12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! Easy & fast too. I changed just a couple things..I added some shredded cabbage and waterchestnuts. I sauteed those along with the carrots and onions rather than cooking them with the pasta. When the pasta was done, I threw the veggies and the sauce into the drained pasta and mixed. I love how versatile this is. Great side dish, but could be a great main dish too with the addition of some chicken or shrimp. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 October 24, 2008

Husband liked it. I hated it. Maybe if I'd used a different brand of pasta... Still I didn't like the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em July 18, 2012

pretty good quick supper. used wayy more spaghetti (lightly coated spaghetti in sesame chili oil), 1/4 of an onion, 1 can water chestnuts, 2c broccoli, couple handfulls of cooked chicken. upped the sauce ingredients too. next time will use the same amount of pb, lil more water, more sesame chili oil, tad more soy sauce, ginger, and more granulated garlic. am going to try adding some peanut oil instead of pb as it was a lil on the dry side. will be using this recipe for a quick night supper cuz i usually have most of em on hand, thanks Seasoned Cook!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 12, 2011

I enjoyed the fact that this comes together very quickly and the flavors are prominent. I did think it was a bit too much peanut butter flavor but that's just my opinion. I tasted the sauce before adding it to the noodles and at first I thought it was too salty but when you add it to the noodles, it was just right. I also added some baby bella mushrooms at the end of the boiling time so they didn't become soggy. The mushrooms really added a nice flavor and texture to the dish. Overall, it's a good dish - I just didn't think it was quite 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmcguire April 02, 2011

A good basic recipe. The only change I made was to use fresh garlic and ginger instead of powdered. After trying DH and I both felt it need something. DH suggested more peanut butter, but I though it need some ump and end up adding some Sambal Oelek chili paste to mine. Ahh the chili paste worked. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 08, 2010

This is really versatile as other reviewers said. I followed the recipe exactly as written, my only sub was brown rice spaghetti instead of wheat (which is why my photo might look a little different). I have never cooked onion that way, it actually works really well in this. I liked the sauce but think I'd sub fresh ginger & garlic next time, they were difficult to detect over the peanut butter. Either that or I'd cut down the peanut butter a bit. At first I only used 2 tbsp of soy and the sauce tasted plenty salty enough - but once everything was put together I found I needed to add that 3rd tbsp in. Thanks very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 02, 2010

5 stars for simplicity even if I did change it up a bit. I did mine more stir-fry style & added some mushrooms and capsicum with the onion & carrots. I also added some chopped chicken I had to use and hokkien noodles in lieu spaghetti. Beacuse of all the extra ingredients I doubled the sauce but added some extra water to thin it out a bit. This is a great simple dish to put together and easily adaptable to what you have on hand. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 23, 2009

This was good, and very easy to make. I left out the carrot and onion and I'd give the recipe a 4.5 but I rounded it up to 5 because I'm sure it would have been 5 stars if I included the carrot and onion. I think next time I'll also add chicken and maybe some chopped peanuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG March 21, 2009

Easy and yummy peanut butter noodle dish! I halved the recipe for lunch today and used a small home grown leek instead of the onion (I added the leek just before removing so it didn't overcook). I might use a little less water next time as I thought the sauce was too runny. In any event, it was very tasty and I'd make again! Made for Use Your Noodle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI August 12, 2008

Delicious! I made this as written and it turned out great. It's a lovely change from rice when serving an Asian meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 05, 2008
Chinese Lo Mein With Peanut Butter Sauce