403 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this more as a side dish. I didn't add the meat and I didn't have beansprouts. It is perfect. Will be making again. I don't have a wok but just made in a deep sided frying pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wright.kt November 16, 2014

I'm going to hold off on rating this recipe. I followed the directions to the tee or at least I think I did, but it was just okay for me. My husband loved it. I thought it was a little bland. This may be my fault. I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and I didn't season them once they thawed, nor did I season my rice. Also may not have had my pan up high enough to really fry my rice. Will try again, but with these changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhelfert November 04, 2014

Loved this recipe!! It was soo quick to make.. and soo Easssy!! Thank you! <3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tischa Maiden September 04, 2014

This is a particularly nice recipe. I like the addition of toasted sesame oil, both in the rice mixture and in the egg. Also using finely-chopped sauteed onion, PLUS the scallions (green onions), which should not be cooked more than a minute or two.<br/><br/>But there were things missing. Garlic, finely minced, and finely minced fresh ginger, both sauteed alone till they become fragrant, then adding soy sauce and rice wine or sherry. The recipe didn't call for those, but I wouldn't consider making fried rice without them.<br/><br/>Instead of peas, I prefer to trim and chop snow peapods and sautee them tender in a bit of oil.<br/><br/>But WITH those additions, this is still an improvement over the fried rice I've usually made.<br/><br/>When I make the eggs, I beat the eggs (usually 2-3) and make very thin "omelets" in a lightly oiled pan, flipping them very briefly, then chopping.<br/><br/>I also fry my rice alone, in batches, in a minimum of oil. What I still don't understand is that it should brown, but doesn't, even using day-old cooked rice. Tastes good, though.<br/><br/>I don't overload the mixture with soy, but I do use more than in this recipe. Some is needed in cooking, because the flavor is a bit different cooked than when it is added at the table. The same is true of the sauteed onion and chopped green onions in this recipe. Two differently delightful flavors.<br/><br/>Oh, I don't use bean sprouts or cabbage in fried rice, but I DO add minced sauteed shrooms! And if I'm going to the trouble of making it, only shrimp will do as the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faster July 02, 2014

Oh my goodness!!!! This is an excellent recipe! Tastes just like the chinese take out! I will never use another recipe! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 505 June 25, 2014

First time making fried rice, and followed this recipe as is. It could use more flavor IMO. I didn't see the note until it was too late about adding salt to the rice when it cooks. it could definately use some salt. I'd probably add a bit more oil, soy sauce, and egg too, and I think that would be better. I think the recipe should be updated to include the time it takes to actually cook the rice. Also this makes a ton of rice! Halving it would still leave you with plenty! I ended up putting some in the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeChick80 June 12, 2014

I tried this recipe tonight. It IS very good; serving size is right on. But it tastes the same as my standby, Easy Fried Rice, which is less complicated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn May 29, 2014

I have made this twice so far and it is consistently delicious and even my young sons devour it. I add grated fresh ginger and today I added finely chopped Bok Choy. One son is allergic to soy so I just make everything without soy, take his out, and then add the soy sauce. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marie May 26, 2014

Good flavor. I used precooked jasmine rice and it worked very well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanT May 22, 2014
Chinese Fried Rice