403 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this!! My family is big on restaurant fried rice, but we only get it when we eat out. I attempted to make it several time years ago with disasterous results. After reading several threads here on using left-over rice, I went hunting for a good recipe and found this one! There was none left, and I won't be afraid to make it again. I'll confess, I used probably twice as much soy sauce, and added and extra dash of sesame oil - personal taste, and not heart-smart, but, hey, what can I say?

56 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess August 30, 2002

This is the best recipe for Chinese fried rice! My family and I enjoyed it ,there wasn't a scrap left. We're use to the Chinese take-out, but this recipe is even better. I would recommend this to anyone who has a craving for good authentic Chinese fried rice.I have to admit I added a whole lot more soy sauce.This is a easy to make and tasty.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milly October 17, 2002

We loved this! It's a quick and easy way to use left over meat and rice but it doesn't taste like left overs at all. I used diced baked ham for the meat. I didn't have any bean sprouts on hand, and would like to use them next time, but we thought it was great anyway. We added some Sambal Oelek at the table. DH has to have some spice with nearly everything. Thanks for sharing this winner.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 04, 2002

This dish was part of my chinese Saturday meal. It is very much like my fried rice with very little change. I did not use bean sprouts and did add extra soy. The meat I use is bacon and it adds alot of flavor as well as some of the drippings in place of the oil. I liked your method. It can out fabulous!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher March 16, 2003

Wow, this tasted like rice from a hibachi restaurant. I used recipe 40104 as the meat base and boy am I glad I did. I probably had 2 pounds of meat, so I changed some of the proportions a bit...I used half of a large sweet onion, egg beaters that were equivalent to 5 eggs (we like lots of egg in fried rice), 8 green onions, and a 1 lb package of frozen peas and carrots. I didn't measure the rice, but I'm sure I put in at least 8 cups. I left the bean sprouts at 2 cups and added soy sauce to taste. This is one of the best things I have ever eaten. Thank you so much for posting this.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg April 15, 2003

This was great! I did not have sesame oil, so used my regular cooking oil, and it still taste wonderful. I liked the bit about frying onions, removing them from the wok, and then adding them later with the other veggies. Very auhentic...very good, indeed!! I shall definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeybeee March 14, 2003

We love fried rice, so I decided to try your recipe because of all the great reviews. I didn't have any bean sprouts and didn't want to wait until I could get some. Even w/o the sprouts, this recipe is delicious! Thank you for sharing.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas March 05, 2003

This is a great recipe. We are big fried rice fans and this is by far the best I've tried. Thanks for the recipe - this is a keeper!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W January 23, 2003

Really easy, really fast, really great fried rice recipe. No need for take out after you try this one!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty January 20, 2003

Not being a great rice fan,but the family are,i found this to be the best rice i have tasted and all the family agree.Will certainly use it again. Thank You Bill

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wjthomson November 13, 2002
Chinese Fried Rice