Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2011

      I made this on the day we had a huge blizzard, and my husband had been shoveling for a few hours. When he finished showering, the dish had just finished, and he ate just about the whole thing! It was perfectly peppery, and the thighs are his favorite part of the chicken. I followed the directions to a tee, and felt like I was in my own Chinese restaurant--smelled so good, too. We will make this again, perhaps doubling it, since I think my husband was disappointed when it was 'all over'. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

    • on December 22, 2010

      Graet sauce! I doubled it and cut up 7 whole chicken breasts, and a 16 oz stir fry vegetables. I forgot the onion,,,I'll def put it next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This is so good. I made this for my family and we couldn't get enough. I did substitute the peas and carrots for mushrooms, but otherwise followed your recipe. Thank you so much , we LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      We loved this recipe. We used fresh snow peas and julienne'd carrots for our veggies and I used soy sauce instead of oyster sauce because I didn't check my cupboards before I left for the store. I left out the white pepper as personal preference. Doubled the sauce as suggested by others. This was a fantastic recipe! Definitely going in our meal rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This was excellent and so easy to make. I love pepper and this dish did not disappoint. I did substitute the carrots and peas for red bell pepper, baby bok choy and snow peas, I doubled the sauce and served with fried rice. I will definately be making this again! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      I used onions, broccoli and pea pods in mine instead of the other veggies. This is an awesome recipe that won over my whole family. They told me they felt it was even better than our local restaurant. I will make this often and I am sure it will be totally enjoyed each and every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      We'd never tried this before, never used oyster sauce and certainly never eaten anything with this much pepper in it. LOVED IT. I doubled the sauce, and used asian leafy greens and julienned carrots instead of the peas and carrot. I didn't have rice wine so threw in a dash of normal dry white wine. Stirfried the chicken first in very little oil. So simple, so quick, so tasty. This will be made again in our home. EDITED TO ADD: The leftovers, cold, were absolutely beautiful the next day so I am thinking of actually making this intentionally as a cold salad, for guests tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This was very good. The only thing I did different is I added some fresh ground black pepper to the cornstarch before I fried it. And I used green onions (scallions) instead of regular, and fresh pea pods and fresh grated carrots. Excellent! I truly loved the sake/rice wine in this. I had never used it before, and I am glad I did. When I added my pea pods and carrots to the wok, I did put in a little more sake to steam the veggies a little more. Next time, though, I am going to stir fry the chicken, just for the fact that I'm not really a fan of deep frying, but wanted to make the recipe as close to the original as possible. I was a little skeptical over what I thought was a small amount of black pepper, but the white pepper gives it a good kick. Thanks Sue L for recreating this recipe for your friend Shae, and for us to enjoy!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I added red bell pepper, baby bok choy and several whole garlic cloves which made for a lovely color combination and extra flavor. I also used skinless boneless chicken tenders diced. It was amazing, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      My wife and I were huge fans of this dish at a restaurant in the city we used to live in.. now that we've moved away we were desperate to find a recipe so we could make it ourselves. Thanks this is delicious. Use fresh vegetables including zuccini, quartered mushrooms and green and red peppers along with the onions for a "fresher" taste. You can also skip the cornstarch and just stir fry the chicken without a coating and its just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      We used onion, yellow peppers, sugar snap peas, and brown rice and really liked the combination. The sauce was great but next time I'd scale back a little on the pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Great better than my local chinese will def be making again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Got a thumbs up from my sister who is a picky eater. Made twice in as many weeks. The browned bits of onion and carrot were great. Might want to double the sauce if you like extra sauce for your rice. I served it with fried rice, so it was not necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      What a great kick in this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

    • on October 30, 2008

      My entire family was very disappointed in this recipe. The flavor was way off...sorry I wasted a pound of chicken and 1 1/2 hours of my evening making this meal. Thai is more my specialty, I'd better stick with that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I used more peas and carrot, a little bit more rice wine and oyster sauce to coat everything. And it was really wonderful. Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      It disappeared before I could get my second helping!! I didn't have the rice wine/saki, but I can't imagine how it could be any better. My dh did suggest adding water chestnuts next time, because he likes the extra crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I made this exactly is written with one omission...the oyster sauce... I just increased the soy. I will DEFINATELY buy some before I make it again, because I think it is the flavor that was missing. This was delicious even without it! I used a combination of thighs and breast, and I liked the combo for this dish. My entire family loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    18%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 125.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 952.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes