Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2008

      Finally got around to trying this dish. My daughters rather enjoyed it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I enjoyed this a lot! I did make some changes, but I did not change the sauce which is where I think the real flavor and character of the dish lies. I went heavier on the vegetables (using fresh sugar snap peas, carrots, yellow squash & asparagus) and lighter on the meat (using chicken breast and shrimp). I don't deep fry so I just stir fried the coated meat. I served it all over soba noodles. I think you can put whatever you want in this. Both the sauce and method are excellent. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I made this myself and served to DH (a chef) and his boss (sous-chef). They both loved it. I couldn't I had impressed these pros. A million thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Delicious! I added a clove of garlic, used peanut oil, and dry sherry instead of rice wine. For vegs I used a green pepper, two celery stalks, and 1/2 can of water chestnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This was delicious. I did diddle with it a little. I doubled the sauce as per the reviews(Thank You) I used snowpeas and red pepper as the veggies. I added some honey as well just to suit our tastes. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Man, this was tasty! I loved having the chicken all crispy. I doubled the sauce as many people suggested, and was very glad I did. I'm low on food items right now, so I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and regular soy sauce. Also, I'm out of rice, so I served this over buttered noodles with a little bit of garlic powder. Very tasty! I just bought my first bottle of Sake a few days ago, and so I used that, which just made me happy. :) Oh, and no onions, so I used broccoli and added some chopped garlic when I added the broccoli. As said before, this is very yummy and I most certainly will make it again! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Here's one more 5 start rating! I used green and yellow peppers, celery, and broccoli. I doubled the sauce and with all those veggies I could have tripled it and been fine. I stir-fried my chicken in sesame oil instead of deep frying it. I've never had this in a restaurant before, but it sure tasted like restaurant quality, even with so few ingredients. I'll make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I hardly ever give 5 stars but this was outstanding! My husband said and I quote "This is the best dinner you have made in a long time" I did not use peas and carrots, I used one red bell pepper and 2 celery stalks along with the onion. I doubled the sauce and was glad I did, even doubled it could have used more. Served on a brown rice and orzo pilaf. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was absolutely delicious! I did double the sauce ingredients- this will become a regular on our menu...yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      The flavor is just like a Chinese restaurant with a nice bite from the pepper that is not overpowering. I stir-fried the chicken instead of deep frying. I also substituted rice vinegar for the rice wine. I served this with rice noodles instead of rice. Next time I would double the sauce ingredients so that I could stir fry everything together including the noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Very good, I do think next time I will increase the sauce a bit. Ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Really good! I also stir-fried the chicken instead of deep frying it. I left out the onion and peas and carrots and added broccoli instead. I will be making this regularly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Really authentic flavour. I added a little chicken stock for a bit more sauce. A fab quick meal,my husband loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      YUMMY and very easy to make. Instead of a peas and carrots, I used broccoli, green bean, and mushrooms. I also used lite soy sauce too. The end result: DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      L.O.V.E this recipe! I make this into a stir-fried dish & use brocolli & other vegetables (don't like peas). Husband & friends love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      this was SOOOOOOO GOOOOD! for the veggie, i used sliced onion and shredded cabbage. i did add grated ginger and chopped garlic, and i loved the enhanced flavor. i also stir fried the chicken, and topped it all off with chopped green onion. this is the easiest authentic tasting chinese dish i have made yet! i served this with brown rice....YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Sorry, I didn't care for the sauce at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      I substituted fresh vegetables for the frozen (snow peas, carrots, and celery), but followed the recipe other than that. It tasted great....will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      We were trying to re-create a dish from our local Chinese restaurant before it changed owners. This is close, but something is still missing. I personally hate carrots and peas in chinese food (too easy to chuck in I think), and as we ate, we decided it was maybe it was missing celery which adds such a distinctive flavour. I can't imagine any Chinese recipe asking for the chicken to be cut in 1/4 inch dice-ours tonight was about 1 inch, and this dish needed about double the sauce, otherwise it was "almost" there. I took a photo, but when someone else takes a more representitive photo, don't hesitate to post it :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      Absolutely 5-star, restaurant quality meal! I had slightly more than 500g (1 lb) chicken, and I increased the sauce by 1/2 which was plenty. I used sweet sherry instead of rice wine and fresh vegetables (julienned carrot, red capsicum and onion and broccoli florets) instead of frozen. I shallow fried the chicken in about 1/2" of vegetable oil, flavoured with a splash of sesame oil. I'm not keen on super hot food. But I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of black pepper and 3/4 teaspoon of white and didn't find this particularly hot at all. Absolutely first rate recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    18%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 125.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 952.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites