63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious. Definitely double the sauce. I did not deep-fry the chicken...stir fry until crispy is fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes January 12, 2010

This is excellant, easy, fast, & sooooo good....Actually I have made it twice...the second time using broccolli which lends itself to this very well. Either way the dish is flavorful & perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers October 26, 2003

I'm a big fan of black pepper so I really enjoyed this dish. I also added a little more peas and carrots. This a very easy dish to prepare but good enough for a "company" meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby October 04, 2003

Wow! This was excellent! I had never even heard of this dish before, so I had no idea what to expect with regards to taste, but boy was this good! Very peppery - it made my nose run! :) The directions are clear and accurate and the finished product looked as good as it tasted. If you enjoy spicy foods, you will really enjoy this. NOTE: For health reasons, I chose to stir fry my chicken rather than deep fry it, and it still came out golden brown and slightly crispy, moist, and delicious. I will add this to my regular recipe list - what a great recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather November 04, 2002

This is such a nice recipe by itself. Quite easy too. :D Thank you Sue for sharing! <br/><br/>Like many others, I used a medley of (frozen) veggies and just cooked for slightly longer. I also took the advice and sliced/wedged my onion pieces. <br/><br/>I can imagine it would be tasty with using some fresh bell peppers too. I wish I went heavier on the vegetables though, because the dish is on the heavier side (that yummy sauce!). Saved for next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thesimplechef January 14, 2015

The only reason for not giving 5 stars is because I didn't follow the directions completely. I dislike it when people rate a recipe with 5 stars only after they've tweaked it so much it no longer resembles the original recipe.<br/><br/>I followed the directions for the sauce. The sauce was good. Nice pepper kick. I didn't think it was going to be enough sauce but it was. <br/><br/>I didn't coat or fry the chicken. I just used a plain chicken breast.<br/><br/>The only thing I would do for the sauce is add a little (2 - 4 Tablespoons) stock or water to mellow out the oyster sauce flavor and make it a little more saucy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpixley August 25, 2013

So good. I didn't fry the chicken, I sauteed it until cooked, removed the skin and diced it. I also omitted the onion and carrots with peas and replaced them with onion powder, mushrooms and sugar snap peas. I served it over brown rice and my husband loved it. I love the kick of the peppers and the sauce was perfect. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF March 05, 2012

I didn't use near as much cornstarch and lightly sauteed the chicken. Added lots of veggies near the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 04, 2012

We doubled the sauce and used onions, broccoli, and a red pepper. I used flour on the chicken which thickened the sauce so I added some water to thin slightly. The flavor was delicious - the broccoli soaked up the sauce. We will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie_in_KC November 22, 2011
Chinese Chicken with Black Pepper Sauce