7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, I especially loved the broth! I doubled the tabasco and that was the perfect amount of heat. I subbed extra chicken for the tofu and used button mushrooms. Next time, I would eliminate the dried shiitakes and just use fresh shiitakes. The shiitakes gave the soup a richer and more authentic flavor than button in my opinion. Plus, the soaking method for the mushrooms didn't work that well because the water did not fully cover them, so I had portions that were still pretty rubbery despite stirring them every few minutes. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway November 02, 2010

This was LOVELY Julie B's Hive!!! We BOTH enjoyed this for lunch today - I had all the ingredients, apart from the tofu, to hand, and it was a nice tangy and sour soup - could have been a WEE bit hotter for our tastes, but that is personal preferences! I used Chinese dried black mushrooms for a VERY authentic flavour and a little extra diced chicken in place of the tofu. I would have liked the soup to be a bit clearer, it was quite dark - but that is just an aesthetic observation! Maybe I will use a bit less soy sauce next time - and that will decrease the salt slightly as well. A very nice and quite authentic flavour - THANKS for posting this recipe, made for Chinese New year Asian Tag Game, Feb 2008 - GREAT! FT:-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart February 07, 2008

Yum! This was a easy and a very, very good soup. I did add a 1/4 cup of carrots(cause had to use 'em)& extra hot sauce (don't have it in front of me, but it has a rooster on it). Also, a little extra chicken & tofu(cause I didn't have my scale handy). With the extra's it made a super hardy soup. Will made this again and again! Thanks for the recipe! (Made this for Chinese New year Asian Tag Game, Feb 2008.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellestrange February 08, 2008

Absolutely delicious! I did not change anything to the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calaminthe February 10, 2008

I liked it but it was not quite what I was hoping for. I added a little more vinegar because mine was very mild, and some white pepper but it still wasn't quite right - just not quite sharp enough. Will keep trying!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut January 17, 2012

This was pretty darn good! I omitted the bamboo shoots (personal preference), used 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and seasoned rice vinegar (what was on hand). I really loved the broth, which I felt was not spicy at all. I thought there coould be a few less fresh mushrooms and a few more shitake, but I will adjust for that the next time I make it. Next time I would add the tofu along with the mushrooms so that it can pick up a little more flavor from the broth. This reheated well in the microwave for a quick lunch lunch as well. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH March 13, 2009

Yummy soup loaded with mushrooms, tofu and chicken.... protein, yeah! Instead of the dried shiitake mushrooms, I used a can of straw mushrooms and reserved about 1/2 cup of the liquid for adding to the soup later. This made enough to feed three of us as a main course. I wasn't sure where to add the bamboo, so I threw them in with the mushrooms and it worked great. Thanks for sharing this unique soup! Made for Chinese New Year game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 22, 2008
Chinese Hot and Sour Soup