403 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is much better than the usual recipes I have tried for homemade fried rice. A much truer taste and a foolproof cooking method. Thanks for sharing your secret!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 05, 2003

This rice is soooo good,DD2 thought i'd gone to the nearest take-out place(11 miles away) to get the rice to go with the broccoli chicken stir fry she'd seen me make. Only thing i did different was had to use canned bean sprouts(drained and rinsed repeatedly),just can't find fresh sprouts in my small town, but it was great anyway-thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 October 05, 2003

I made this for the Lost and Found Cookathon and I'm so glad I did! My husband and daughter loved it and so did I! I left out the meat and added more green onions. Lovely dish. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 04, 2003

This was very good, although I made a few changes, I didn't have any bean sprouts, I added some chopped mushrooms, and i used textured soy protein in place of the meat, it was delicious, Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 October 01, 2003

I combined this with the sesame pork stir-fry and it was wonderful! My first attempt at stir fry and I can't wait to make it again. The only thing I would do next time is add more egg. I used 2 but will use another 2-personal preference. I may add water chestnuts next time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiSi September 24, 2003

This is a very good recipe! I did not add carrots, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly! It was very good! I think it is important that you use a wok, as I have attempted fried rice in a non stick pan, and have not yielded very good results. This is a keeper! My fiancee really liked it, and he is not a fried rice lover like I am! Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMeow July 20, 2003

this is a truly delicious fried rice recipe. i chose to make the chicken w/ red pepper oil i made, the second time i cooked this. wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZeRic July 07, 2003

Made as written but omitted egg as we don't eat them and added corn and cabbage as they needed to be used up. Sesame oil is definitely what was missing from all my other failed attempts at Chinese rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amjoy373 January 01, 2015

I know this is a TWELVE year old recipe but wanted to comment that this was a decent stir fry. Not 5 stars. Just 3. <br/><br/>I used chicken, left out the moyashi (bean sprouts) and followed each ingredient to the letter... but it was lacking flavour after sampling - so I added a dash of fish sauce and sriracha to give it some punch. That seemed to help a little. But it is still missing something and I'm not sure what it is... perhaps seasoning... soy sauce... maybe 5 spice powder. <br/><br/>The biggest key to ANY stir-fried rice dish is to use day old refrigerated rice. Never use freshly cooked rice because you will only end up with a sticky, gelatinous goop.<br/><br/>This dish though, is worth a shot. It's easy to do and hearty as a meal. Just make sure to taste taste taste as you go through each step after the rice is added...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zildogs December 27, 2014

My second time making this. It was so good and I didn't even have the sesame oil or the meat. I just used olive oil and let me tell you it was great. I bet with shrimp would be good. I followed the instructions very well and it was pretty easy, just season everything with some salt because even though the soy sauce is salty at the end it still need it salt. I paired it with breaded chicken, it was great. Good luck to all. <br/><br/>P.S. The rice should be cooked ahead of time and place it in the fridge for about an hour and then get started. It worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana M. December 16, 2014
Chinese Fried Rice