Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Hot and Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Hot and Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2010

      Very good, I especially loved the broth! I doubled the tabasco and that was the perfect amount of heat. I subbed extra chicken for the tofu and used button mushrooms. Next time, I would eliminate the dried shiitakes and just use fresh shiitakes. The shiitakes gave the soup a richer and more authentic flavor than button in my opinion. Plus, the soaking method for the mushrooms didn't work that well because the water did not fully cover them, so I had portions that were still pretty rubbery despite stirring them every few minutes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      This was LOVELY Julie B's Hive!!! We BOTH enjoyed this for lunch today - I had all the ingredients, apart from the tofu, to hand, and it was a nice tangy and sour soup - could have been a WEE bit hotter for our tastes, but that is personal preferences! I used Chinese dried black mushrooms for a VERY authentic flavour and a little extra diced chicken in place of the tofu. I would have liked the soup to be a bit clearer, it was quite dark - but that is just an aesthetic observation! Maybe I will use a bit less soy sauce next time - and that will decrease the salt slightly as well. A very nice and quite authentic flavour - THANKS for posting this recipe, made for Chinese New year Asian Tag Game, Feb 2008 - GREAT! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Yum! This was a easy and a very, very good soup. I did add a 1/4 cup of carrots(cause had to use 'em)& extra hot sauce (don't have it in front of me, but it has a rooster on it). Also, a little extra chicken & tofu(cause I didn't have my scale handy). With the extra's it made a super hardy soup. Will made this again and again! Thanks for the recipe! (Made this for Chinese New year Asian Tag Game, Feb 2008.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I did not change anything to the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I liked it but it was not quite what I was hoping for. I added a little more vinegar because mine was very mild, and some white pepper but it still wasn't quite right - just not quite sharp enough. Will keep trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This was pretty darn good! I omitted the bamboo shoots (personal preference), used 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and seasoned rice vinegar (what was on hand). I really loved the broth, which I felt was not spicy at all. I thought there coould be a few less fresh mushrooms and a few more shitake, but I will adjust for that the next time I make it. Next time I would add the tofu along with the mushrooms so that it can pick up a little more flavor from the broth. This reheated well in the microwave for a quick lunch lunch as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Yummy soup loaded with mushrooms, tofu and chicken.... protein, yeah! Instead of the dried shiitake mushrooms, I used a can of straw mushrooms and reserved about 1/2 cup of the liquid for adding to the soup later. This made enough to feed three of us as a main course. I wasn't sure where to add the bamboo, so I threw them in with the mushrooms and it worked great. Thanks for sharing this unique soup! Made for Chinese New Year game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Hot and Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.2
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    31%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 799.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes