Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Crisp - Fried Salt and Pepper Squid Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Crisp - Fried Salt and Pepper Squid

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2007

      Not the breading recipe I was looking for; and the squid came out pretty tough :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Excellent, you can't go wrong (well maybe shasha can) with this recipe...it's a winner. It's a regular for us and always tender..cheers and thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious. I didn't have chillies, which was unfortunate, but the rest I had and it swas simply stunning. The only difference was that I'd never fry the squid for two minutes. I think it would become quite tough. I fried it for closer to 30 or 40 seconds, and it was melt in the mouth soft. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      This wonderful recipe is from Ainsley Harriott's Gourmet Express 2 cookbook. I love it as a great way to have this dish at home (instead of only at a restaurant). Because I usually feed a crowd, I often double or treble this recipe. If you need to do the same, you can usually get by with less than the full amount of cornflour. But don't cut back on the salt or pepper. I did the first time I 'upped' the recipe, and I was sorry. Also, you don't have to use young squid to have a tender meal. The already-cleaned squid I can buy usually has five 'hoods' to a kilo, or about 200 grams (or 6-7 ounces) each. They cook just fine. I do find, though, that it takes about three minutes cooking to achieve the right crispness. And a quick comment about defrosting squid hoods -- you have to let them defrost in their own time (any encouragement such as the microwave or boiling water will just spoil them and make the end result tough). I learned the hard way that it takes more than eight hours to defrost one kilo (2.2 pounds) of whole squid hoods. So it's probably worth cutting and scoring unfrozen squid hoods before freezing them, so you can reduce the defrost time. If not -- defrost them overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      This was really delicious! I only made the fried squid portion of the recipe, and then made my own dipping sauce. The squid came out light,crispy, and flavorful; absolutly perfect! I will be using this recipe often to satisfy my fried calamari craving, and now I don't have to go to a restaurant for it anymore! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Very nice. I eat this at resaurants, but I have only found one restuarant that I enjoy it, the other ar too salty, but this recipe isn't, it was really nice not as nice as the rewtaurant, but I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Couldn't get this to get crispy--don't know why--but it was tasty. I thought the fried green onions were a nice touch. DH commented he preferred it with lemon more than with soy sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Crisp - Fried Salt and Pepper Squid

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1594.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1488
    93%
    Total Fat 165.4 g
    254%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 175.0 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1780.7 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites