise how ordinary a lot of bought sauces taste in comparison until now! Halved vinegar ( as per other reviews advice) and ended up doubling sugar as it needed more to my taste, Also added 2 red chillies chopped up. 1/2 quantity made 2 jars. Everyone really liked it with Pork Loin chops.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      Easy to make and very good. Will have to get more plums while it is in season and make more. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      As written this was HORRIBLE. So sour we could not eat it, opened all fully canned jars to re can and add tripple the amount of sugar. I am wondering if the typeof plums used made any difference, The only thing i can think of is the skins on the plums maybe made the sauce more sour. The plums here in nova scotia are quite sour at times. they were so ripe however they fell apart in my hands when pitting them. EXCLUDE the vinegar, and add double the sugar. Base the sugar and vinegar amounts on the sourness/sweetness of the first plum mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Delicious sauce.......added half vinegar and 1.5 times sugar amount.....needs plenty reducing, but this really is fantastic. great way to use up a plum glut!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      Wow, that was fun to make. I boiled the fruit and then picked out the pips while pressing it through a sieve. It was easy as I had small fruit but lots of it. I kept the vinegar the same and no problem. I also used just chilli as I didn't have cayenne pepper. I cannot wait to have it with Japanese cabbage/veg pancakes with cupie mayonnaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      Made a 1 1/2 batch this morning. I used 1/2 cup cider vinegar but 1 1/2 cups of sugar so is not too sweet but not too vinegary. Less cinnamon could be used and to thicken at the end, try 1 Tbsp of corn starch or tapioca starch dissolved in a little water. A chopped up chili added at the beginning with the garlic, ginger and onion would give it a little pzazz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I had enough plums off my tree to do 1 1/2 batches of this super yummy sauce! I took some to work and we added it in the mixture for egg rolls. The kids loved it! I can't wait to try it as an actual dipping sauce. lol Thanks for posting such a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I wanted to make some plum sauce to have with some Chinese chicken strips, and this sauce really worked good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      My BF wanted to make plum sauce for some random reason. I had never made it before but I used this recipe and it turned out great! I used less per the advice of other reviewers and it worked out perfect. Really good with porkchops! I think my BF even put it on ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Fantastic. But I agree that its a little too vinegary. Half the vinegar. Also, i am in Okinawa where plums are difficult to find and/or expensive. I used ume-boshi (japanese sour plums). Great with chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Excellent sauce. Great with pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Plums were not in season, so I used 3 (16-oz) jars of prunes and it worked just fine.. actually, this is the best plum sauce I've ever had! Thanks much..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Plum Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1927 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    90%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 295.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 71.9 g
    287%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes